PARTNER-ATLAS

PERU

as a partner for securing essential natural resources and protecting the climate

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Peru have for Germany with regards to "securing essential natural resources and protecting the climate"?

Peru is an exception in Latin America in terms of its enormous wealth of resources and biodiversity. The third largest country in South America is characterised by three large landscape zones: the coast, most of which is covered by desert, the Andes and the jungle region. According to the World Resource Institute, Peru is one of only eight megadiverse countries in the world, possessing 84 of the 104 existing life zones. About 60 percent of the country is covered by rainforest, which means that the country has the largest share of the Amazon rainforest after Brazil.

According to the Ministry of Energy and Mining, Peru accounted for 11.8 percent of the world’s copper production, 11.6 percent of global zinc production and 15.5 percent of global silver production in 2018. Peru boasts the fifth largest reserves of gold and zinc, the second largest of copper, and the largest reserves of silver in the world.1 On top of that, the country has deposits of quite rare raw materials such as lithium, silicon, germanium or indium, whose (export) potential has not nearly been fully exploited yet. This makes Peru one of the few polymetallic countries worldwide.

Peru keeps developing renewable energies as a climate-friendly use of resources. Currently, the country only has seven photovoltaic power stations. In 2019, almost 5 percent of total electricity output was generated by alternative energy sources (solar, biomass and wind). However, the country’s potential (especially in the field of photovoltaics, due to abundant sunshine in the north and south) is enormous.

The investment climate in the country has promising. This is ensured by unrestricted access to most sectors of the economy, free movement of capital, free competition, and open access to credit. Overall, the legal situation is comparatively stable. It is to be seen whether this favorable investment environment continues after the election of the socialist president Pedro Castillo.

Illegal gold mining and the resulting environmental damage (especially in the Madre de Dios Amazon region) represent a major social and environmental challenge. So far, the Peruvian state has not developed a coherent strategy to deal with this.

1: https://cdn.www.gob.pe/uploads/document/file/1921117/Anuario%20Minero%202020.pdf, P.52

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Peru willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

Peru is generally interested in working closely with Germany and Europe regarding the topics of natural resources and protecting the climate. The country has an extremely professional foreign service that pursues a clearly defined course in foreign policy, despite all the internal political turmoil. The country has been committed to multilateralism, international free trade and human rights. Peru is ready to assume responsibility in matters of climate protection. The country hosted the 20th World Climate Conference in Lima in 2014, for example, and has ratified the Paris Climate Agreement in 2016.2

The use of renewable energies to protect the climate is gaining increasing importance in Peru as well. Peru hosted the international energy conference, Sun World, in 2019, anxious to present itself as an attractive place for private investment. Numerous German companies and institutions were represented, which reflects Peru’s interest in German expertise and in a greater exchange of views. The German Chamber of Commerce in Peru has responded to this interest by offering several programs that facilitate the transfer of German expertise in the energy sector to Peruvian businesses.3

2: https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=XXVII-7-d&chapter=27&clang=_en
3: https://peru.ahk.de/dienstleistungen/exportinitiative-erneuerbare-energien/

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Peru's current cooperation in this area?

There is continuous cooperation between Peru and Germany on environmental matters. Germany supports the sustainable funding of nature reserves and helps several regional governments to build up expertise for managing natural resources and alternative development models for local communities. In 2014, even before the World Climate Conference in Lima, Germany and Norway set up a partnership designed to support Peru in protecting its tropical rain forests. This year, the partnership was confirmed and signed, for the first time, by the UK and the US.4

In addition, a bilateral agreement on raw materials has been in place since 2015, which includes binding provisions on actions to improve energy and resource efficiency and to make the Peruvian raw materials sector more environmentally friendly and socially acceptable. Globally, similar agreements exist only with Kazakhstan and Mongolia. In addition, a memorandum of understanding between the Federal Agency for Raw Materials and the Peruvian State Geological, Metallic and Metallurgical Institute (INGEM- MET) has existed since 2018, which aims at developing a joint strategy for exploiting mainly rare raw materials.

4: https://www.nicfi.no/current/peru-strengthens-powerful-partnership-in-its-fight-to-preserve-the-amazon-rainforest/

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Peru in this area?

There is still enormous potential for bilateral cooperation in the field of resources and climate protection. Despite all the political turmoil, Peru has so far been a macroeconomically stable country with good conditions for foreign investment. To date, only around 20 percent of the land available for mining in Peru has been developed, of which only around 6 percent is currently being exploited. A study published by the United States Geological Survey in 2020 shows that more than 80 million additional tons of copper could be discovered.5 Canada’s Fraser Institute, which regularly compiles attractiveness ratings for the various mining regions, ranked Peru 42nd out of a total of 77 regions and countries studied in 2020).6

The country is faced with the challenge of making its mining activities ecologically and socially sustainable. This requires strong international partners like Germany, which should try to engage in a practice-oriented and targeted investment partnership, in order not to be left behind by strategic competitors like China in the race for raw materials. It is worth mentioning that Peru has made efforts to build stronger international networks in foreign trade. It is a founding member of the Pacific Alliance, which also includes Mexico, Colombia and Chile, and which plans to include Latin America in the economic structures of the Pacific region. The new President Pedro Castillo, however, is still leaving the question open of whether he wants to keep strengthening multilateral economic relations or lobby for Peru’s withdrawal of the international trade agreements.

The Covid crisis has left its mark especially in the mining industry: the production and export of raw materials have declined significantly. Government investments dropped by 60 percent in April 2020. Experts, however, assume that production will come back strongly, predicting growth of up to 3,1 million tons by 2024.7

Compared with other countries in the region, Peru was able to build on a stable base, thanks to many years of strict fiscal policy, and was able to adopt a remarkable economic aid package. A four-stage plan for the reactivation of the Peruvian economy set out a roadmap for the re-start of mining and projects of national interest (such as in the gas and oil sector), scheduled for May 2020.8 These sectors are crucial for the economic reactivation of the country.9

The Peruvian Sol to US dollar exchange rate has recently seen the Peruvian currency lose value in historic proportions following the Presidential elections. The Peruvian stock exchange has also suffered losses and is only recovering slowly. It remains to be seen what the long-term impact of the Covid pandemic on the Peruvian economy will be.

5: https://www.rumbominero.com/noticias/mineria/peru-pais-minero-potencial-que-debe-seguirse-aprovechando/
6: https://www.fraserinstitute.org/sites/default/files/annual-survey-of-mining-companies-2020.pdf
7: https://www.nsenergybusiness.com/news/top-five-copper-mining-countries/
8: https://rpp.pe/economia/economia/estado-de-emergencia-que-negocios-podran-reinciar-sus-actividades-este-mes-noticia-1262939
9: https://www.ipe.org.pe/portal/la-mineria-y-su-implicancia-en-la-reactivacion-economica/

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

German foreign policy has rightly recognised Peru as an important partner in the raw materials sector. The cooperation can, however, still be enhanced, especially when it comes to sharing experience based on common values. Compared to other potential partners who possess a similar wealth of raw materials, there is, generally speaking, high willingness in Peru to implement aspects of sustainability in its mining policy, whatever the challenges. This refers specifically to labour and environmental standards, to which Peru is more open than large parts of Africa or Asia.

Important keywords in this context are security, competitiveness and resource efficiency. If Germany, as a longstanding partner of Peru, does not decisively fill this gap, it will leave the field to countries like China, which pursue different geostrategic interests.

Especially in a politically tense domestic situation following the Presidential elections of 2021, German foreign policy can help people realise how important it is to develop solutions that are based on a long-term view. Germany can create incentives for investing in sustainable projects, thereby keeping Peru as an important international partner, even under President Pedro Castillo.

Peru’s efforts to develop the country sustainably, involving all sections of the population, through socially and environmentally responsible mining is in the interest of German foreign policy.

Nicole Stopfer heads the KAS Regional Programme Energy Security and Climate Change in Latin America; Dr. Robert Helbig heads the KAS Office in Peru; Sebastian Grundberger heads the KAS Office in Uruguay.

Last update: August 23rd, 2021

PERU

  • Population: 32,971,854
  • Capital: Lima
  • Interest: Securing Essential Natural Resources and Protecting the Climate
  • Region: Latin America
  • Potential partner countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Colombia, Mexico, Peru

04 — The region

Latin America

logo

PERU

Peru is an exception in Latin America in terms of its enormous wealth of resources and biodiversity. The country has three large landscape zones: the coast, most of which is covered by desert, the Andes and the jungle region. According to the World Resource Institute, Peru is one of only eight megadiverse countries in the world, possessing 84 of the 104 existing life zones. 76 percent of the country is occupied by rainforest, which means that the country has the largest share of the Amazon rainforest after Brazil.

  • Population: 32,971,854
  • Capital: Lima
LEARN MORE
logo

MEXICO

In connection with organised crime, drug trafficking, and the penetration of the state by criminal groups, Mexico – a regional leader and member of the G20 – is facing major challenges that affect both internal and regional security. In view of the cross-border effects of organised crime in Mexico, which extend far beyond the American continent, migration from Central America and other regions of the world through Mexico towards the USA, the significant economic potential as a production location with a well-qualified workforce and privileged access to the US market via the North American Free-Trade Area, Mexico is of great importance for the stability of the region.

  • Population: 128,932,753
  • Capital: Mexico City
LEARN MORE
logo

COLOMBIA

According to official data from the Colombian migration authorities, approximately 1.8 million of the more than 4 million Venezuelan migrants are currently in Colombia. According to estimates by the Colombian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the flow of migrants could increase to 3 million by the end of 2020, not including “transit migrants” or commuters.

  • Population: 50,882,891
  • Capital: Bogota
LEARN MORE
logo

URUGUAY

In comparison to other Latin American countries and despite its modest size, Uruguay serves as a model with its impressive political and socio-economic status. In a region that is not always stable, the country can look back on a long democratic-republican tradition with functioning institutions and a diverse media landscape.

  • Population: 3,473,730
  • Capital: Montevideo
LEARN MORE
logo

BRAZIL

Brazil is the largest economy in Latin America and, with a GDP of approximately 2 trillion US dollars is one of the most important emerging markets in the world. The country has a domestic market of 210 million inhabitants and is rich in natural resources.

  • Population: 212,559,417
  • Capital: Brasilia
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

PERU

Als Partner für die Sicherung wichtiger Ressourcen und der Schutz des Klimas

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Peru für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Sicherung wichtiger Ressourcen und der Schutz des Klimas" zu verwirklichen?

Peru ist in Lateinamerika hinsichtlich seines enormen Ressourcenreichtums und seiner Biodiversität eine Ausnahmeerscheinung. Das flächenmäßig drittgrößte Land in Südamerika verfügt über drei große Landschaftszonen: die Küste, deren weite Teile von Wüste bedeckt sind, die Anden sowie die Urwaldregion. Laut World Ressource Institute ist Peru eines von insgesamt acht megadiversen Ländern weltweit und verfügt über 84 der 104 existierenden Lebenszonen. Etwa 60 Prozent der Landesfläche wird von Regenwald belegt, womit das Land nach Brasilien über den größten Anteil am Amazonas-Regenwald verfügt.

Nach Angaben des Energie- und Bergbauministeriums zeichnete Peru im Jahr 2020 für 10,7 Prozent der weltweiten Produktion von Kupfer-, 10,8 Prozent von Zink und 11,4 Prozent von Silber verantwortlich. Damit hält Peru weltweit die fünftgrößten Reserven an Gold und an Zink, die zweitgrößten an Kupfer und die sowie die größten an Silber.1 Zudem kommen im Land eher seltene Rohstoffe wie Lithium, Silizium, Germanium oder Indium vor, deren (Export-)Potenzial noch nicht annähernd ausgeschöpft ist. Deshalb ist Peru eines der wenigen polymetallischen Länder überhaupt.

Erneuerbare Energien als klimafreundliche Ressourcennutzung werden in Peru stetig ausgebaut. Derzeit verfügt das Land lediglich über sieben Fotovoltaik-Anlagen. Insgesamt wurde im Jahr 2019 knapp 5 Prozent der gesamten Stromerzeugung durch alternative Energiequellen (Solar, Biomasse und Wind) gewonnen. Das Potenzial des Landes (vor allem im Bereich Fotovoltaik durch starke Sonneneinstrahlungen im Norden und Süden) ist jedoch enorm.

Im Land herrscht ein erfolgsversprechendes Investitionsklima. Dafür sorgen etwa beschränkungsfreier Zugang zu fast allen Wirtschaftszweigen, freier Kapitalverkehr, freier Wettbewerb im Land und freier Zugang zu Krediten. Die rechtliche Lage ist insgesamt vergleichsweise stabil. Es wird sich zeigen, ob dieses günstige Investitionsklima nach der Wahl des sozialistischen Präsidenten Pedro Castillo andauert.

Eine große soziale und umwelttechnische Herausforderung bildet die illegale Goldförderung und die damit verbundenen Umweltschäden (besonders in der Amazonasregion Madre de Dios). Dem peruanischen Staat fehlt es diesbezüglich bislang an einer kohärenten Strategie.

1: https://cdn.www.gob.pe/uploads/document/file/1921117/Anuario%20Minero%202020.pdf, S.52

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Perus, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Grundsätzlich ist Peru an einer engen Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschland und Europa bei diesen Themen interessiert. Das Land verfügt über einen äußerst professionellen Auswärtigen Dienst, der sich trotz aller innenpolitischen Wirren an einem klaren außenpolitischen Kompass orientiert. Das Land bekennt sich zu Multilateralismus, internationalem Freihandel sowie Menschenrechten. Im Bereich des Klimaschutzes ist Peru bereit, Verantwortung zu übernehmen. So richtete das Land die 20. Weltklimakonferenz im Jahr 2014 in Lima aus und hat das Pariser Klimaabkommen im Jahr 2016 ratifiziert.2

Die Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien zum Schutz des Klimas rückt auch in Peru zunehmend in den Vordergrund. Peru war 2019 Gastgeber der internationalen Energiekonferenz Sun World mit dem Ziel, sich attraktiv für private Investitionen zu präsentieren. Zahlreiche deutsche Unternehmen und Institutionen waren vertreten, was das Interesse Perus an deutscher Expertise und einem stärkeren Austausch zeigt. Die deutsche Außenhandelskammer in Peru reagiert auf die Nachfrage mit mehreren Angeboten, die die Weitergabe deutschen Know-Hows im Energiesektor an peruanische Unternehmen fördern.3

2: https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=XXVII-7-d&chapter=27&clang=_en
3: https://peru.ahk.de/dienstleistungen/exportinitiative-erneuerbare-energien/

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Peru aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Im Umweltbereich zeigt sich eine kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Peru und Deutschland. So fördert Deutschland die nachhaltige Finanzierung von Schutzgebieten und unterstützt mehrere Regionalregierungen dabei, Fachwissen für das Management natürlicher Ressourcen und alternative Entwicklungsmodelle für die lokale Bevölkerung aufzubauen. Im Jahr 2014, noch vor der Weltklimakonferenz in Lima, riefen Deutschland und Norwegen eine Partnerschaft mit dem Ziel ins Leben, Peru beim Schutz seiner tropischen Regenwälder zu unterstützen. Dieses Jahr wurde die Partnerschaft bestätigt und erstmals auch von Großbritannien und den USA unterzeichnet.4

Darüber hinaus besteht seit 2015 ein bilaterales Rohstoffabkommen, in welchem Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz sowie zur umwelt- und sozialverträglichen Ausgestaltung des peruanischen Rohstoffsektors verbindlich verankert wurden. Vergleichbare Abmachungen existieren sonst weltweit lediglich mit Kasachstan und der Mongolei. Zudem existiert seit 2018 ein Memorandum of Understanding zwischen der Bundesagentur für Rohstoffe sowie dem staatlichen peruanischen Geologischen, Metallischen und Metallurgischen Institut (INGEMMET), welches auf eine gemeinsame strategische Erschließung hauptsächlich seltener Rohstoffe zielt.

4: https://www.nicfi.no/current/peru-strengthens-powerful-partnership-in-its-fight-to-preserve-the-amazon-rainforest/

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Peru in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Für die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Ressourcen und des Klimaschutzes besteht weiterhin ein enormes Potenzial. Trotz aller politischen Turbulenzen war Peru bisher ein makroökonomisch stabiles Land mit guten Bedingungen für ausländische Investitionen. Bislang wurden in Peru nur rund 20 Prozent der für den Bergbau nutzbaren Landesfläche erschlossen, wovon aktuell nur ca. 6 Prozent ausgeschöpft werden. Eine Studie des United States Geological Survey im Jahr 2020 zeigt, dass in Peru noch mehr als 80 Millionen Tonnen Kupfer entdeckt werden könnten.5
Das kanadische Fraser Institute, welches regelmäßig Attraktivitäts-Rankings der verschiedenen Bergbaugebiete erstellt, führte Peru im Jahr 2020 immerhin auf Platz 42 von insgesamt 77 untersuchten Gebieten und Staaten.6

Das Land steht vor der Herausforderung, seine Bergbauaktivitäten ökologisch und sozial nachhaltig zu gestalten. Dazu braucht es starke internationale Partner wie Deutschland, welches eine praxis- und zielorientierte Investitionspartnerschaft anstreben sollte, um den Anschluss zu strategischen Mitbewerbern wie China um Rohstoffe nicht zu verpassen. Zu erwähnen ist in diesem Zusammenhang auch das bisherige Bestreben Perus, sich im Außenhandelsbereich stärker international zu vernetzen. So ist es Gründungsmitglied der Pazifik-Allianz, die es mit Mexiko, Kolumbien und Chile bildet und die danach strebt, Lateinamerika in die Wirtschaftsstrukturen der pazifischen Region mit einzubeziehen. Der neue Präsident Pedro Castillo lässt jedoch noch offen, ob er die multilateralen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen weiterhin stärken, oder für einen Rückzug Perus auf internationaler Ebene werben wird.

Die Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise haben sich vor allem im Bergbau bemerkbar gemacht: Produktion und Export der Rohstoffe sind deutlich zurückgegangen und staatliche Investitionen verringerten sich im April 2020 um 60 Prozent. Experten gehen jedoch von einem starken Anstieg der Produktion aus und sagen eine Steigerung von bis zu 3,1 Millionen Tonnen bis 2024 vorher.7

Im Vergleich zu anderen Ländern der Region konnte Peru aufgrund langjähriger, strenger Fiskalpolitik auf einer stabilen Ausgangsposition aufbauen und ein beachtliches wirtschaftliches Hilfspaket verabschieden. Ein Vier-Stufen-Plan zur Reaktivierung der peruanischen Wirtschaft sah schließlich auch die Wiederaufnahme im Bereich Bergbau sowie von Projekten von nationalem Interesse (etwa Gas- und Ölsektor) ab Mai 2020 vor.8 Diese Bereiche sind entscheidend für die wirtschaftliche Reaktivierung des Landes.9

Der Wechselkurs des peruanischen Sol gegenüber dem US-Dollar ist zuletzt aufgrund der Präsidentschaftswahlen zugunsten des Dollar in historischem Ausmaß gestiegen. Auch die peruanische Börse hat Einbußen erlitten und erholt sich nur langsam. Wie sehr die peruanische Wirtschaft langfristig von der Corona-Pandemie betroffen sein wird, bleibt abzuwarten.

5: https://www.rumbominero.com/noticias/mineria/peru-pais-minero-potencial-que-debe-seguirse-aprovechando/
6: https://www.fraserinstitute.org/sites/default/files/annual-survey-of-mining-companies-2020.pdf
7: https://www.nsenergybusiness.com/news/top-five-copper-mining-countries/
8: https://rpp.pe/economia/economia/estado-de-emergencia-que-negocios-podran-reinciar-sus-actividades-este-mes-noticia-1262939
9: https://www.ipe.org.pe/portal/la-mineria-y-su-implicancia-en-la-reactivacion-economica/

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Die deutsche Außenpolitik hat Peru zu Recht als wichtigen Partner im Rohstoffbereich erkannt. Die Zusammenarbeit kann aber gerade im wertebasierten Austausch von Erfahrungen noch ausgebaut werden. Im Vergleich zu anderen möglichen Partnern mit ähnlichem Rohstoffreichtum herrscht in Peru bei allen Herausforderungen grundsätzlich eine große Bereitschaft, bei der Förderung auch die Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit mitzudenken. Insbesondere bezieht sich dies auf arbeits- und umwelttechnische Standards, für die man in Peru offenere Ohren finden wird als in weiten Teilen Afrikas oder Asiens. Wichtige Stichworte in diesem Zusammenhang sind Sicherheit, Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Ressourceneffizienz. Wenn Deutschland als langjähriger Partner Perus in diese Lücke nicht entschlossen stößt, überlässt es Ländern wie China das Feld, welche nicht komplett andere geostrategische Interessen verfolgen.

Besonders in einer politisch angespannten innenpolitscher Lage nach der Präsidentschaftswahl 2021, kann deutsche Außenpolitik ein Bewusstsein für langfristig gedachte Lösungen fördern. So kann Deutschland Anreize schaffen in nachhaltige Projekte zu investieren und sich Peru auch unter Pedro Castillo als wichtigen internationalen Partner erhalten.

Das Bestreben, das Land nachhaltig und unter Einbeziehung aller Bevölkerungsschichten durch einen sozial und umwelttechnisch verantwortlichen Bergbau zu entwickeln, ist im Interesse der deutschen Außenpolitik.

Nicole Stopfer leitet das Regionalprogramm Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel Lateinamerika;
Dr. Robert Helbig leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Peru;
Sebastian Grundberger leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Uruguay.

Aktualisiert am: 26.07.2021

PERU

  • Population: 32.626.948 (2020)
  • Capital: Lima
  • Interesse: Die Sicherung wichtiger Ressourcne und der Schutz des Klimas
  • Region: Lateinamerika
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Argentinien, Bolivien, Brasilien, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Kolumbien, Mexiko, Peru

04 — Die Region

Lateinamerika

logo

PERU

Peru ist in Lateinamerika hinsichtlich seines enormen Ressourcenreichtums und seiner Biodiversität eine Ausnahmeerscheinung. Das Land verfügt über drei große Landschafts­zonen: die Küste, deren weite Teile von Wüste bedeckt sind, die Anden sowie die Urwald­region. Laut World Ressource Institute ist Peru eines von insgesamt acht megadiversen Ländern weltweit und verfügt über 84 der 104 existierenden Lebenszonen. 76 Prozent der Landesfläche wird von Regenwald belegt, womit das Land nach Bra­silien über den größten Anteil am Amazonas- Regenwald verfügt.

  • Population: 32.626.948 (2020)
  • Capital: Lima
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

MEXIKO

Im Zusammenhang mit Organisierter Krimi­nalität, Drogenhandel und Durchdringung des Staates durch kriminelle Gruppen steht Mexiko – regionale Führungsmacht und G20-Mitglied – vor besonderen Herausfor­derungen, die sowohl die innere als auch die regionale Sicherheit betreffen. Angesichts der grenzüberschreitenden Auswirkungen der Organisierten Kriminalität in Mexiko, den Migrationsbewegungen aus Zen­tralamerika und anderen Weltregionen durch Mexiko in Richtung USA und dem signifikanten wirtschaftlichen Potenzial ist das Land für die Stabilität der Region von großer Bedeutung.

  • Population: 128.932.753
  • Capital: Mexiko-Stadt
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KOLUMBIEN

Zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt befinden sich nach offiziellen Angaben der kolumbianischen Migrationsbehörde circa 1,8 Millionen der ins­gesamt mehr als 4 Millionen venezolanischen Migranten in Kolumbien. Nach Schätzungen des kolumbianischen Außenministeriums könnte der Migrantenstrom bis Ende 2020 auf 3 Mil­lionen anwachsen, wobei weder die sogenann­ten Durchgangsmigranten noch die Pendler berücksichtigt sind.

  • Population: 50.882.891
  • Capital: Bogota
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

URUGUAY

Trotz der bescheidenen Größe hat Uruguay mit seiner beeindruckenden politischen und sozio­ökonomischen Verfasstheit im lateinamerikani­schen Vergleich Modellcharakter. In einer nicht immer stabilen Region blickt das Land auf eine lange demokratisch-republikanische Tradition mit funktionierenden Institutionen und einer vielfältigen Medienlandschaft zurück.

  • Population: 3.473.730
  • Capital: Montevideo
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

BRASILIEN

Brasilien ist die größte Volkswirtschaft Latein­amerikas und zählt mit einem BIP von circa zwei Billionen US-Dollar zu den wichtigsten Schwel­lenländern der Welt. Das Land verfügt über einen Binnenmarkt von 210 Millionen Einwoh­nern und ist reich an natürlichen Ressourcen. Dank eines leichten Wirtschaftswachstums in den letzten drei Jahren blickt Brasilien mit seiner stark gewachsenen Mittelschicht wieder optimistischer in die Zukunft, allerdings könnte die Corona-Krise dies wieder zunichtemachen.

  • Population: 212.559.417
  • Capital: Brasilia
MEHR ERFAHREN