PARTNER-ATLAS

COLOMBIA

as a partner for regulating global migration flows

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Colombia have for Germany with regards to "regulating global migration flows"?

According to official data from the Colombian migration authorities, approximately 1.8 million of the more than 4 million Venezuelan migrants are currently in Colombia. According to estimates by the Colombian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the flow of migrants could increase to 3 million by the end of 2021, not including “transit migrants” or commuters.

The fact that Colombia is the preferred destination for Venezuelan refugees can be explained by its linguistic and cultural proximity and by the fact that many families have relatives on both sides of the border. While these aspects facilitate integration, they do not reduce the economic challenges for the host country’s institutions. Moreover, large numbers of migrants are suffering extreme economic, social, physical and psychological hardship.

The Colombian-Venezuelan border, which is more than 2,000 kilometres long, has only seven official border crossings and, for long stretches, runs through rough terrain, which makes it practically impossible to control entry and exit and (legal and illegal) trade. A large proportion of migrants enter the country via the numerous illegal border crossings, which are usually controlled by criminal groups, making registration and providing immediate care (food, medical examination and treatment) difficult. Authorities currently assume that there are more than 900,000 illegal migrants in Colombia. Since May 2021, all Venezuelans living in Colombia legally or illegally have been eligible to register with the migration authorities in order to legalise their status under a new temporary residence status. This initiative is an important message by the Colombian government, opening up prospects for migrants for staying in the country permanently and supporting their integration into society and the labour market.

The Colombian government is aware of the political and humanitarian crisis in Venezuela and is trying, in a spirit of generous, neighbourly solidarity, to receive and care for migrants as best it can. At the same time, with international support, tremendous pressure is being exerted on the Venezuelan government, because if there is no change in the situation there, migration to Colombia will increase. The future stability of Colombia and the region essentially depends on whether migration flows can be regulated efficiently and distributed more evenly.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Colombia willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

The German government has provided important support for managing the migration crisis from the very beginning. Germany’s experience with the wave of migration from Syria in 2015 was closely observed in Colombia, because Colombia had been more a country of emigration than of immigration before the Venezuelan crisis, and had therefore had little experience with the phenomenon of massive immigration. There is thus considerable interest in a dialogue with Germany regarding successful measures and avoidable mistakes with respect to managing migration.

The Colombian government, for example, has adopted the German system for the identification and registration of migrants.

Colombia is committed to introducing this system regionally as part of the “Quito Process”. Also, the country could pick some ideas from the German model for the distribution of migrants across regions and federal states (depending on economic capacity and population structure) . Colombia is anxious to achieve a more even distribution of migrants in the region. The fact that the proposal only received a lukewarm response from countries that are not directly or equally affected by migration shows some parallels to the European migration debate.

At the international level, Colombia, like Germany, has actively participated in initiatives such as the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration at UN level, and in the Solidarity Conference held last year in Brussels at the initiative of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and the EU. Colombia and Germany, as important host countries for migrants and refugees, are strong supporters of the Migration and Refugee Compact. Germany has a special role here, as it is the only country in the world to be both one of the ten host countries taking in most refugees and, at the same time, one of the biggest contributors to the UNHCR.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Colombia's current cooperation in this area?

There is currently intense cooperation between Colombia and Germany on migration. The Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) is providing support and advice on introducing the system for identifying and registering migrants (especially in border areas). The Federal Foreign Office (AA) is heavily involved in the area of humanitarian aid. Germany also provides substantial funding to the UN and EU migration programmes in Colombia.

The German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ), for example, is implementing projects to develop the local economy, in which migration is to be used for the country’s development, for example by promoting business start-ups and other productive initiatives, launched by migrants in Colombia. Support has also been given to communities that host migrants, especially in the Venezuelan-Colombian border area.

Political foundations are engaged in providing analysis, education and policy consultation by training government representatives, members of parliament and political decision-makers and raising their awareness of relevant issues. A particular focus is policy consultation with respect to the ongoing debate on a Colombian immigration law.

Church organisations also play an important role in supporting migrants (especially for emergency aid). Caritas Germany, for example, cooperates with local religious organisations to help provide care for migrants and Colombian returnees from Venezuela.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Colombia in this area?

Unless the political, economic and social situation in Venezuela decisively improves, it can be assumed that by the end of 2021 approximately 6.5 million people will have left the country, of whom about 3 million will remain in Colombia. It is currently impossible to predict what effects the Covid crisis will have on the development of migration numbers. That is why the potential and the need for cooperation remain substantial.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

Germany should become even more involved at the multilateral level in order to maintain international pressure on the Maduro regime and thus contribute to a peaceful transition in the medium term. Redemocratisation, combined with international aid for reconstruction of the country, would alleviate migration pressure and open up the prospect of a return to their home countries for many emigrants. Germany should be proactively engaged in this process.

A migration movement of this magnitude must be accompanied by longer-term planning, that is primarily focused on the implementation of appropriate medium and long-term public policies (such as in healthcare and education), apart from taking necessary emergency action. It is especially important to provide advice and support to regional and local governments and administrations, because these have suffered most from the economic impact and they have shown a keen interest in suitable training programs. Germany can offer such advice based on its own experience and thereby contribute to strengthening the responsible Colombian institutions, to decentralising the provision of care for migrants and to regional development.

Given that both Colombia and Germany will continue to be immigration countries in the foreseeable future, there is a considerable congruence of interests for pulling together on a multilateral level. Apart from specific support measures on the ground, German foreign policy should emphasise the value of including Colombia as a strategic interest partner in the global migration debate, so that the Global Migration Compact and the Global Refugee Compact, which both countries support, can now be gradually implemented following their adoption in December 2018.

Stefan Reith heads the KAS Office in Colombia.

Last update: July 27th, 2021

COLOMBIA

  • Population: 50,882,891
  • Capital: Bogota
  • Interest: Regulating Global Migration Flows
  • Region: Latin America
  • Potential partner countries: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Colombia, Mexico, Panama

04 — The region

Latin America

logo

PERU

Peru is an exception in Latin America in terms of its enormous wealth of resources and biodiversity. The country has three large landscape zones: the coast, most of which is covered by desert, the Andes and the jungle region. According to the World Resource Institute, Peru is one of only eight megadiverse countries in the world, possessing 84 of the 104 existing life zones. 76 percent of the country is occupied by rainforest, which means that the country has the largest share of the Amazon rainforest after Brazil.

  • Population: 32,971,854
  • Capital: Lima
LEARN MORE
logo

MEXICO

In connection with organised crime, drug trafficking, and the penetration of the state by criminal groups, Mexico – a regional leader and member of the G20 – is facing major challenges that affect both internal and regional security. In view of the cross-border effects of organised crime in Mexico, which extend far beyond the American continent, migration from Central America and other regions of the world through Mexico towards the USA, the significant economic potential as a production location with a well-qualified workforce and privileged access to the US market via the North American Free-Trade Area, Mexico is of great importance for the stability of the region.

  • Population: 128,932,753
  • Capital: Mexico City
LEARN MORE
logo

COLOMBIA

According to official data from the Colombian migration authorities, approximately 1.8 million of the more than 4 million Venezuelan migrants are currently in Colombia. According to estimates by the Colombian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the flow of migrants could increase to 3 million by the end of 2020, not including “transit migrants” or commuters.

  • Population: 50,882,891
  • Capital: Bogota
LEARN MORE
logo

URUGUAY

In comparison to other Latin American countries and despite its modest size, Uruguay serves as a model with its impressive political and socio-economic status. In a region that is not always stable, the country can look back on a long democratic-republican tradition with functioning institutions and a diverse media landscape.

  • Population: 3,473,730
  • Capital: Montevideo
LEARN MORE
logo

BRAZIL

Brazil is the largest economy in Latin America and, with a GDP of approximately 2 trillion US dollars is one of the most important emerging markets in the world. The country has a domestic market of 210 million inhabitants and is rich in natural resources.

  • Population: 212,559,417
  • Capital: Brasilia
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

KOLUMBIEN

Als Partner für die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Kolumbien für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme" zu verwirklichen?

Zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt befinden sich nach offiziellen Angaben der kolumbianischen Migrationsbehörde circa 1,8 Millionen der insgesamt mehr als 4 Millionen venezolanischen Migranten in Kolumbien. Nach Schätzungen des kolumbianischen Außenministeriums könnte der Migrantenstrom bis Ende 2020 auf 3 Millionen anwachsen, wobei weder die sogenannten  Durchgangsmigranten noch die Pendler berücksichtigt sind.

Dass Kolumbien die wichtigste Anlaufstelle für Venezolaner darstellt, erklärt sich durch die sprachliche und kulturelle Nähe sowie die Tatsache, dass viele Familien Verwandte auf beiden Seiten der Grenze haben. Diese Aspekte erleichtern einerseits die Integration, verringern andererseits jedoch nicht die wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen für die Institutionen des Gastlandes. Zudem befinden sich sehr viele Migranten in einer extremen wirtschaftlichen, sozialen, physischen und psychischen Notlage.

Die mehr als 2.000 Kilometer lange kolumbianisch-venezolanische Grenze verfügt lediglich über sieben offizielle Grenzübergänge und führt über weite Strecken durch unwegsames Gelände, was eine Kontrolle der Ein-und Ausreise sowie des (legalen und illegalen) Handels praktisch unmöglich macht. Ein Großteil der Migranten kommt über die zahlreichen illegalen Grenzübergänge ins Land, die in der Regel von kriminellen Gruppen kontrolliert werden, was die Registrierung und Erstversorgung (Nahrungsmittel, ärztliche Untersuchung und Behandlung) erschwert. Derzeit gehen die Behörden von mehr als 900.000 illegalen Migranten auf kolumbianischem Territorium aus.

Die kolumbianische Regierung ist sich der politischen und humanitären Krise in Venezuela bewusst und bemüht sich im Rahmen einer großzügigen, nachbarschaftlichen Solidarität, die Migranten bestmöglich aufzunehmen und zu versorgen. Gleichzeitig wird mit internationaler Unterstützung vehementer Druck auf die venezolanische Regierung ausgeübt. Denn solange sich die Situation dort nicht ändert, wird die Migration nach Kolumbien zunehmen. Die künftige Stabilität Kolumbiens und der Region hängt im Wesentlichen davon ab, ob die Migrationsströme effizient reguliert und gleichmäßiger verteilt werden können.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Kolumbiens, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Die deutsche Regierung leistete von Anfang an wichtige Unterstützung bei der Bewältigung der Migrationskrise. Die Erfahrungen Deutschlands mit der Migrationswelle aus Syrien 2015 wurden in Kolumbien aufmerksam registriert, da Kolumbien vor der Venezuela-Krise eher Auswanderungs- als Einwanderungsland war und somit kaum Erfahrung mit dem Phänomen einer massiven Einwanderung hatte. Das Interesse an einem Dialog mit deutschen Akteuren über erfolgreiche Maßnahmen und vermeidbare Fehler bei der Steuerung der Migration ist entsprechend groß.

Die kolumbianische Regierung hat von Deutschland zum Beispiel das System zur Identifizierung und Registrierung von Migranten übernommen. Kolumbien setzt sich im Rahmen des sogenannten Quito-Prozesses dafür ein, dieses System regional einzuführen. Weiterhin dient das deutsche Modell zur Verteilung der Migranten auf die einzelnen Regionen und Länder (je nach wirtschaftlicher Kapazität und Bevölkerungsstruktur) als Anregung. Kolumbien ist an einer gleichmäßigeren Verteilung der Migranten in der Region sehr gelegen. Die Zurückhaltung der Länder, die nicht unmittelbar und im gleichen Ausmaß von der Migration betroffen sind, lässt dabei Parallelen zur europäischen Migrationsdebatte sichtbar werden.

Auf internationaler Ebene hat Kolumbien – ebenso wie Deutschland – aktiv an Initiativen wie dem Globalen Pakt für eine sichere, geordnete und reguläre Migration auf UN-Ebene sowie der Solidaritätskonferenz mitgewirkt, die im vergangenen Jahr in Brüssel auf Initiative von UNHCR, IOM und der EU stattgefunden hat. Kolumbien und Deutschland sind als wichtige Aufnahmeländer von Migranten und Flüchtlingen starke Unterstützer des Migrations- und des Flüchtlingspaktes. Deutschland fällt hier eine besondere Rolle zu, da es als einziges Land weltweit zu den zehn stärksten Aufnahmeländern und Beitragszahlern des UNHCR gehört.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Kolumbien aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Die aktuelle Kooperation zwischen Kolumbien und Deutschland im Bereich Migration ist intensiv. Das BMZ begleitet und berät bei der Einführung des Systems zur Identifizierung und Registrierung von Migranten (vor allem in Grenzgebieten). Das AA engagiert sich stark im Bereich der humanitären Hilfe; zudem leistet Deutschland substanzielle finanzielle Beiträge für Migrationsprogramme der UN und der EU in Kolumbien.

Die GIZ führt etwa Projekte zur Förderung der lokalen Wirtschaft durch, in deren Rahmen die Migration für die Entwicklung des Landes genutzt werden soll, zum Beispiel durch Förderung von Unternehmensgründungen und anderen produktiven Initiativen der Migranten auf kolumbianischem Boden. Zudem wurden Gemeinden unterstützt, die Migranten aufnehmen, besonders im venezolanisch-kolumbianischen Grenzgebiet.

Die politischen Stiftungen engagieren sich im Bereich der Analyse, Aufklärung und Politikberatung, indem sie etwa Regierungsvertreter, Parlamentarier und politische Entscheidungsträger sensibilisieren und weiterbilden. Die Politikberatung bei der laufenden Debatte zu einem kolumbianischen Einwanderungsgesetz steht dabei besonders im Fokus.

Auch die kirchlichen Einrichtungen spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Migrantenbetreuung (speziell bei der Soforthilfe). So unterstützt beispielsweise Caritas Deutschland gemeinsam mit lokalen religiösen Einrichtungen die Betreuung von Migranten und kolumbianischen Rückkehrern aus Venezuela.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Kolumbien in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Wenn sich die politische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Situation in Venezuela nicht entscheidend verbessert, ist davon auszugehen, dass bis Ende 2020 circa 6,5 Millionen Menschen das Land verlassen haben, von denen circa 3 Millionen in Kolumbien bleiben werden. Die Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise auf die Entwicklung der Migrationszahlen sind derzeit noch nicht absehbar. Das Potenzial und die Notwendigkeit für eine Kooperation bleiben somit groß.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Deutschland sollte sich auf multilateraler Ebene noch stärker engagieren, um den internationalen Druck auf das Regime Maduro aufrechtzuerhalten und damit mittelfristig zu einer friedlichen Transition beizutragen. Eine Redemokratisierung verbunden mit internationalen Hilfen für den Wiederaufbau des Landes würde den Migrationsdruck abschwächen und vielen Auswanderern eine Rückkehrperspektive eröffnen. Deutschland sollte sich proaktiv in diesen Prozess einbringen.

Eine Migrationsbewegung solchen Ausmaßes muss von einer längerfristigen Planung begleitet werden, die sich neben den notwendigen Sofortmaßnahmen insbesondere auf die Umsetzung entsprechender mittel- und langfristiger public policies (wie im Gesundheits- und Bildungsbereich) konzentriert. Die Beratung und Unterstützung regionaler und lokaler Regierungen und Verwaltungen ist dabei von großer Bedeutung, da diese wirtschaftlich am stärksten betroffen sind und hier ein großes Interesse an geeigneten Fortbildungsmaßnahmen besteht. Deutschland kann eine solche Beratung aufgrund seiner eigenen Erfahrungen anbieten und damit zur Stärkung der zuständigen kolumbianischen Institutionen, zur Dezentralisierung der Betreuung von Migranten und zur regionalen Entwicklung beitragen.

Da sowohl Kolumbien als auch Deutschland auf absehbare Zeit Einwanderungsländer bleiben werden, besteht eine hohe Interessenskongruenz, um auf multilateraler Ebene gemeinsam an einem Strang zu ziehen. Abgesehen von konkreten Unterstützungsmaßnahmen vor Ort sollte die deutsche Außenpolitik Wert darauf legen, Kolumbien als strategischen Interessenspartner in der globalen Migrationsdebatte einzubeziehen, damit der Globale Migrationspakt und der Globale Flüchtlingspakt, den beide Staaten unterstützen, nach ihrer Verabschiedung im Dezember 2018 nun auch schrittweise umgesetzt werden.

Stefan Reith leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Kolumbien.

KOLUMBIEN

  • Population: 50.882.891
  • Capital: Bogota
  • Interesse: Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme
  • Region: Lateinamerika
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Argentinien, Brasilien, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras Kolumbien, Mexiko, Panama

04 — Die Region

Lateinamerika

logo

PERU

Peru ist in Lateinamerika hinsichtlich seines enormen Ressourcenreichtums und seiner Biodiversität eine Ausnahmeerscheinung. Das Land verfügt über drei große Landschafts­zonen: die Küste, deren weite Teile von Wüste bedeckt sind, die Anden sowie die Urwald­region. Laut World Ressource Institute ist Peru eines von insgesamt acht megadiversen Ländern weltweit und verfügt über 84 der 104 existierenden Lebenszonen. 76 Prozent der Landesfläche wird von Regenwald belegt, womit das Land nach Bra­silien über den größten Anteil am Amazonas- Regenwald verfügt.

  • Population: 32.971.854
  • Capital: Lima
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

MEXIKO

Im Zusammenhang mit Organisierter Krimi­nalität, Drogenhandel und Durchdringung des Staates durch kriminelle Gruppen steht Mexiko – regionale Führungsmacht und G20-Mitglied – vor besonderen Herausfor­derungen, die sowohl die innere als auch die regionale Sicherheit betreffen. Angesichts der grenzüberschreitenden Auswirkungen der Organisierten Kriminalität in Mexiko, den Migrationsbewegungen aus Zen­tralamerika und anderen Weltregionen durch Mexiko in Richtung USA und dem signifikanten wirtschaftlichen Potenzial ist das Land für die Stabilität der Region von großer Bedeutung.

  • Population: 128.932.753
  • Capital: Mexiko-Stadt
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KOLUMBIEN

Zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt befinden sich nach offiziellen Angaben der kolumbianischen Migrationsbehörde circa 1,8 Millionen der ins­gesamt mehr als 4 Millionen venezolanischen Migranten in Kolumbien. Nach Schätzungen des kolumbianischen Außenministeriums könnte der Migrantenstrom bis Ende 2020 auf 3 Mil­lionen anwachsen, wobei weder die sogenann­ten Durchgangsmigranten noch die Pendler berücksichtigt sind.

  • Population: 50.882.891
  • Capital: Bogota
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

URUGUAY

Trotz der bescheidenen Größe hat Uruguay mit seiner beeindruckenden politischen und sozio­ökonomischen Verfasstheit im lateinamerikani­schen Vergleich Modellcharakter. In einer nicht immer stabilen Region blickt das Land auf eine lange demokratisch-republikanische Tradition mit funktionierenden Institutionen und einer vielfältigen Medienlandschaft zurück.

  • Population: 3.473.730
  • Capital: Montevideo
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

BRASILIEN

Brasilien ist die größte Volkswirtschaft Latein­amerikas und zählt mit einem BIP von circa zwei Billionen US-Dollar zu den wichtigsten Schwel­lenländern der Welt. Das Land verfügt über einen Binnenmarkt von 210 Millionen Einwoh­nern und ist reich an natürlichen Ressourcen. Dank eines leichten Wirtschaftswachstums in den letzten drei Jahren blickt Brasilien mit seiner stark gewachsenen Mittelschicht wieder optimistischer in die Zukunft, allerdings könnte die Corona-Krise dies wieder zunichtemachen.

  • Population: 212.559.417
  • Capital: Brasilia
MEHR ERFAHREN