PARTNER-ATLAS

NIGER

as a partner for regulating global migration flows

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Niger have for Germany with regards to "regulating global migration flows"?

The unstable security situation throughout the Sahel region reveals the weakness of state authorities in the region. Niger’s security forces are also struggling to exercise effective control of the country. Several terrorist groups, such as the Islamic State or Boko Haram, regularly attack military bases and also civilians. Niger is also one of the poorest countries in the world and is wrestling with numerous governance problems, including regular accusations of corruption against government representatives or officials. There were several demonstrations against the rampant corruption and bad governance in the past. In 2020, protests erupted over the anti-Covid policies of the government. During the last Presidential elections (2020/21), there were also violent protests triggered by accusations made by the opposition that the elections were rigged. However, by holding these elections, Niger has, for the first time, successfully managed the transition from one elected President to another. In the past, the country suffered numerous military coups.

Niger is an important transit country for migration from Africa to the Mediterranean coast. The so-called “central Mediterranean route” leads – especially via the Nigerien city of Agadez – towards the Algerian and Libyan borders and continues on to the Mediterranean coast. Many Nigeriens are involved in transporting migrants through the Sahara, an activity that is as lucrative for the traffickers as it is dangerous for the migrants. Niger is also a transit country for returnees from Libya or for African migrants expelled from Algeria. Germany and the EU as a whole have a considerable interest in supporting Niger, as one of the hubs of African migration, in overcoming these challenges, and in preventing illegal migration flows at a point that is as close as possible to where they originate.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Niger willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

In recent years, Niger has proven itself to be a reliable partner for Germany and the EU in many policy areas. Already under the Issoufu Presidency, the Nigerien government was committed to the fight against illegal migration flows and was prepared to take action against trafficking networks in its own country. This was demonstrated, for example, by the adoption of an extremely strict law in 2015, which is intended to prevent human trafficking by threatening severe punishments (up to 30 years in prison). Niger consistently enforces this policy and is taking on illegal migration; numerous smugglers’ vehicles have been confiscated.

However, the government’s position is not popular with large sections of the Nigerien population, and there is open criticism of its approach, especially in the Agadez region. Given this situation, a distinction must be made between a government that is largely willing to cooperate and sections of the population (especially in the north), who are losing a lucrative source of income, the transport of migrants, and who are, to some extent, also critical of their own government’s migration policy.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Niger's current cooperation in this area?

Niger is regarded as a reliable partner for Germany. Former President Issoufou and Chancellor Merkel met several times in the last few years. The newly elected President Mohamed Bazoum paid a visit to Berlin in early July 2021. On this occasion, the Nigerien President emphasised the “excellent” quality of relations between the two countries. As a transit country, Niger is supported by a whole range of measures for regulating migration flows. It is important to stress that Niger – as one of the poorest countries in the world and in view of the considerable security policy challenges in the region – is dependent on strong development assistance and security policy cooperation, irrespective of the migration issue. The deterioration of the security situation in the Sahel region since 2013, for example, has contributed to an overall expansion of international engagement, because further destabilisation of the region would also have negative effects on the Sahel’s West African neighbours.

Bilateral cooperation with Germany is part of this overall engagement by the international community. Recently, Germany has considerably enhanced its development policy commitment. A total of more than 115 million euros was pledged to Niger for the period 2018 to 2020, almost twice as much as in the period of 2014 to 2017. An example of this is Germany’s support for projects in the Agadez region that are intended to create employment prospects outside of human trafficking. Niger is also one of the priority countries in the EU migration partnership and is part of the G5 Sahel institutional framework. Important donors, including Germany, have come together in the Sahel Alliance in order to coordinate their support for the G5 Sahel. As an important local player with a nationwide footprint, the International Organization for Migration (IOM) supports migrants who are willing to return. In cooperation with the Nigerien authorities, the IOM has also managed to save thousands of migrants along dangerous routes.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Niger in this area?

Against the background of its own immense challenges in the areas of security and development, the Nigerien government is interested in expanding cooperation. Germany also has a strong interest in intensive cooperation, not only with regard to the issue of migration, but also because of the possible consequences that further destabilisation of the Sahel would have for the whole of West Africa (such as threats from terrorism and organised crime). Niger and Germany share an interest in stabilising the countries of the Sahel region.

In view of the precarious security situation, providing stronger support for government structures offers some potential, e.g. by implementing actions under the German Enable & Enhance initiative (Ertüchtigungsinitiative) in the field of security. The Nigerien government’s constructive approach also offers opportunities for cooperation in other contexts, such as in the United Nations (Niger was elected as a member of the UN Security Council in 2020/21).

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

German support for Niger is already at a very high level. In addition, other players make substantial funding available to the country; further financing commitments have already been made, for example as part of the G5 Sahel support. Therefore, in the future, increasing financial resources will play a less important role than focusing on the most urgent needs and on increasing efficiency. Security policy cooperation will play an increasingly important role in this context, because Niger is facing considerable challenges given the threats posed by terrorist groups in the tri-border region of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger, as well as in the Lake Chad region.

Already existing programmes for strengthening the Nigerien security forces (armed forces, police, and gendarmerie) should therefore be expanded as an instrument of German support. In addition, other core functions of the Nigerien state should also be strengthened (e.g. the judiciary, territorial administration). In order to be able to keep making a sustainable contribution to the regulation of migration flows, Niger needs to be assisted in improving the security situation in the country and in making progress in the field of development. Neither will be possible without the government being an effective and efficient actor that is visible throughout the country.

Thomas Schiller heads the KAS Sahel Regional Programme.

Last update: September 03th, 2021.

NIGER

  • Population: 24,206,644
  • Capital: Niamey
  • Interest: Regulating Global Migration Flows
  • Region: Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Potential partner countries: Chad, Ethiopia, Kenya, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Uganda

04 — The region

Sub-Saharan Africa

logo

SOUTH AFRICA

According to Federal Minister Müller, Africa is to become the “green continent of renewable energies”. South Africa, the continent’s most developed economy, is pursuing ambitious goals in this field, similar to what is being debated in Germany. Examples include the reduction of CO2 emissions and minimizing the dependence on coal. In order to do so, South Africa has introduced a carbon tax in 2019.

  • Population: 59,308,690
  • Capital: Bloemfontain, Capetown, Pretoria
LEARN MORE
logo

KENYA

Kenya is the most stable country in East Africa and is an economy that is oriented toward the west. With consistently strong economic growth in the twelve years before the coronavirus crisis and a GDP of just under 88 billion US dollars (2018), Kenya is the largest economy in East Africa and a growth engine for the entire region. Thanks to the port of Mombasa and the airport in Nairobi, the country is an important hub for trade and finance. Many international companies have chosen Kenya as the seat of their (East) Africa branches.

  • Population: 53,771,296
  • Capital: Nairobi
LEARN MORE
logo

GHANA

Despite its relatively small population of approximately 28 million inhabitants, Ghana is growing in relevance for Germany. This is evident not least of all from the fact that Ghana has been included in the Compact with Africa project since 2017 and became one of Germany’s reform partner countries in the same year. Ghana’s willingness to accept reforms in the economic and fiscal policy sector, along with its framework, which is relatively stable and reliable compared to many other Sub-Saharan African countries, made Ghana an interesting partner for the G20, and especially for Germany (as a reform partnership).

  • Population: 31,072,940
  • Capital: Accra
LEARN MORE
logo

NIGERIA

With a population of around 200 million, Nigeria is not only the largest country in Africa, but it has also been the continent’s largest economy for some years now. The country is rich in oil and gas and is one of the largest oil exporters in the world. Nonetheless, Nigeria faces immense security and economic problems, which are worsening as a result of the coronavirus pandemic and could further destabilise the entire region in the medium to long term, posing major challenges for Europe. This applies both to the European interest in supporting the Sahel states in their fight against terrorism and to reducing irregular migration from Africa.

  • Population: 206,139,589
  • Capital: Abuja
LEARN MORE
logo

NIGER

The unstable security situation throughout the Sahel region reveals the weakness of state authorities in the region. Niger’s security forces are also struggling to exercise effective control of the country. Several terrorist groups, such as the Islamic State or Boko Haram, regularly attack military bases and also civilians. Niger is also one of the poorest countries in the world and is dealing with numerous governance problems, including regular accusations of corruption against government representatives or officials. There have even been deaths during demonstrations by young people against the rampant corruption and bad governance. The Nigerien government’s measures against the coronavirus, especially the closure of mosques, have also led to violent clashes between mainly young demonstrators and the security forces. Amnesty International is also protesting against the use of the controversial cybercrime prevention law to suppress voices critical of the government in the context of the coronavirus pandemic.

  • Population: 24,206,644
  • Capital: Niamey
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

NIGER

Als Partner für die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Niger für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme" zu verwirklichen?

Die instabile Sicherheitslage im gesamten Sahelraum zeigt die Schwäche staatlicher Autoritäten in der Region auf. Auch die Sicherheitskräfte Nigers haben erhebliche Mühe, das Staatsgebiet effektiv zu kontrollieren. Mehrere terroristische Gruppen wie der Islamische Staat oder Boko Haram attackieren regelmäßig Stützpunkte der Streitkräfte des Landes sowie Zivilisten. Niger ist zudem eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt und kämpft mit zahlreichen Governance-Problemen, unter anderem werden regelmäßig Korruptionsvorwürfe gegenüber Regierungsvertretern oder Beamten laut. Bei Demonstrationen von Jugendlichen gegen die grassierende Korruption und schlechte Regierungsführung kam es sogar zu Todesfällen. Auch die Anti-Corona-Maßnahmen der nigrischen Regierung, gerade die Schließung der Moscheen, haben zu gewalttätigen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen vor allem jugendlichen Demonstranten und den Sicherheitskräften geführt. Zudem beklagt Amnesty International die Nutzung des ohnehin umstrittenen Anti-Cyberkriminalität-Gesetzes, um regierungskritische Stimmen im Kontext der Corona-Pandemie zu unterdrücken.

Zugleich ist Niger ein wichtiges Transitland für Migranten aus Afrika in Richtung der Mittelmeerküste. Die sogenannte zentrale Mittelmeeroute führt – vor allem über die nigrische Stadt Agadez – in Richtung der algerischen und libyschen Grenze und weiter an die Küste des Mittelmeers. Zahlreiche Nigrer beteiligen sich am Transport von Migranten durch die Sahara, eine Tätigkeit, die gleichermaßen lukrativ für die Schleuser wie gefährlich für die Migranten ist. Darüber hinaus ist Niger auch Durchgangsland für Rückkehrer aus Libyen oder für aus Algerien ausgewiesene afrikanische Migranten. Deutschland wie die EU insgesamt haben ein erhebliches Interesse, Niger als eine der Drehscheiben der afrikanischen Migration bei der Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen zu unterstützen sowie illegale Migrationsströme möglichst nahe ihres Ursprungs zu unterbinden.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Nigers, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Niger hat sich in den letzten Jahren in vielen Politikfeldern als verlässlicher Partner Deutschlands und der EU erwiesen. Die nigrische Regierung unter Präsident Issoufou engagiert sich im Kampf gegen illegale Migrationsströme und ist bereit, gegen Schleusernetzwerke im eigenen Land vorzugehen. Dies zeigte sich etwa durch die Verabschiedung eines überaus strengen Gesetzes im Jahr 2015, das den Menschenschmuggel mit hohen Strafandrohungen (bis zu 30 Jahre Gefängnis) unterbinden soll. Niger setzt dies auch konsequent durch und geht gegen illegale Migration vor, zahlreiche Fahrzeuge von Schleusern wurden beschlagnahmt.
Die Position der Regierung ist in großen Teilen der nigrischen Bevölkerung jedoch nicht populär, vor allem in der Region Agadez herrscht offene Kritik an diesem Vorgehen. So ist denn zu unterscheiden zwischen einer in großen Teilen kooperationsbereiten Regierung und Teilen der Bevölkerung (vor allem des Nordens), die in dem Transport von Migranten eine lukrative Einnahmequelle verliert und auch der Migrationspolitik der eigenen Regierung teilweise kritisch gegenüberstehen.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Niger aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Niger wird als verlässlicher Partner Deutschlands betrachtet. Präsident Issoufou und Bundeskanzlerin Merkel haben sich in den letzten Jahren mehrfach getroffen. Präsident Issoufou unterstrich dabei öfter die „exzellente“ Qualität der Beziehungen beider Länder. Bei der Regulierung von Migrationsströmen wird das Transitland Niger durch ein ganzes Bündel von Maßnahmen unterstützt. Wichtig ist dabei hervorzuheben, dass Niger – als eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt und mit Blick auf die erheblichen sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen in der Region – auf eine starke entwicklungs- und sicherheitspolitische Zusammenarbeit angewiesen ist, auch unabhängig von der Migrationsthematik. So hat auch die Verschlechterung der Sicherheitslage im Sahelraum seit 2013 zu einer Ausweitung des internationalen Engagements insgesamt beigetragen. Denn eine weitere Destabilisierung der Region hätte auch negative Auswirkungen auf die westafrikanischen Nachbarstaaten des Sahel.

Die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschland versteht sich als ein Teil dieses Gesamtengagements der internationalen Gemeinschaft. Deutschland hat sein entwicklungspolitisches Engagement zuletzt erheblich ausgeweitet. So wurden Niger für den Zeitraum 2018 bis 2020 insgesamt mehr als 115 Millionen Euro zugesagt, nahezu doppelt so viel wie in der Periode 2014 bis 2017. Deutschland unterstützt beispielsweise Projekte in der Region Agadez, die den Menschen Erwerbsperspektiven außerhalb des Menschenschmuggels eröffnen sollen. Niger ist zudem eines der Schwerpunktländer der EU-Migrationspartnerschaft und Teil des Bundes G5 Sahel. Mit der Sahel-Allianz haben sich wichtige Geber, darunter Deutschland, zur Koordinierung ihrer Unterstützung für die G5 Sahel zusammengeschlossen. Als wichtiger Akteur vor Ort unterstützt die Organisation für Migration (IOM) rückkehrwillige Migranten und verfügt über eine landesweite Präsenz. Der OIM ist es zudem im Verbund mit den nigrischen Behörden gelungen, Tausende von Migranten auf den gefährlichen Routen zu retten.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Niger in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Die nigrische Regierung ist vor dem Hintergrund der eigenen immensen Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Sicherheit und Entwicklung an einer Ausweitung der Zusammenarbeit interessiert. Auch Deutschland hat nicht allein mit Blick auf das Thema Migration, sondern auch aufgrund der möglichen Folgen einer weiteren Destabilisierung des Sahel für ganz Westafrika (etwa Gefährdungen durch Terrorismus und Organisierte Kriminalität) ein starkes Interesse an einer intensiven Kooperation. Sowohl Niger als auch Deutschland teilen damit das Interesse, die Länder der Sahelregion zu stabilisieren.

Mit Blick auf die bedrohliche Sicherheitslage besteht etwa Potenzial in einer verstärkten Unterstützung staatlicher Strukturen, wie im Sicherheitsbereich durch Maßnahmen der deutschen Ertüchtigungsinitiative. Ebenso bietet der konstruktive Ansatz der Regierung Issoufou Anknüpfungspunkte für eine Kooperation auch in anderen Zusammenhängen wie etwa in den Vereinten Nationen (Niger ist für 2020/21 als Mitglied des VN-Sicherheitsrates gewählt worden).

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Die deutsche Unterstützung Nigers ist bereits auf einem sehr hohen Niveau. Darüber hinaus sind auch andere Akteure im Land mit erheblichen Mitteln aktiv; weitere Finanzierungszusagen wurden etwa im Rahmen der Unterstützung von G5 Sahel bereits abgegeben. Es wird daher künftig weniger um eine Erhöhung der finanziellen Mittel gehen, als vielmehr um eine Ausrichtung auf die dringendsten Bedürfnisse und eine Effizienzsteigerung. Hierbei wird die sicherheitspolitische Zusammenarbeit eine immer größere Rolle spielen, denn mit Blick auf die Herausforderungen durch terroristische Gruppen im Dreiländereck Burkina Faso, Mali und Niger sowie in der Tschadseeregion steht Niger vor erheblichen Herausforderungen.

Als ein Instrument der deutschen Unterstützung sollten daher Maßnahmen der Ertüchtigung der nigrischen Sicherheitskräfte (Streitkräfte, Polizei, Gendarmerie) ausgeweitet werden. Zudem sollten auch andere Kernfunktionen des nigrischen Staats gestärkt werden (wie Justiz, Territorialverwaltung). Denn um auch weiterhin einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur Regulierung von Migrationsströmen leisten zu können, muss Niger in die Lage versetzt werden, die Sicherheitslage im Land zu verbessern und Fortschritte im Bereich der Entwicklung zu machen. Ohne eine effektive und effiziente staatliche Präsenz in der Fläche wird beides nicht möglich sein.

Thomas Schiller leitet das KAS-Regionalprogramm Sahel.

NIGER

  • Population: 24.206.644
  • Capital: Niamey
  • Interesse: Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme
  • Region: Afrika südlich der Sahara
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Äthiopien, Kenia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Südafrika, Tschad, Uganda

04 — Die Region

Afrika südlich der Sahara

logo

SÜDAFRIKA

Laut Bundesminister Müller soll Afrika zum „grünen Kontinent der erneuerbaren Energien“ werden. Südafrika, die entwickelteste Volkswirtschaft des Kontinents, verfolgt in diesem Bereich ehrgeizige Ziele, welche in Deutschland ähnlich debattiert werden, so zum Beispiel die drastische Minderung des CO2-Ausstoßes, die Verringerung der massiven Abhängigkeit von Kohle und die Einführung einer Karbonsteuer.

  • Population: 59.308.690
  • Capital: Bloemfontain, Kapstadt, Pretoria
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KENIA

Kenia ist der stabilste Staat Ostafrikas und eine nach Westen ausgerichtete Marktwirtschaft. Mit einem konstant starken Wirtschaftswachstum in den zwölf Jahren vor der Corona-Krise und einem BIP in Höhe von knapp 88 Milliarden US-Dollar (2018) ist Kenia die größte Volkswirtschaft in Ostafrika und ein Wachstumsmotor für die gesamte Region. Auch dank des Hafens Mombasa und des Flughafens in Nairobi ist das Land ein wichtiger Hub im Handel und im Finanzwesen. Viele internationale Unternehmen haben Kenia als Sitz ihrer (Ost)Afrika-Niederlassungen gewählt.

  • Population: 53.771.296
  • Capital: Nairobi
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

GHANA

Nicht nur die Bereitschaft Ghanas, sich auf Reformen im wirtschafts- und finanzpolitischen Sektor einzulassen, auch die vor allem im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Subsahara-Afrika-Ländern relativ stabilen Rahmenbedingungen ließen aus Sicht der G20 und speziell Deutschlands (bei der Reformpartnerschaft) Ghana zu einem interessanten Partner werden.

  • Population: 31.072.940
  • Capital: Accra
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

NIGERIA

Mit etwa 200 Millionen Einwohnern ist Nigeria nicht nur das größte Land Afrikas, sondern auch seit einigen Jahren die größte Volkswirtschaft des Kontinents. Das Land ist reich an Öl- und Gasvorkommen und zählt zu den größten Erdölexporteuren der Welt. Dennoch steht Nigeria vor immensen Sicherheits- und Wirtschaftsproblemen, die infolge der Corona-Pandemie größer werden und mittel- bis langfristig die gesamte Region weiter destabilisieren und Europa vor große Herausforderungen stellen könnten. Das betrifft sowohl das europäische Interesse, die Staaten des Sahel bei ihrem Kampf gegen den Terrorismus zu unterstützen, als auch die irreguläre Migration aus Afrika zu reduzieren.

  • Population: 206.139.589
  • Capital: Abuja
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

NIGER

Niger ist ein wichtiges Transitland für Migranten aus Afrika in Richtung der Mittelmeerküste. Die sogenannte zentrale Mittelmeeroute in Richtung der algerischen und libyschen Grenze und weiter an die Küste des Mittelmeers. Darüber hinaus ist Niger auch Durchgangsland für Rückkehrer aus Libyen oder für aus Algerien ausgewiesene afrikanische Migranten. Deutschland wie die EU insgesamt haben ein erhebliches Interesse, Niger als eine der Drehscheiben der afrikanischen Migration bei der Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen zu unterstützen sowie illegale Migrationsströme möglichst nahe ihres Ursprungs zu unterbinden.

  • Population: 24.206.644
  • Capital: Niamey
MEHR ERFAHREN