PARTNER-ATLAS

SAUDI ARABIA

As a partner for safeguarding our prosperity via free trade and innovation

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Saudi Arabia have for Germany with regards to “safeguarding our prosperity via free trade and innovation”?

The relevance of Saudi Arabia for Germany’s economic interests results from the country’s fundamental importance for stability and development in the Near and Middle East, the efforts to modernise its economy, and its oil wealth.

The Kingdom, which has been ruled by the Al-Saud family since it was founded in 1932, is the most populous of the Sunni Gulf states with around 30 million inhabitants (including 20 million Saudi citizens). As the home of the two holy cities of Islam, Mecca and Medina, Saudi Arabia also has an ideological claim to leadership in the Arab-Muslim world. In the phase of upheaval, which the region has been experiencing with particular intensity since the Arab Spring of 2011, Saudi Arabia has also been able to distinguish itself as an anchor of stability.

The regime’s concentration of power, which goes hand in hand with the narrowing of political space, is just as controversial as the increasingly robust Saudi foreign policy of recent years, as is evident, for example, in the Yemen intervention. Nevertheless, today and in the foreseeable future, Saudi Arabia is one of the few Arab policy-shaping powers that could make any contribution to stabilising the region (and thus to securing trade routes, raw material supply and sales markets).

The Vision 2030 development plan, with which the young Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman has been pressing ahead since 2016, aims for social liberalisation as well as to open up and diversify the Saudi economy. One of the hoped-for effects is to reduce the country’s dependence on oil. With large-scale infrastructure projects, such as the futuristic city project, Neom, on the Red Sea, the Crown Prince wants to modernise Saudi Arabia and attract private international investors.

This creates opportunities for the German economy, despite the continuing constitutional and political uncertainty. The transformation of a rentier state based on raw material income into an investment and innovation-based economic system, which Saudi Arabia is striving for, is also necessary for other countries in the region. A partnership with Saudi Arabia and German economic projects in this area could have a corresponding impact in the Near and Middle East as a whole. However, it remains questionable how sustainable Saudi modernisation can really be without political reforms.

Saudi Arabia is one of the three largest oil producers in the world. No other country exports as much oil as the Gulf State, which (together with Venezuela) also has the largest currently known reserves. Although most of it is delivered to Asia, with Germany hardly purchasing any Saudi oil, the Kingdom plays a key role in the global economy (and in the OPEC oil production cartel) – at least until the post-fossil era comes about.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Saudi Arabia willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

Riyadh’s traditional alliance with Washington was impressively affirmed by Donald Trump, when he honoured Saudi Arabia with his first trip abroad as US President in 2017. Nonetheless, over the past decade the Saudis have been increasingly diversifying their international relations; the disappointment over an allegedly too revolutionary and Iran-friendly Obama was too great – as was the concern regarding Trump’s unpredictability. The Saudi leadership is evermore looking east to countries such as China, India and South Korea and – in terms of security policy – also to Russia.

Nevertheless, there is a fundamental willingness to work more closely with Europe and especially Germany, whose economy and culture are highly regarded in Saudi Arabia. Admittedly, the image of Germany in Saudi Arabia, where they feel they are being unjustly and overly criticised by German politics and the German public, has deteriorated somewhat in recent years. However, the Saudi leadership knows that it also needs Western partners to implement its ambitious plans for economic transformation and the opening-up of society. This pressure to reform is exacerbated by the drop in oil prices and the economic damage caused by the coronavirus crisis.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Saudi Arabia's current cooperation in this area?

Germany is the fourth most important supplier country for Saudi Arabia (after China, USA and the UAE). However, German exports have a fairly low volume (around 6 billion euros for 2019), showing a downward trend since 2016.

Large German companies such as Siemens, Bayer or Allianz have been active in the Kingdom for decades, but many medium-sized companies continue to shy away from risking investments. After the diplomatic crisis caused by German criticism of Saudi foreign policy, which began in November 2017 and lasted almost a year, a stable dialogue has now been reestablished at the political level.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Saudi Arabia in this area?

The German economy has by no means exhausted the potential resulting from the transformation of the Saudi economy, the young population, which is also large in Saudi Arabia as far as the Arabian Peninsula is concerned, and the opening-up of society in conjunction with its own financial resources. German expertise is emphatically in demand for the transport and healthcare sector, for example. In addition, other fields can be developed with a view to the post-oil age that Saudi Arabia is preparing for, for example renewable energies. With the opening-up of society, the country will also become more of a consumer society with new business opportunities, for example in the entertainment industry.

The safety of the sea routes around the Arabian Peninsula (including the Strait of Hormuz) is essential for the German export industry, just as it is for Saudi Arabia, which relies on it for its oil exports. There is room here for joint initiatives which would ideally form part of a European-Arabian Gulf collaboration and which could also contribute to de-escalation in the region and be a building block for a regional security structure.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

The German Federal Government should use sureties and other support programmes to support small and medium-sized companies in particular in making a greater contribution to Saudi Arabia’s economic transformation. In the field of science, private and public sponsors can develop initiatives, such as a joint tech or MINT campus. Social exchange programmes, including in the educational, cultural or sports sectors, can help to create the necessary knowledge and basis of trust for German-Saudi economic cooperation.

For this, there must be a consistent and honest dialogue, as in the political discourse as a whole. On many issues, such as governance and civil rights, Germany and Saudi Arabia have different ideas that can – and must – be critically discussed within the appropriate framework. However, this does not exclude cooperation and specific projects in socio-economic and technological fields.

At the political level, Germany must strive to work with Saudi Arabia in order to stabilise the region. On the one hand, the Kingdom should be persuaded to adopt a regional policy that de-escalates conflicts, such as the Yemen conflict, and on the other hand, Germany should take Saudi Arabia’s security concerns seriously and propose or support joint initiatives, for example in the area of maritime security.

Edmund Ratka was Policy Advisor for the Middle East and North Africa in the European and International Cooperation Department. Since November 2020 he is Resident Representative to Jordan.

SAUDI ARABIA

  • Population: 34,813,871
  • Capital: Riyadh
  • Interest: Safeguarding our Prosperity via Free Trade and Innovation
  • Region: The Middle East and North Africa
  • Potential partner countries: Egypt, Israel, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates

04 — The region

The Middle East and North Africa

logo

SAUDI ARABIA

The relevance of Saudi Arabia for Germany’s economic interests results from the country’s fundamental importance for stability and development in the Near and Middle East, the efforts to modernise its economy, and its oil wealth.

  • Population: 34,813,871
  • Capital: Riyadh
LEARN MORE
logo

IRAQ

Iraq has the world’s fifth largest oil and twelfth largest natural gas reserves. The country is a founding member of the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and, in recent years, has become its second largest producer. The Iraqi government considers to further expand the oil and gas sector in the coming years, thereby increasing production capacities even more, although experts as well as members of the government call for diversifying the Iraqi economic and energy sector.

  • Population: 40,263,275
  • Capital: Bagdad
LEARN MORE
logo

ALGERIA

In terms of area, Algeria is the largest country in Africa and a key security player in the Sahel. Algeria works intensively with the countries of the region on security issues. This is undertaken within the framework of the respective bilateral relations as well as via regional mechanisms, such as the Nouakchott Process of the African Union (AU), which supports the security policy cooperation of eleven states in West Africa, the Maghreb, and the Sahel.

  • Population: 43,886,707
  • Capital: Alger
LEARN MORE
logo

TUNISIA

Secularisation and modernisation have shaped Tunisia’s policies since independence in 1956, especially under the leadership of then President Habib Bourguiba, and continue to have an impact today. Recent representative surveys show that Tunisians feel that they belong first and foremost to their country, then to Islam, and only to a much lesser extent to the Arab world. A clear majority, especially in comparison to the neighbouring countries of Libya, Morocco, and Algeria, favour the separation of state and religion.

  • Population: 11,824128
  • Capital: Tunis
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

SAUDI-ARABIEN

Als Partner für die Wahrung unseres Wohlstands durch freien Handel und Innovation

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Saudi-Arabien für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Wahrung unsres Wohlstands durch freien Handel und Innovation" zu verwirklichen?

Die Relevanz Saudi-Arabiens für Deutschlands Wirtschaftsinteressen ergibt sich aus der grundsätzlichen Bedeutung des Landes für Stabilität und Entwicklung im Nahen und Mittleren Osten, den Bestrebungen zur Modernisierung seiner Wirtschaft und seinem Ölreichtum.

Das seit seiner Gründung 1932 von der Familie der Al-Saud beherrschte Königreich ist mit seinen rund 30 Millionen Einwohnern (davon 20 Millionen saudische Staatsbürger) der bevölkerungsreichste der sunnitischen Golfstaaten. Als Heimat der beiden Heiligen Städte des Islam Mekka und Media hat Saudi-Arabien auch einen ideellen Führungsanspruch in der arabisch-muslimischen Welt. In der Umbruchphase, welche die Region seit dem Arabischen Frühling 2011 in besonderer Heftigkeit durchlebt, konnte sich Saudi-Arabien zudem als Stabilitätsanker profilieren.

Die auch mit der Verengung politischer Spielräume einhergehende Machtkonzentration des Regimes ist dabei genauso umstritten wie die zunehmend robustere saudische Außenpolitik der letzten Jahre, wie sie sich etwa in der Jemen-Intervention zeigt. Dennoch ist heute und absehbar für die kommenden Jahre Saudi-Arabien eine der wenigen arabischen Gestaltungsmächte, die überhaupt einen Beitrag zur Stabilisierung der Region (und damit für die Sicherung von Handelswegen, Rohstoffversorgung und Absatzmärkten) leisten könnten.

Mit dem Entwicklungsplan Vision 2030, den der junge Kronprinz Mohammed bin Salman seit 2016 vorantreibt, soll – neben einer gesellschaftlichen Liberalisierung – die saudische Wirtschaft stärker geöffnet und diversifiziert werden. Ein damit erhoffter Effekt: die Abhängigkeit des Landes vom Öl zu reduzieren. Auch mit groß angelegten Infrastrukturvorhaben – wie dem futuristischen Stadtprojekt Neom am Roten Meer – will der Kronprinz Saudi-Arabien erneuern und private internationale Investoren anziehen.

Dadurch ergeben sich – trotz fortbestehender rechtsstaatlicher und politischer Unsicherheit – Chancen für die deutsche Wirtschaft. Der von Saudi-Arabien angestrebte Umbau einer auf Rohstoffeinnahmen gestützten Rentenökonomie hin zu einem investitions- und innovationsbasierten Wirtschaftssystem ist auch in anderen Ländern der Region notwendig. Eine Partnerschaft mit Saudi-Arabien und deutsche Wirtschaftsprojekte in diesem Bereich könnten eine entsprechende Ausstrahlung im Nahen und Mittleren Osten insgesamt entfalten. Fraglich bleibt indes, wie nachhaltig die saudische Modernisierung auch ohne politische Reformschritte wirklich sein kann.

Saudi-Arabien gehört zu den drei größten Erdölproduzenten weltweit. Kein anderes Land exportiert so viel Öl wie der Golfstaat, der (gemeinsam mit Venezuela) zudem über die größten derzeit bekannten Vorkommen verfügt. Wenngleich das meiste davon nach Asien geliefert wird und Deutschland kaum saudisches Öl bezieht, nimmt das Königreich damit für die Weltwirtschaft (und das Ölförder-Kartell OPEC) eine Schlüsselrolle ein – jedenfalls solange das postfossile Zeitalter noch nicht erreicht ist.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Saudi-Arabiens, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Riads traditionelles Bündnis mit Washington hat Donald Trump eindrücklich bekräftigt, als er Saudi-Arabien 2017 mit seiner ersten Auslandsreise als US-Präsident bedacht hat. Gleichwohl setzen die Saudis seit dem vergangenen Jahrzehnt zunehmend auf eine Diversifizierung ihrer internationalen Beziehungen; zu groß war die Enttäuschung über einen vermeintlich zu revolutions- und iranfreundlichen Obama – und zu groß ist heute die Sorge über Trumps Unberechenbarkeit. Die saudische Führung richtet hierbei den Blick vor allem nach Osten auf Länder wie China, Indien und Südkorea – und sicherheitspolitisch auch nach Russland.

Dennoch besteht grundsätzlich die Bereitschaft zu einer engeren Zusammenarbeit mit Europa und gerade auch Deutschland, dessen Wirtschaft und Kultur in Saudi-Arabien hohes Ansehen genießen. Zwar hat sich das Deutschland-Bild in Saudi-Arabien, wo man sich zu Unrecht übermäßig von der deutschen Politik und Öffentlichkeit kritisiert fühlt, in den letzten Jahren etwas eingetrübt. Doch die saudische Führung weiß, dass sie auch westliche Partner braucht, um ihre ambitionierten Pläne der wirtschaftlichen Transformation und der gesellschaftlichen Öffnung umzusetzen. Durch den Verfall der Ölpreise und die wirtschaftlichen Folgeschäden der Corona-Krise verschärft sich dieser Reformdruck.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Saudi-Arabien aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Deutschland ist (nach China, USA und den VAE) das viertwichtigste Lieferland für Saudi-Arabien. Die deutschen Exporte haben indes – mit seit 2016 rückläufiger Tendenz – ein eher geringes Volumen (ca. 6 Milliarden Euro für 2019). Zwar sind deutsche Großunternehmen wie Siemens, Bayer oder Allianz seit Jahrzehnten im Königreich aktiv, doch viele Mittelständler scheuen nach wie vor das Risiko von Investments. Nach der fast ein Jahr andauernden diplomatischen Krise, die im November 2017 angesichts deutscher Kritik an der saudischen Außenpolitik begonnen hatte, besteht auf politischer Ebene nun wieder ein stabiler Dialog.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Saudi-Arabien in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Die Transformation der saudischen Wirtschaft, die junge und für die arabische Halbinsel große Bevölkerung, die Öffnung der Gesellschaft im Verbund mit eigenem Kapital: Das sich daraus ergebende Potenzial hat die deutsche Wirtschaft noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft. Im Verkehrs- und Gesundheitssektor etwa ist deutsches Know-how ausdrücklich nachgefragt. Daneben können weitere Felder mit Blick auf das Post-Öl-Zeitalter, für das sich Saudi-Arabien vorbereitet, besser erschlossen werden, beispielsweise im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien. Mit der gesellschaftlichen Öffnung wird das Land außerdem noch mehr zu einer Konsumgesellschaft mit neuen Geschäftsmöglichkeiten, zum Beispiel in der Unterhaltungsindustrie.

Die Sicherheit der Seewege rund um die Arabische Halbinsel (einschließlich der Straße von Hormuz) ist für die deutsche Exportwirtschaft essenziell – genauso wie für Saudi-Arabien, das für seinen Ölexport darauf angewiesen ist. Hier besteht Raum für gemeinsame Initiativen, die – bestenfalls in eine europäisch-golfarabische Zusammenarbeit eingebettet – auch zu einer Deeskalation in der Region beitragen und ein Baustein für eine regionale Sicherheitsarchitektur sein können.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Die Bundesregierung sollte über Bürgschaften und andere Förderprogramme insbesondere den Mittelstand darin unterstützen, sich bei der ökonomischen Transformation Saudi-Arabiens stärker einzubringen. Im Bereich der Wissenschaft können private und öffentliche Träger Initiativen wie einen gemeinsamen Tech- oder MINT-Campus entwickeln. Gesellschaftliche Austauschprogramme, auch im Bildungs-, Kultur- oder Sportbereich, können dazu beitragen, die nötige Kenntnis und Vertrauensbasis für deutsch-saudische Wirtschaftszusammenarbeit zu schaffen.

Dabei – und im politischen Diskurs insgesamt – muss es um einen konsistenten und ehrlichen Dialog gehen. In vielen Fragen, etwa Regierungsführung und Bürgerrechte, haben Deutschland und Saudi-Arabien unterschiedliche Vorstellungen, die im passenden Rahmen kritisch diskutiert werden können – und müssen. Dies schließt aber Zusammenarbeit und spezifische Projekte in sozioökonomischen und technologischen Feldern nicht aus.

Auf der politischen Ebene muss Deutschland sich darum bemühen, gemeinsam mit Saudi-Arabien an einer Stabilisierung der Region zu arbeiten. Dafür sollte das Königreich zum einen von einer Regionalpolitik überzeugt werden, die Konflikte wie im Jemen deeskaliert. Zum anderen sollte Deutschland die Sicherheitsbedenken Saudi-Arabiens ernst nehmen und gemeinsame Initiativen vorschlagen oder unterstützen, zum Beispiel im Bereich der maritimen Sicherheit.

Edmund Ratka ist Referent „Naher Osten und Nordafrika“ in der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit.

SAUDI-ARABIEN

  • Population: 34.813.871
  • Capital: Riyad
  • Interesse: Die Wahrung unseres Wohlstands durch freien Handel und Innovation
  • Region: Naher Osten und Nordafrika
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Ägypten, Israel, Saudi-Arabien, Tunesien, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate

04 — Die Region

Naher Osten und Nordafrika

logo

SAUDI-ARABIEN

Die Relevanz Saudi-Arabiens für Deutschlands Wirtschaftsinteressen ergibt sich aus der grundsätzlichen Bedeutung des Landes für Stabilität und Entwicklung im Nahen und Mittleren Osten, den Bestrebungen zur Modernisierung seiner Wirtschaft und seinem Ölreichtum.

  • Population: 34.813.871
  • Capital: Riyad
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

IRAK

Der Irak besitzt weltweit die fünftgrößten Erdöl-und die zwölftgrößten Erdgasreserven. Das Land ist Gründungsmitglied der Organisation erdölexportierender Länder (OPEC) und dort in den letzten Jahren zum zweitgrößten Produzenten aufgestiegen. Für die kommenden Jahre plant die irakische Regierung, den Öl- und Gassektor weiter auszubauen und die Förderkapazitäten damit noch stärker zu erhöhen. Damit spielt der Irak eine wichtige Rolle für die Stabilität der globalen Energiemärkte, die auch für Deutschland als erfolgreiche Technologie- und Exportnation von hoher Bedeutung ist.

  • Population: 40.263.275
  • Capital: Bagdad
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

ALGERIEN

Algerien ist flächenmäßig das größte Land Afrikas und ein sicherheitspolitischer Schlüsselakteur in der Sahelzone. Mit den Staaten der Region arbeitet Algerien in Sicherheitsfragen intensiv zusammen. Dies erfolgt im Rahmen der jeweils bilateralen Beziehungen sowie über regionale Mechanismen wie den Nouakchott- Prozess der Afrikanischen Union (AU), der die sicherheitspolitische Kooperation von elf Staaten in Westafrika, dem Maghreb und der Sahelzone unterstützt.

  • Population: 43.886.707
  • Capital: Alger
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

TUNESIEN

Säkularisierung und Modernisierung haben Tunesiens Politik nach der Unabhängigkeit im Jahr 1956 geprägt und entfalten ihre Wirkung bis heute. Repräsentative Umfragen zeigen, dass Tunesier sich in erster Linie ihrem Land, dann dem Islam und nur mit deutlich geringerer Zustimmung der arabischen Welt zugehörig fühlen. Eine deutliche Mehrheit – gerade auch im Vergleich zu den Nachbarländern Libyen, Marokko und Algerien – befürwortet eine Trennung von Staat und Religion.

  • Population: 11.824.128
  • Capital: Tunis
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

MAROKKO

Marokko hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einem wichtigen Partner Deutschlands in Migrationsfragen entwickelt. Das Königreich hat zum einen eine besondere Rolle innerhalb der Afrikanischen Union (AU) und der internationalen Gemeinschaft übernommen, zum anderen ist es selbst eines der Länder, in der Migration in unterschiedlicher Art und Weise stattfindet.

  • Population: 36.930.188
  • Capital: Rabat
MEHR ERFAHREN