PARTNER-ATLAS

URUGUAY

as a partner for strengthening a values and rules-based world order

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Uruguay have for Germany with regards to "strengthening a values and rules-based world order"?

In comparison to other Latin American countries and despite its modest size, Uruguay serves as a model with its impressive political and socio-economic status. In a region that is not always stable, the country can look back on a long democratic-republican tradition with functioning institutions and a diverse media landscape.

According to Transparency International, Uruguay is the least corrupt country in Latin America, ranking 21st in the global corruption index (out of 168). Uruguay has a relatively broad and wealthy middle class, low poverty rates, and a high level of social cohesion. Also noteworthy are its consensus-oriented political culture, comparatively well-developed health and education systems, and its stable party system. Its professional handling of the coronavirus crisis and the low mortality rate have once again attested to the high level of Uruguay’s health care system.

Montevideo is an important hub for Latin American goods on their way to Europe and is the region’s financial centre. Its economic importance along with Uruguay’s regional role as an intermediary (especially between Brazil and Argentina) are the reasons why Montevideo is the seat of the Southern Common Market (Mercosur) and Latin American Integration Association (ALADI) trade alliances.

The large formal labour sector, the country’s high purchasing power and overall favourable investment opportunities also offer many starting points for German companies.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Uruguay willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

Uruguay has a professional diplomatic service, and has produced well-known international diplomats, of whom Luis Almagro, Secretary General of the Organisation of American States (OAS), is only the most recent example.

Uruguay is reliant on functional regional and international integration and is very willing to actively work to strengthen a values and rules-based world order. This is evident, for example, in the fact that Uruguay is one of the 15 UN Member States that have been most active in UN peacekeeping missions in the past decade. It is also currently a member of the UN Human Rights Council and has assumed the Mercosur Presidency in the second half of 2020 – parallel with Germany´sPresidency of the Council of the EU.

Even though Uruguay is traditionally used to maintaining close foreign policy relations with various countries around the world, it is to be expected that there will be a slight change in direction in the coming years. After 15 years of a pluralistic left-wing coalition made up of centre-left and left-wing parties, a centre-right government under President Luis Lacalle Pou took over in March of 2020. There is an obvious and clear dissociation from left-wing authoritarian countries in the region, such as Venezuela, Cuba and Nicaragua, and this was expressed in their not being invited to Lacalle’s inauguration. Relations with Western democracies in Europe and America are also expected to increase in priority over relations with China and Russia, for example.

This is where Germany comes into particular focus. Germany is highly regarded in Uruguay for its international role and serves as a role model in many respects. One example is dual education (simultaneous in-class and on-the-job training), another is the sustainability agenda, for which Uruguay can boast many very progressive policy concepts. With regard to implementing the sustainability goals as part of the United Nations 2030 Agenda, Uruguay scores well in comparison with other South American countries (2nd place behind Chile, 43rd place worldwide).

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Uruguay's current cooperation in this area?

Germany and Uruguay have shared diplomatic relations for more than 160 years. There were particularly large waves of German immigration during the Gründerzeit (Promoterism period). Institutions such as the German School enjoy a high reputation in the country; the German-Uruguayan Chamber of Industry and Commerce was intensively involved in the development of a dual education system based on the German model. German expertise also plays an important role in the field of renewable energies, a fact that underlines Uruguay’s affinity for climate- and sustainability-friendly policies.

For its part, Germany supported the country’s transition process from dictatorship (1973 to 1985) to democracy in the form of parliamentary delegations. The Latin America-Caribbean Initiative of the Federal Foreign Office of 2019 and the EU-Mercosur Agreement, the ratification of which Uruguay strongly supports, are presently providing momentum for bilateral relations.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Uruguay in this area?

Due to the relevance, as described above, and experiences to date that have shaped the relations between Germany and Uruguay, Uruguay is an ideal ally for strengthening multilateralism. The country also represents an opportunity to promote the regional integration of Latin America and to move the continent closer to Europe.

The new government’s sympathy for the Lima Group, a multilateral alliance of 14 American states for the restoration of democracy in Venezuela, and its rapprochement with the Pacific Alliance also suggest that Uruguay will work harder than before for free trade, human rights and the strengthening of the multilateral system.

Furthermore, there is potential for cooperation in the area of international crime prevention. In recent years, Uruguay has been discovered by Latin American drug cartels as a transit country and export route to Europe. An exchange of experiences between customs authorities, along with a technology transfer and intelligence training could be considered in order to prevent Uruguay from increasingly becoming a hub for the globally networked drug trade.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

In particular, during its current presidency of the EU Council, Germany should use the Uruguayan presidency of Mercosur to drive ahead with ratification of the EU-Mercosur agreement. This is not only of geoeconomic interest for Europe; it is also a decisive driver in the economic integration of South America.

Germany should also provide Uruguay with more backing to strengthen Mercosur and bring the Alliance closer to the Pacific Alliance. It is important to give Uruguay more recognition as a political ally, rather than just seeing it as a pleasant holiday destination and as Argentina’s “little brother”. An increase in visits from high-ranking German representatives would underline Germany’s appreciation for Uruguay.

China has massively expanded its influence in Latin America in recent years, including in Uruguay. China is the largest buyer of Uruguayan products after Brazil and is investing in strategic infrastructure projects, for example, the port of Montevideo. At the same time, the role of China and the risk of one-sided dependency are subject to too little critical examination on the continent. Germany should address this and advocate a more self-confident and independent position of the EU in the region.

Specific infrastructure and cooperation projects in the areas of dual education, sustainability, digitisation and logistics could make a contribution here. Initiatives by the German-Uruguayan Chamber of Commerce should be supported, with the aim of attracting German investors to the country and making full use of the country’s economic potential. Taking advantage of this is particularly important given the recent weakening of the economy and rising unemployment. The continued economic vitality and political stability of Uruguay is of great importance to Germany, also and especially in the context of strengthening a values and rules-based world order.

It is also worthwhile giving more international recognition to Uruguay’s successful handling of the coronavirus crisis. The government has constantly appealed to the “responsible use of citizens’ civil liberties” while pursuing precautionary measures. The population’s considerable willingness to cooperate has made overly strict bans unnecessary. The maturity evident in Uruguayan society is exemplary in many ways.

Sebastian Grundberger heads the KAS Office in Uruguay; Thomas Schaumberg is Trainee at the KAS Office in Uruguay.

URUGUAY

  • Population: 3,473,730
  • Capital: Montevideo
  • Interest: Strengthening a Values and Rules-based World Order
  • Region: Latin America
  • Potential partner countries: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

04 — The region

Latin America

logo

PERU

Peru is an exception in Latin America in terms of its enormous wealth of resources and biodiversity. The country has three large landscape zones: the coast, most of which is covered by desert, the Andes and the jungle region. According to the World Resource Institute, Peru is one of only eight megadiverse countries in the world, possessing 84 of the 104 existing life zones. 76 percent of the country is occupied by rainforest, which means that the country has the largest share of the Amazon rainforest after Brazil.

  • Population: 32,971,854
  • Capital: Lima
LEARN MORE
logo

MEXICO

In connection with organised crime, drug trafficking, and the penetration of the state by criminal groups, Mexico – a regional leader and member of the G20 – is facing major challenges that affect both internal and regional security. In view of the cross-border effects of organised crime in Mexico, which extend far beyond the American continent, migration from Central America and other regions of the world through Mexico towards the USA, the significant economic potential as a production location with a well-qualified workforce and privileged access to the US market via the North American Free-Trade Area, Mexico is of great importance for the stability of the region.

  • Population: 128,932,753
  • Capital: Mexico City
LEARN MORE
logo

COLOMBIA

According to official data from the Colombian migration authorities, approximately 1.8 million of the more than 4 million Venezuelan migrants are currently in Colombia. According to estimates by the Colombian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the flow of migrants could increase to 3 million by the end of 2020, not including “transit migrants” or commuters.

  • Population: 50,882,891
  • Capital: Bogota
LEARN MORE
logo

URUGUAY

In comparison to other Latin American countries and despite its modest size, Uruguay serves as a model with its impressive political and socio-economic status. In a region that is not always stable, the country can look back on a long democratic-republican tradition with functioning institutions and a diverse media landscape.

  • Population: 3,473,730
  • Capital: Montevideo
LEARN MORE
logo

BRAZIL

Brazil is the largest economy in Latin America and, with a GDP of approximately 2 trillion US dollars is one of the most important emerging markets in the world. The country has a domestic market of 210 million inhabitants and is rich in natural resources.

  • Population: 212,559,417
  • Capital: Brasilia
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

Uruguay

Als Partner für die Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Uruguay für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung" zu verwirklichen?

Trotz der bescheidenen Größe hat Uruguay mit seiner beeindruckenden politischen und sozioökonomischen Verfasstheit im lateinamerikanischen Vergleich Modellcharakter. In einer nicht immer stabilen Region blickt das Land auf eine lange demokratisch-republikanische Tradition mit funktionierenden Institutionen und einer vielfältigen Medienlandschaft zurück.

Laut Transparency International ist Uruguay das am wenigsten korrupte Land Lateinamerikas und belegt im Korruptionsindex weltweit Rang 21 (von 168). Uruguay verfügt über eine relativ breite und wohlhabende Mittelschicht, niedrige Armutsraten und ein hohes Maß an gesellschaftlichem Zusammenhalt. Bemerkenswert sind auch eine konsensorientierte politische Kultur, ein vergleichsweise hoch entwickeltes Bildungswesen sowie ein stabiles Parteiensystem. Der professionelle Umgang mit der Corona-Krise und die geringe Sterblichkeit haben einmal mehr auch das hohe Niveau des uruguayischen Gesundheitswesens bewiesen.

Montevideo ist wichtiger Umschlagplatz für lateinamerikanische Güter auf ihrem Weg nach Europa und Finanzzentrum der Region. Die wirtschaftliche Bedeutung sowie Uruguays regionale Rolle als Vermittler (vor allem zwischen Brasilien und Argentinien) sind Gründe dafür, dass Montevideo Sitz der Handelsbündnisse Mercosur und ALADI ist.

Der große formelle Arbeitssektor, die hohe Kaufkraft des Landes sowie insgesamt günstige Investitionsmöglichkeiten bieten viele Anknüpfungspunkte auch für deutsche Unternehmen.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Uruguays, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Uruguay verfügt über einen professionellen diplomatischen Dienst und hat namhafte internationale Diplomaten hervorgebracht, von denen Luis Almagro, der Generalsekretär der Organisation Amerikanischer Staaten (OAS), nur das jüngste Beispiel ist.

Uruguay ist auf eine funktionale regionale sowie internationale Einbettung angewiesen und in hohem Maße bereit, sich aktiv für die Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung einzusetzen. Dies zeigt sich etwa darin, dass Uruguay zu den 15 UN-Mitgliedsstaaten gehört, die sich in der letzten Dekade am stärksten in UN-Friedensmissionen engagiert haben. Außerdem gehört es aktuell dem UN-Menschenrechtsrat an hat im zweiten Halbjahr 2020 den Mercosur-Vorsitz übernommen – zur gleichen Zeit, in der Deutschland den EU-Ratsvorsitz eingenommen hat.

Auch wenn Uruguay traditionell gewohnt ist, in außenpolitischen Belangen mit verschiedenen Staaten der Welt enge Beziehungen zu pflegen, ist doch zu erwarten, dass es in den kommenden Jahren ein leichtes Umsteuern geben wird. Nach 15 Jahren Regierung einer heterogenen Linkskoalition übernahm am 1. März eine bürgerliche Regierung unter Präsident Luis Lacalle Pou die Regierungsgeschäfte. Offensichtlich ist eine klare Abgrenzung gegenüber linksautoritären Staaten der Region, etwa Venezuela, Kuba und Nicaragua, welche in deren Nichteinladung zur Amtseinführung Lacalles zum Ausdruck kam. Es ist auch zu erwarten, dass die Beziehungen zu den westlichen Demokratien in Europa und Amerika hinsichtlich ihrer Priorität gegenüber den Beziehungen etwa zu China und Russland zunehmen werden.

Hier rückt Deutschland in besonderem Maße in den Fokus. Deutschland ist in Uruguay hinsichtlich seiner internationalen Rolle hoch angesehen und hat in vielerlei Hinsicht Vorbildcharakter. Ein Beispiel ist etwa die duale Ausbildung, ein anderes die Nachhaltigkeitsagenda, bei der Uruguay viele sehr fortschrittliche Politikkonzepte vorweisen kann. Bei der Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele im Rahmen der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen schneidet Uruguay im südamerikanischen Vergleich gut ab (Platz 2 hinter Chile, weltweit Platz 43).

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Uruguay aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Deutschland und Uruguay verbinden mehr als 160 Jahre diplomatische Beziehungen. Vor allem während der Gründerzeit kam es zu größeren deutschen Einwanderungswellen. Einrichtungen wie die Deutsche Schule genießen im Land hohes Ansehen; die Deutsch-Uruguayische Industrie- und Handelskammer wurde intensiv bei dem Aufbau eines dualen Ausbildungssystems nach deutschem Vorbild eingebunden. Auch im Bereich erneuerbare Energien spielt Know-how aus Deutschland eine wichtige Rolle: ein Umstand, der Uruguays Affinität zu klima- und nachhaltigkeitsfreundlicher Politik unterstreicht.

Deutschland seinerseits unterstützte mit parlamentarischen Delegationen den Transitionsprozess des Landes von der Diktatur (1973 bis 1985) zur Demokratie. Aktuelle Impulse für die bilateralen Beziehungen stellen die Lateinamerika-Karibik-Initiative des Auswärtigen Amts aus dem vergangenen Jahr sowie das EU-Mercosur-Abkommen dar, dessen Ratifizierung Uruguay nachdrücklich unterstützt.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Uruguay in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Aufgrund der beschriebenen Relevanz und der bisherigen Erfahrungen, die die Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und Uruguay geprägt haben, ist Uruguay ein idealer Verbündeter für die Stärkung des Multilateralismus. Das Land bietet sich auch dafür an, die regionale Integration Lateinamerikas zu fördern und den Kontinent näher an Europa zu rücken.

Die Sympathie der neuen Regierung für die Lima-Gruppe, ein multilaterales Bündnis 14 amerikanischer Staaten zur Wiederherstellung der Demokratie in Venezuela, sowie die Annäherung an die Pazifik-Allianz lassen darüber hinaus vermuten, dass sich Uruguay intensiver als bislang für Freihandel, Menschenrechte und die Stärkung des multilateralen Systems einsetzen wird.

Kooperationspotenzial besteht weiterhin im Bereich der internationalen Verbrechensbekämpfung. Uruguay wurde in den letzten Jahren von lateinamerikanischen Drogenkartellen als Transitland und Ausfuhrweg nach Europa entdeckt. Um zu verhindern, dass Uruguay sich mehr und mehr zur Drehscheibe des global vernetzten Drogenhandels entwickelt, könnten ein Erfahrungsaustausch der Zollbehörden, ein Technologietransfer sowie nachrichtendienstliche Ausbildung in Erwägung gezogen werden.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Insbesondere während seiner jetzigen Ratspräsidentschaft sollte Deutschland die uruguayische Präsidentschaft des Mercosur nutzen, um die Ratifizierung des EU-Mercosur-Abkommens entschlossen voranzutreiben. Dies ist nicht nur von geoökonomischem Interesse für Europa, sondern treibt auch die wirtschaftliche Integration Südamerikas entscheidend voran.

Deutschland sollte Uruguay ferner mehr Rückendeckung bei der Stärkung von Mercosur und der Annäherung des Bündnisses an die Pazifik-Allianz zukommen lassen. Es ist wichtig, Uruguay noch mehr als politischen Verbündeten und nicht nur als sympathisches Urlaubsland und „kleinen Bruder“ Argentiniens wahrzunehmen. Zunehmende Besuche hochrangiger deutscher Vertreter würden die Wertschätzung Deutschlands für Uruguay unterstreichen.

China hat seinen Einfluss in Lateinamerika in den letzten Jahren massiv ausgebaut – auch in Uruguay. China ist nach Brasilien der größte Abnehmer uruguayischer Produkte und investiert in strategische Infrastrukturprojekte, etwa am Hafen von Montevideo. Gleichzeitig wird die Rolle Chinas und die Gefahr von einseitigen Abhängigkeitsverhältnissen auf dem Kontinent wenig problematisiert. Deutschland sollte hier ansetzen und für eine selbstbewusstere, eigenständige Position der EU in der Region eintreten.

Einen Beitrag dazu könnten konkrete Infrastruktur- und Kooperationsprojekte im Bereich duale Ausbildung, Nachhaltigkeit, Digitalisierung und Logistik leisten. Initiativen der Deutsch-Uruguayischen Handelskammer sollten mit dem Ziel unterstützt werden, deutsche Investoren ins Land zu locken und das wirtschaftliche Potenzial des Landes voll auszuschöpfen. Diese zu nutzen, ist vor allem angesichts der zuletzt schwächelnden Wirtschaft und steigenden Arbeitslosigkeit von Bedeutung. Ein weiterhin wirtschaftlich vitales sowie politisch stabiles Uruguay ist von großem Interesse für Deutschland, auch und vor allem im Kontext der Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung.

Es lohnt sich auch, den erfolgreichen Umgang Uruguays mit der Corona-Krise stärker international wahrzunehmen. Die Regierung appellierte konstant an den „verantwortlichen Nutzen der Freiheitsrechte“ der Bürger beim Befolgen der Vorsichtsmaßnahmen. Die hohe Bereitschaft der Bevölkerung hierzu machte zu strenge Verbote unnötig. Diese gesellschaftliche Reife Uruguays ist in vielerlei Hinsicht beispielhaft.

Sebastian Grundberger leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Uruguay.
Thomas Schaumberg ist Trainee im KAS-Auslandsbüro Uruguay.

URUGUAY

  • Population: 3.473.730
  • Capital: Montevideo
  • Interesse: Die Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung
  • Region: Lateinamerika
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Argentinien, Brasilien, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Kolumbien, Mexiko, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

04 — Die Region

Lateinamerika

logo

PERU

Peru ist in Lateinamerika hinsichtlich seines enormen Ressourcenreichtums und seiner Biodiversität eine Ausnahmeerscheinung. Das Land verfügt über drei große Landschafts­zonen: die Küste, deren weite Teile von Wüste bedeckt sind, die Anden sowie die Urwald­region. Laut World Ressource Institute ist Peru eines von insgesamt acht megadiversen Ländern weltweit und verfügt über 84 der 104 existierenden Lebenszonen. 76 Prozent der Landesfläche wird von Regenwald belegt, womit das Land nach Bra­silien über den größten Anteil am Amazonas- Regenwald verfügt.

  • Population: 32.971.854
  • Capital: Lima
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

MEXIKO

Im Zusammenhang mit Organisierter Krimi­nalität, Drogenhandel und Durchdringung des Staates durch kriminelle Gruppen steht Mexiko – regionale Führungsmacht und G20-Mitglied – vor besonderen Herausfor­derungen, die sowohl die innere als auch die regionale Sicherheit betreffen. Angesichts der grenzüberschreitenden Auswirkungen der Organisierten Kriminalität in Mexiko, den Migrationsbewegungen aus Zen­tralamerika und anderen Weltregionen durch Mexiko in Richtung USA und dem signifikanten wirtschaftlichen Potenzial ist das Land für die Stabilität der Region von großer Bedeutung.

  • Population: 128.932.753
  • Capital: Mexiko-Stadt
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KOLUMBIEN

Zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt befinden sich nach offiziellen Angaben der kolumbianischen Migrationsbehörde circa 1,8 Millionen der ins­gesamt mehr als 4 Millionen venezolanischen Migranten in Kolumbien. Nach Schätzungen des kolumbianischen Außenministeriums könnte der Migrantenstrom bis Ende 2020 auf 3 Mil­lionen anwachsen, wobei weder die sogenann­ten Durchgangsmigranten noch die Pendler berücksichtigt sind.

  • Population: 50.882.891
  • Capital: Bogota
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

URUGUAY

Trotz der bescheidenen Größe hat Uruguay mit seiner beeindruckenden politischen und sozio­ökonomischen Verfasstheit im lateinamerikani­schen Vergleich Modellcharakter. In einer nicht immer stabilen Region blickt das Land auf eine lange demokratisch-republikanische Tradition mit funktionierenden Institutionen und einer vielfältigen Medienlandschaft zurück.

  • Population: 3.473.730
  • Capital: Montevideo
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

BRASILIEN

Brasilien ist die größte Volkswirtschaft Latein­amerikas und zählt mit einem BIP von circa zwei Billionen US-Dollar zu den wichtigsten Schwel­lenländern der Welt. Das Land verfügt über einen Binnenmarkt von 210 Millionen Einwoh­nern und ist reich an natürlichen Ressourcen. Dank eines leichten Wirtschaftswachstums in den letzten drei Jahren blickt Brasilien mit seiner stark gewachsenen Mittelschicht wieder optimistischer in die Zukunft, allerdings könnte die Corona-Krise dies wieder zunichtemachen.

  • Population: 212.559.417
  • Capital: Brasilia
MEHR ERFAHREN