PARTNER-ATLAS

SERBIA

As a partner for regulating global migration flows

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Serbia have for Germany with regard to "regulating global migration flows"?

Serbia is of central importance for Germany in terms of regulating global migration flows. Since the beginning of the refugee crisis in 2014, a large proportion of refugees from the Middle East, Central and South Asia have been traversing the “Balkan route”. Its main route leads from Turkey and Greece via Bulgaria, North Macedonia and Serbia to Hungary and Croatia which form the border of the EU. Continuing on from there is difficult because the Hungarian government in particular undertakes very rigid border controls to prevent entry without valid travel documents.

In the first two years of the migration movement, Serbia received international praise for its humanitarian aid to refugees. Serbia provided shelter, medical care, food and assistance. However, this was considered to be just a temporary solution, because the majority of migrants view Germany, Austria and the Scandinavian countries, as their final destination, rather than Serbia.

In October 2015, after a consultation between ten EU Member States and Serbia, North Macedonia and Albania, a decision was taken to undertake a controlled reduction in the number of refugees on the route. The reason for this was that the countries of Southeast Europe were overburdened by the large numbers of people who were passing through their countries every month. After Northern Macedonia closed its border with Greece, Serbia radically strengthened border controls with Bulgaria, an EU Member State, enabling the number of illegal border crossings to be greatly reduced. Strengthening Greece’s potential for accommodating and registering the refugees also played a major role in this.

Despite the drop in numbers compared to the peak year of 2015, Serbia remains one of the most important transit countries on the Balkan route due to its location and ease of passage. In 2019, 17,642 illegal border crossings and 173 asylum applications were registered on the Serbian side (2018: 3,699 illegal border crossings and 260 asylum applications).[i] The alternative routes via Albania (2019: 10,670 illegal border crossings and 6,182 asylum applications) and Bosnia-Herzegovina (2019: 6,039 illegal border crossings and 782 asylum applications) are much more difficult to manage than the conventional route from Vranje or Pirot to the border camp at Šid, mainly due to geographical obstacles and poor infrastructure. There is also an established aid structure in Serbia, which the two above-mentioned countries lack.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Serbia willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

Serbia is interested in working with the EU countries to further improve the capacity to control and distribute refugees. The population has a great deal of understanding, especially for people who are escaping civil war in Syria and Iraq. This is also due to their collective memory of the expulsion and flight of 120,000 Serbs from Croatia during the civil war in Yugoslavia. Due to Serbia’s socioeconomic situation, it is not in the country’s interests for migrants to remain permanently in the country. Since the German Federal Government has had a working relationship based on trust with Belgrade (especially during 2014 and 2015), Serbia is open to engaging in further cooperation on this issue.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Serbia's current cooperation in this area?

There is very close cooperation between Germany and Serbia on the refugee question, and the interior ministries of both countries regularly exchange information. German Federal Border Guard units support the Serbian border forces in controlling entry and exit. Germany has also provided extensive humanitarian aid. The visa waiver granted to travellers from Iran was revoked by Serbia.

 

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Serbia in this area?

There is potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Serbia particularly in the area of border security, for example, by improving the technical equipment and work practices of the Serbian police and customs. This would improve the manageability of migratory movements and enhance the quality of the fight against organised transnational crime. This is due to Serbia’s geographical location, since not only does the migration route pass through Belgrade, but the main heroin trafficking routes from Central Asia also pass through Serbia.

Serbia is hoping for further support in the distribution of locally housed migrants, because the country’s ailing welfare systems will not be able to provide care for these people in the longterm. The situation is exacerbated by the intention of those refugees who are accommodated in temporary shelters to leave Serbia as soon as possible, because the country cannot offer them stable prospects.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

It is necessary for German foreign policy to dedicate itself more to the issue of migration flows in Serbia. Although the topic of the Balkan route is no longer as present in the media as it was in 2015, the number of migrants attempting to travel through Serbia rose again in 2019. Belgrade is looking particularly towards the EU on this issue, because the EU is perceived as the actual pull factor that is driving this migration movement forward. Serbia’s European integration can be promoted by a strengthened partnership on these matters, and, given the increased involvement of external players on the ground, it can lead to increased confidence in the EU.

This seems all the more necessary because, during the coronavirus crisis, the EU’s behaviour has been described as lacking in solidarity, and there has been a strong media focus on China. Although the facts and figures of EU aid tell a very different story, the damage to the EU’s (and Germany’s) image is still having an impact. Since then, the EU has increased its public presence and is also demanding that Serbia recognise the solidarity aid. Individual leading politicians in Serbia are responding to this, but still more is expected.

Technical, personnel and financial support are also in Serbia and Germany’s joint interests. The migration of skilled workers is viewed with particular sensitivity by Serbia, and government statements point to Germany’s policy of enticement. Here, there should be an intensive dialogue to qualify matters which includes the respective chambers of commerce and brings about a relaxation of tensions and the development of a positive outcome for both sides.

Norbert Beckmann-Dierkes heads the KAS Office in Serbia / Montenegro.

[i] German Bundestag, printed matter 19/17003.

SERBIA

  • Population: 8,737,371
  • Capital: Belgrade
  • Interest: Regulating Global Migration Flows
  • Region: Europe and North America
  • Potential partner countries: Serbia

04 — The region

Europe and North America

logo

SWITZERLAND

In many ways, Switzerland is a central partner for Germany in terms of values and interests, particularly in the area of trade and innovation. The economies of both countries are closely intertwined: Germany has been Switzerland’s most important trading partner with more than 22 percent of foreign trade. Conversely, Switzerland is also a key economic partner for Germany: in 2018, it was number 9 among Germany’s foreign trade partners (and thus the fourth largest non-EU country after the USA, China, and the United Kingdom).

  • Population: 8,654,622
  • Capital: Bern
LEARN MORE
logo

SERBIA

Serbia is of central importance for Germany in terms of regulating global migration flows. Since the beginning of the refugee crisis in 2014, a large proportion of refugees from the Middle East, Central and South Asia have been traversing the “Balkan route”. Its main route leads from Turkey and Greece via Bulgaria, North Macedonia and Serbia to Hungary and Croatia which form the border of the EU. Continuing on from there is difficult because the Hungarian government in particular undertakes very rigid border controls to prevent entry without valid travel documents.

  • Population: 8,737,371
  • Capital: Belgrade
LEARN MORE
logo

UKRAINE

Since the beginning of the conflict in Eastern Ukraine and the unlawful annexation of Crimea, parts of the country have not been under the control of Kyiv. It is in Ukraine that it will be decided what significance internationally recognised borders will have in 21st century Europe, whether territories can be unilaterally altered, and whether the right of the (militarily) stronger will again take precedence over the sovereignty, self-determination, territorial integrity and inviolability of borders.

 

  • Population: 43,733,762
  • Capital: Kyiv
LEARN MORE
logo

BELARUS

Belarus is often perceived negatively in the West due to its deficits in terms of democracy and civil liberties. This fails to take into account that the country can be seen as an anchor of stability in terms of security policy, with its position in the centre of Central Eastern Europe, and that it has been committed to international conflict resolution for some time.

  • Population: 9.449.254
  • Capital: Minsk
LEARN MORE
logo

RUSSIA

Economic growth and employment in Germany largely depend on key, energy-intensive industries, such as chemical or metal production. Despite the increasing importance of renewable energies, petroleum and natural gas – the first and second most important energy sources in Germany – play an important role for these industries.

  • Population: 145,934,462
  • Capital: Moscow
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

SERBIEN

Als Partner für die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Serbien für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme" zu verwirklichen?

In Bezug auf die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme hat Serbien für Deutschland eine zentrale Bedeutung. Seit dem Beginn der Flüchtlingskrise von 2014 bewegt sich ein großer Teil der Flüchtlinge aus Nahost, Zentral- und Südasien über die sogenannte Balkanroute. Deren Hauptstrang führt von der Türkei und Griechenland aus über Bulgarien, Nordmazedonien und Serbien an die EU-Außengrenze mit Ungarn und Kroatien. Dort erschwert sich der weitere Weg, da vor allem die Regierung in Budapest sehr rigide Grenzkontrollen vornimmt, um eine Einreise ohne gültige Reisedokumente zu verhindern.

In den ersten beiden Jahren der Migrationsbewegung erhielt Serbien international ausdrücklich Lob für die humanitäre Hilfsleistung für die Flüchtenden. Es wurden durch Serbien Unterkünfte, medizinische Versorgung, Nahrung und Betreuung der Menschen sichergestellt. Dennoch wurde diese Lösung lediglich als vorübergehend angesehen, da der Großteil der Migranten nicht Serbien, sondern Deutschland, Österreich und die skandinavischen Länder als eigentliches Ziel ihrer Reise betrachten.

Im Oktober 2015 wurde nach Absprache von zehn EU-Mitgliedsländern mit Serbien, Nordmazedonien und Albanien beschlossen, die Zahl der Flüchtlinge auf der Route kontrolliert zu senken. Der Grund hierfür lag in der Überforderung der südosteuropäischen Länder mit der großen Zahl an Menschen, die jeden Monat durch ihre Länder zogen. Nachdem Nordmazedonien seine Grenze zu Griechenland schloss, verstärkte Serbien die Grenzkontrollen zum EU-Mitgliedsstaat Bulgarien drastisch. So konnte die Anzahl der illegalen Grenzübertritte stark verringert werden. Einen wesentlichen Anteil daran hatte auch die Stärkung des Unterbringungs- und Registrierungspotenzials Griechenlands.

Trotz des Rückgangs im Vergleich zum Scheiteljahr 2015 bleibt Serbien wegen seiner Lage und einfachen Passierbarkeit eines der wichtigsten Transitländer auf der Balkanroute. 2019 wurden von serbischer Seite 17.642 illegale Grenzübertritte und 173 Asylanträge registriert (2018: 3.699 illegale Grenzübertritte, 260 Asylanträge). Die Ausweichrouten über Albanien (2019: 10.670 illegale Grenzübertritte, 6.182 Asylanträge) und Bosnien-Herzegowina (2019: 6.039 illegale Grenzübertritte, 782 Asylanträge) sind hauptsächlich durch geografische Hindernisse und eine schlechte Infrastruktur wesentlich mühsamer zu bewältigen, als dies auf der klassischen Route von Vranje oder Pirot bis in das Grenzlager nach Šid der Fall ist. Auch ist in Serbien eine etablierte Hilfsstruktur vorhanden, die in den beiden genannten Ländern fehlt.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Serbiens, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Serbien ist daran interessiert, mit den Staaten der EU an einer weiteren Verbesserung der Kontrollierbarkeit und Verteilung der Flüchtlinge zu arbeiten. Die Bevölkerung hegt großes Verständnis besonders für Menschen, die aus der Bürgerkriegssituation in Syrien und dem Irak kommen. Dies liegt auch an der kollektiven Erinnerung der Vertreibung und Flucht von 120.000 Serben aus Kroatien während des Bürgerkriegs in Jugoslawien. Aufgrund der sozioökonomischen Situation Serbiens ist es nicht im Interesse des Landes, dass Migranten dauerhaft im Land verbleiben. Da die Bundesregierung vertrauensvoll mit Belgrad zusammengearbeitet hat (vor allem während der Jahre 2014 und 2015), ist man in Serbien für eine weitere Kooperation in dieser Frage offen.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Serbien aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Serbien ist in der Flüchtlingsfrage sehr eng, die Innenministerien beider Länder stehen in einem regelmäßigen Informationsaustausch. Einheiten des Bundesgrenzschutzes unterstützen die serbischen Grenzkräfte bei der Ein- und Ausreisekontrolle. Ebenso wurde umfangreiche humanitäre Hilfe aus Deutschland geleistet. Die erteilte Visafreiheit für Einreisende aus dem Iran wurde von serbischer Seite wieder aufgehoben.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Serbien in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Potenzial für eine Intensivierung der Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Serbien besteht insbesondere im Bereich der Grenzsicherung wie etwa die Verbesserung der Arbeitsweise und technischen Ausstattung der serbischen Polizei und des Zolls. Dadurch könnte eine bessere Steuerbarkeit der Migrationsbewegungen erreicht werden und eine Qualitätssteigerung bei der Bekämpfung des organisierten, transnationalen Verbrechens. Der Grund hierfür ist die geografische Lage Serbiens, da nicht nur die Migrationsroute über Belgrad verläuft, sondern auch die Haupttransferwege des Heroinhandels aus Zentralasien über Serbien führen.

Serbien erhofft sich eine weitere Unterstützung bei der Verteilung der vor Ort untergebrachten Migranten, da die maroden Sozialsysteme des Landes nicht in der Lage sein werden, dauerhaft für eine Versorgung dieser Menschen zu sorgen. Der Wille der in den Behelfsunterkünften untergebrachten Flüchtlinge, Serbien so schnell wie möglich zu verlassen, da das Land für sie keine stabile Perspektive bieten kann, verschärft die Situation.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Im Rahmen der deutschen Außenpolitik ist es notwendig, sich der Frage der Migrationsströme in Serbien mit stärkerem Engagement zu widmen. Obgleich das Thema Balkanroute medial nicht mehr so präsent ist wie im Jahr 2015, stieg die Zahl der Migranten, die versuchten, durch Serbien zu reisen, im Jahr 2019 wieder an. Belgrad blickt in dieser Problematik insbesondere in Richtung EU, da diese als der eigentliche pull factor dieser Migrationsbewegung wahrgenommen wird. Die europäische Integration Serbiens kann durch eine intensivierte Partnerschaft in diesen Belangen gefördert werden – und auch angesichts des verstärkten Engagements externer Akteure vor Ort zu einem neuen Vertrauensgewinn gegenüber der EU führen.

Dies erscheint umso gebotener, da im Zuge der Corona-Krise das Verhalten der EU als unsolidarisch bezeichnet wurde und eine starke mediale Zuwendung Richtung China erfolgte. Zahlen und Fakten der EU-Hilfe sprechen zwar eine deutlich andere Sprache, doch wirkt der Imageschaden für die EU (und auch für Deutschland) nach. Die EU verstärkt inzwischen ihre öffentliche Präsenz, die Anerkennung der solidarischen Hilfe wird seitens der EU auch von Serbien verlangt. Einzelne führende Politiker und Politikerinnen des Landes kommen dem zwar nach, doch kann hier noch eine stärkere Erwartungshaltung geäußert werden.

Weiterhin sind technische, personelle und finanzielle Unterstützung im serbischen und deutschen Interesse. Besonders sensibel wird die Fachkräftemigration von serbischer Seite betrachtet, Regierungsverlautbarungen weisen auf die Abwerbepolitik Deutschlands hin. Hier kann ein intensiver Qualifizierungsdialog unter Einschluss der jeweiligen Wirtschaftskammern zur Entspannung und zur Entwicklung einer staatlichen Win-win-Situation führen.

Norbert Beckmann-Dierkes leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Serbien / Montenegro.

SERBIEN

  • Population: 6.982.000
  • Capital: Belgrad
  • Interesse: Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme
  • Region: Europa und Nordamerika
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Serbien

04 — Die Region

Europa und Nordamerika

logo

SCHWEIZ

Die Schweiz ist in vielerlei Hinsicht ein zentraler Werte- und Interessenspartner Deutschlands, dies gilt besonders für den Bereich Handel und Innovation. Die Wirtschaften beider Länder sind eng miteinander verquickt: Für die Schweiz war Deutschland mit mehr als 22 Prozent des Außenhandels der wichtigste Handelspartner. Doch auch umgekehrt ist die Schweiz ein zentraler Wirtschaftspartner für Deutschland.

  • Population: 8.654.622
  • Capital: Bern
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

SERBIEN

In Bezug auf die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme hat Serbien für Deutschland eine zentrale Bedeutung. Seit dem Beginn der Flüchtlingskrise von 2014 bewegt sich ein großer Teil der Flüchtlinge aus Nahost, Zentral- und Südasien über die sogenannte Balkanroute. Deren Hauptstrang führt von der Türkei und Griechenland aus über Bulgarien, Nordmazedonien und Serbien an die EU-Außengrenze mit Ungarn und Kroatien.

  • Population: 6.982.000
  • Capital: Belgrad
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

UKRAINE

Seit Beginn des Ostukraine-Konflikts und der völkerrechtswidrigen Annexion der Krim stehen Teile des Landes nicht unter der Kontrolle Kiews. In der Ukraine entscheidet sich, welchen Stellenwert international anerkannte Grenzen im Europa des 21. Jahrhunderts haben, ob Territorien einseitig verändert werden können und das Recht des (militärisch) Stärkeren wieder Vorrang vor Souveränität, Selbstbestimmung, territorialer Integrität und Unverletzlichkeit der Grenzen haben.

  • Population: 43.733.762
  • Capital: Kiew
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

BELARUS

Belarus wird im Westen aufgrund von Defiziten bei Demokratie und Freiheitsrechten oft einseitig negativ wahrgenommen. Dies verkennt, dass das Land im Zentrum Ostmitteleuropas sicherheitspolitisch als ein Stabilitätsanker gesehen werden kann und sich seit einiger Zeit international für Konfliktlösung engagiert.

  • Population: 9.449.254
  • Capital: Minsk
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

RUSSLAND

Wirtschaftswachstum und Beschäftigung in Deutschland hängen maßgeblich von energie­intensiven Schlüsselindustrien wie der Chemie oder Metallerzeugung ab. Trotz der steigenden Bedeutung erneuerbarer Energien spielen für diese Industrien Mineralöl und Erdgas, welche wichtigster und zweitwichtigster Energieträger in Deutschland sind, eine bedeutende Rolle. Mangels eigener Ressourcen wird sowohl Mineralöl als auch Erdgas beinahe vollständig nach Deutschland importiert. Dabei machen russische Gaslieferungen etwa 50 Prozent der deutschen Gasimporte aus, ein Drittel der deut­schen Mineralölimporte stammen ebenfalls aus der Russischen Föderation. Das Land ist damit zum Hauptlieferanten von Erdgas und Rohöl für Deutschland avanciert.

 

  • Population: 145.934.462
  • Capital: Moskau
MEHR ERFAHREN