PARTNER-ATLAS

KENYA

as a partner for safeguarding our prosperity via free trade and innovation

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Kenya have for Germany with regards to “safeguarding our prosperity via free trade and innovation”?

Kenya is the most stable country in East Africa and is an economy that is oriented toward the west. With consistently strong economic growth in the twelve years before the coronavirus crisis and a GDP of just under 88 billion US dollars (2018), Kenya is the largest economy in East Africa and a growth engine for the entire region. Thanks to the port of Mombasa and the airport in Nairobi, the country is an important hub for trade and finance. Many international companies have chosen Kenya as the seat of their (East) Africa branches.

With its capital, Nairobi, Kenya has also become a centre of innovation in Africa. The M-Pesa payment system, introduced in 2007, has become the world’s largest provider of mobile payments. No country in the world has a higher proportion of mobile payment system users. This success has resulted in a professional technology sector in Kenya. The start-up scene benefits from a digital infrastructure that is well developed compared with the rest of the region: 85 percent of the population has access to the Internet.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Kenya willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

The technology and start-up scene in Kenya have not yet managed to repeat M-Pesa’s considerable success in other areas, despite its good initial position. A close partnership with Germany, recently named the most innovative economy in the world by Bloomberg, could be beneficial for Kenya.

As a regional hub, Kenya has an interest in stability in the region and is therefore strongly committed to multilateralism. For example, Kenya is part of the African Union (AU) peace mission in Somalia, thus helping to secure one of the world’s most important trade routes in the Horn of Africa.

While Kenya’s western orientation has weakened due to the exponential growth of China’s investments in the past two decades, the country is nonetheless far from becoming a vassal state of China. On the contrary, Kenya is wisely striking a balance between the potential partners.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Kenya's current cooperation in this area?

Kenya is the only country in the East African Community (EAC) to have ratified the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) negotiated with the EU in 2014. The EPA is a decisive building block for Germany’s future trade relations with Africa, because the Cotonou Agreement, which until now has provided unilateral preferential access to the European market for most sub-Saharan African states including Kenya, expires in 2020. Since Kenya is the only country in the EAC that is no longer part of the group of Least Developed Countries, after the expiry of the agreement it will not be able to take advantage of the European Everything But Arms initiative, under which 33 African countries are granted duty-free and quota-free access to the European market. Only a mutual agreement like the EPA would continue to allow WTO-compliant, preferential access to the European market.

However, it is also true that there are conflicting trade policy interests in Kenya. On the one hand, influential groups are protecting their particular interests via tariffs and non-tariff trade barriers. And mistrust of neighbouring countries with whom they do not currently have good political relations will make regional free trade unlikely in the near future. Moreover, in the shadow of the coronavirus pandemic, arguments against a further opening of the market are becoming increasingly prevalent, which could also make progress in the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) more difficult.

On the other hand, there is certainly interest in more trade with Germany and Europe, especially in the export-oriented agricultural industry, but also in the start-up scene, which is reliant on Western investors. For example, the German company Rocket Internet is very active in Kenya and, with Jumia, has developed Africa’s largest online retailer.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Kenya in this area?

There is great potential for more intensive cooperation, especially in the agricultural industry. Modern agricultural technology and innovative farming methods are in demand. So far, however, there have only been large-scale purchases in Europe of products that are not competing with subsidised European products, in particular cut flowers, coffee and tea. Due to the global transport restrictions resulting from the coronavirus pandemic, Kenya’s agricultural exports have collapsed completely for the time being. It is still unclear whether the original structures can be restored. However, this process can also be utilised to diversify exports.

In addition to numerous start-ups, there are also many small light industry companies in Kenya that could be integrated into the value chains of German industry due to a relatively good infrastructure. However, Kenya’s potential can only be fully exploited if free trade, at least on the regional level, has been achieved. Any further integration within the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) would further strengthen Kenya’s importance as an investment and technology location.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

Germany should continue to campaign at the European level for trade agreements with African countries. Whether the EPA between the EU and the EAC is still the best way to go about this should be looked into. If the other EAC member states continue the blockade, the regional approach could initially take a back seat, while bilateral cooperation with Kenya could be given greater focus.

The emergence of the AfCFTA should be constructively and patiently supported, as its implementation would be a blessing for Kenya as well as for German companies that could serve the entire continent from their base in Kenya. However, the continuing conflicting interests of the elites of many African countries (including Kenya) must not be sympathetically ignored. This is not the way to bring about rapid implementation. However, if implementation is successful, Germany should actively advocate starting negotiations for a comprehensive EU-AU agreement.

Given that two thirds of Kenyan exports are agricultural products, a project such as this also means radically rethinking the EU’s common agricultural policy. Duty and quota- free access to the European market for Kenya and other sub-Saharan African countries is of little value if competition is distorted by subsidising European producers. Kenya would have great potential as a supplier, particularly in the area of milk and meat production, as well as for fruit and vegetable varieties that are also produced in Europe.

In the agricultural sector, investments in the mechanisation and intensification of conventional and organic agriculture should be promoted, rather than continuing to consolidate the small-scale structures that are more subsistence oriented. Germany, with its strengths in agriculture, the food industry and agricultural machinery, could benefit at all stages of the value chain.

In the technology sector, despite impressive developments, Kenya still has to become a major player. As with elsewhere in Africa, access to capital is particularly difficult or even impossible for small businesses, and thus also for start-ups. This means that innovations get nipped in the bud. Additional access to capital could be achieved via German and European development banks, which would also enable longer-term financing. However, it must not be ignored that corruption at all levels of government remains the central inhibitor of innovation and investment. German foreign and development policy must consistently counteract this by taking a long-term approach.

In addition, structures for the exchange of knowledge between Germany and Kenya should be created, such as the German-Kenyan university of applied sciences that is currently being established. Germany’s capacity for innovation would also benefit enormously from this exchange with the young Kenyan population.

Jan Cernicky is Policy Advisor for International Trade and Economy in the Analysis and Consulting Department; Gunter Rieck Moncayo is Desk Officer for Sub-Saharan African Economy in the European and International Cooperation Department.

KENYA

  • Population: 53,771,296
  • Capital: Nairobi
  • Interest: Safeguarding our Prosperity via Free Trade and Innovation
  • Region: Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Potential partner countries: Botswana, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Rwanda, South Africa

02 — Foreign Office

Contact:

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung
Foreign Office Kenia
1 Thigiri Hilltop Off Thigiri Ridge Road P.O.Box 66471
Nairobi 00800

04 — The region

Sub-Saharan Africa

logo

SOUTH AFRICA

According to Federal Minister Müller, Africa is to become the “green continent of renewable energies”. South Africa, the continent’s most developed economy, is pursuing ambitious goals in this field, similar to what is being debated in Germany. Examples include the reduction of CO2 emissions and minimizing the dependence on coal. In order to do so, South Africa has introduced a carbon tax in 2019.

  • Population: 59,308,690
  • Capital: Bloemfontain, Capetown, Pretoria
LEARN MORE
logo

KENYA

Kenya is the most stable country in East Africa and is an economy that is oriented toward the west. With consistently strong economic growth in the twelve years before the coronavirus crisis and a GDP of just under 88 billion US dollars (2018), Kenya is the largest economy in East Africa and a growth engine for the entire region. Thanks to the port of Mombasa and the airport in Nairobi, the country is an important hub for trade and finance. Many international companies have chosen Kenya as the seat of their (East) Africa branches.

  • Population: 53,771,296
  • Capital: Nairobi
LEARN MORE
logo

GHANA

Despite its relatively small population of approximately 28 million inhabitants, Ghana is growing in relevance for Germany. This is evident not least of all from the fact that Ghana has been included in the Compact with Africa project since 2017 and became one of Germany’s reform partner countries in the same year. Ghana’s willingness to accept reforms in the economic and fiscal policy sector, along with its framework, which is relatively stable and reliable compared to many other Sub-Saharan African countries, made Ghana an interesting partner for the G20, and especially for Germany (as a reform partnership).

  • Population: 31,072,940
  • Capital: Accra
LEARN MORE
logo

NIGERIA

With a population of around 200 million, Nigeria is not only the largest country in Africa, but it has also been the continent’s largest economy for some years now. The country is rich in oil and gas and is one of the largest oil exporters in the world. Nonetheless, Nigeria faces immense security and economic problems, which are worsening as a result of the coronavirus pandemic and could further destabilise the entire region in the medium to long term, posing major challenges for Europe. This applies both to the European interest in supporting the Sahel states in their fight against terrorism and to reducing irregular migration from Africa.

  • Population: 206,139,589
  • Capital: Abuja
LEARN MORE
logo

NIGER

The unstable security situation throughout the Sahel region reveals the weakness of state authorities in the region. Niger’s security forces are also struggling to exercise effective control of the country. Several terrorist groups, such as the Islamic State or Boko Haram, regularly attack military bases and also civilians. Niger is also one of the poorest countries in the world and is dealing with numerous governance problems, including regular accusations of corruption against government representatives or officials. There have even been deaths during demonstrations by young people against the rampant corruption and bad governance. The Nigerien government’s measures against the coronavirus, especially the closure of mosques, have also led to violent clashes between mainly young demonstrators and the security forces. Amnesty International is also protesting against the use of the controversial cybercrime prevention law to suppress voices critical of the government in the context of the coronavirus pandemic.

  • Population: 24,206,644
  • Capital: Niamey
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

KENIA

Als Partner für die Wahrung unseres Wohlstands durch freien Handel und Innovation

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Kenia für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Wahrung unseres Wohlstands durch freien Handel und Innovation" zu verwirklichen?

Kenia ist der stabilste Staat Ostafrikas und eine nach Westen ausgerichtete Marktwirtschaft. Mit einem konstant starken Wirtschaftswachstum in den zwölf Jahren vor der Corona-Krise und einem BIP in Höhe von knapp 88 Milliarden US-Dollar (2018) ist Kenia die größte Volkswirtschaft in Ostafrika und ein Wachstumsmotor für die gesamte Region. Auch dank des Hafens Mombasa und des Flughafens in Nairobi ist das Land ein wichtiger Hub im Handel und im Finanzwesen. Viele internationale Unternehmen haben Kenia als Sitz ihrer (Ost)Afrika-Niederlassungen gewählt.

Kenia hat sich mit seiner Hauptstadt Nairobi darüber hinaus zu einem Innovationszentrum in Afrika entwickelt. Das 2007 eingeführte Bezahlsystem MPesa ist heute der weltweit größte Anbieter für mobile Zahlungen, kein Land auf der Welt hat einen höheren Anteil an Nutzern mobiler Bezahlsysteme. Durch diesen Erfolg konnte in Kenia ein professioneller Technologiesektor entstehen. Die Start-up-Szene profitiert dabei von einer im regionalen Vergleich gut ausgebauten digitalen Infrastruktur: 85 Prozent der Bevölkerung hat Zugang zum Internet.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Kenias, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Die Technologie- und Gründerszene Kenias hat es trotz der guten Ausgangslage bisher nicht geschafft, den großen Erfolg von MPesa an anderer Stelle zu wiederholen. Eine enge Partnerschaft mit Deutschland, das jüngst von Bloomberg zur innovativsten Volkswirtschaft der Welt gekürt wurde, könnte hier für Kenia hilfreich sein.

Kenia ist als regionaler Hub an Stabilität in seinem Umfeld interessiert und engagiert sich daher stark im multilateralen Rahmen. So beteiligt sich Kenia an der Friedensmission der Afrikanischen Union (AU) in Somalia und trägt damit zur Sicherung einer der weltweit wichtigsten Handelsrouten am Horn von Afrika bei.

Durch die in den beiden letzten Dekaden exponentiell angestiegenen Investitionen Chinas hat sich die westliche Orientierung Kenias zwar abgeschwächt, das Land ist aber weit davon entfernt, ein „Vasall“ Chinas zu werden. Im Gegenteil wägt Kenia klug zwischen den potenziellen Partnern ab.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Kenia aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Kenia hat als einziges Land der Ostafrikanischen Gemeinschaft (EAC) das 2014 mit der EU ausgehandelte Wirtschaftspartnerschaftsabkommen (EPA) ratifiziert. Dieses EPA ist ein entscheidender Baustein für die zukünftigen Handelsbeziehungen Deutschlands mit Afrika, da das Cotonou-Abkommen, welches den meisten Staaten Subsahara-Afrikas inklusive Kenia bisher einseitigen präferenziellen Zugang zum europäischen Markt ermöglicht, 2020 ausläuft. Da Kenia als einziger Staat der EAC nicht mehr zur Gruppe der am wenigsten entwickelten Länder zählt, kann es nach Auslaufen des Abkommens nicht die Vorteile der europäischen Initiative Alles außer Waffen nutzen, unter der 33 afrikanische Staaten zoll- und quotenfreien Zugang zum europäischen Markt erhalten. Nur ein gegenseitiges Abkommen wie das EPA würde weiterhin WTO-konformen bevorzugten Zugang zum europäischen Markt ermöglichen.

Wahr ist aber auch, dass es in Kenia widerstrebende handelspolitische Interessen gibt. Auf der einen Seite schützen einflussreiche Gruppen ihre Partikularinteressen durch Zölle und nicht-tarifäre Handelshemmnisse. Und Misstrauen gegenüber Nachbarstaaten, zu denen aktuell ohnehin keine guten politischen Beziehungen bestehen, macht die Umsetzung regionalen Freihandels in naher Zukunft unwahrscheinlich. Hinzu kommt, dass im Schatten der Corona-Pandemie verstärkt Argumente gegen eine weitere Marktöffnung verfangen, was auch Fortschritte bei der Afrikanischen Freihandelszone (AfCFTA) erschweren dürfte.

Auf der anderen Seite gibt es durchaus Interesse an mehr Handel mit Deutschland und Europa, insbesondere in der auf den Export ausgerichteten Agrarindustrie, aber auch in der Start-up-Szene, die auf Investoren aus dem Westen angewiesen ist. So ist etwa das deutsche Unternehmen Rocket Internet in Kenia sehr aktiv und hat mit Jumia den größten Online-Händler Afrikas aufgebaut.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Kenia in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Besonders in der Agrarindustrie besteht großes Potenzial für eine intensivere Zusammenarbeit. Moderne Agrartechnik und innovative Anbaumethoden werden nachgefragt. Bisher werden in Europa jedoch nur solche Produkte im größeren Umfang abgenommen, die nicht mit subventionierten europäischen Produkten konkurrieren, insbesondere Schnittblumen, Kaffee und Tee. Aufgrund der globalen Transporteinschränkungen infolge der Corona-Pandemie ist der Agrarexport Kenias zeitweise völlig zusammengebrochen. Noch ist unklar, ob die ursprünglichen Strukturen wiederhergestellt werden können. Dieser Prozess kann jedoch auch dazu genutzt werden, die Exporte zu diversifizieren.

Neben zahlreichen Start-ups existieren in Kenia auch viele kleine Betriebe der Leichtindustrie, die dank einer vergleichsweise guten Infrastruktur in Wertschöpfungsketten der deutschen Industrie eingebunden werden könnten. Kenias Potenzial ließe sich jedoch erst dann komplett ausschöpfen, wenn zumindest regionaler Freihandel erreicht wäre. Eine noch darüber hinausgehende Integration im Rahmen der AfCFTA würde die Bedeutung Kenias als Investitions- und Technologiestandort weiter stärken.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Deutschland sollte sich auf europäischer Ebene weiter für Handelsabkommen mit afrikanischen Staaten einsetzen. Ob das EPA zwischen der EU und der EAC hierfür noch das beste Mittel ist, sollte geprüft werden. Bei anhaltender Blockade durch die anderen Mitgliedstaaten der EAC könnte der regionale Ansatz zunächst in den Hintergrund treten und die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit mit Kenia stärker in den Fokus genommen werden.

Das Entstehen der AfCFTA sollte konstruktiv und mit langem Atem begleitet werden. Für Kenia sowie für deutsche Firmen, die aus Kenia heraus den gesamten Kontinent bedienen könnten, wäre die Umsetzung ein Segen. Jedoch dürfen die weiter bestehenden gegenläufigen Interessen der Eliten vieler afrikanischer Staaten (auch Kenias) nicht wohlwollend ignoriert werden. Eine schnelle Umsetzung ist somit nicht zu erwarten. Bei erfolgreicher Implementierung sollte sich Deutschland jedoch für die Aufnahme von Verhandlungen eines umfassenden EU-AU-Abkommens starkmachen.

Angesichts der Tatsache, dass zwei Drittel der kenianischen Exporte Agrarprodukte sind, bedeutet ein solches Vorhaben auch ein radikales Umdenken in der Gemeinsamen Agrarpolitik der EU. Ein zoll- und quotenfreier Zugang Kenias und anderer Staaten Subsahara-Afrikas zum europäischen Markt ist nur wenig wert, wenn der Wettbewerb durch die Subventionierung europäischer Produzenten verzerrt wird. Gerade im Bereich der Milch- und Fleischproduktion sowie bei Obst- und Gemüsesorten, die auch in Europa erzeugt werden, hätte Kenia großes Potenzial als Lieferant.

Im Agrarbereich sollten Investitionen in eine stärkere Technisierung und Intensivierung der konventionellen und ökologischen Landwirtschaft gefördert werden, anstatt weiterhin die kleinräumigen und eher auf Subsistenz ausgerichteten Strukturen zu festigen. Deutschland mit seinen Stärken in Landwirtschaft, Nahrungsmittelindustrie und Landmaschinenbau könnte hier in allen Phasen der Wertschöpfungskette profitieren.

Im Technologiebereich hat Kenia trotz beeindruckender Entwicklungen noch große Baustellen zu bewältigen. Wie auch anderenorts in Afrika ist für kleine Unternehmen und damit auch für Start-ups der Zugang zu Kapital besonders beschwerlich oder gar unmöglich. Innovationen werden so im Keim erstickt. Über deutsche und europäische Förderbanken könnten zusätzliche Zugänge zu Kapital geschaffen werden, die auch eine längerfristige Finanzierung ermöglichen. Hierbei darf aber nicht ignoriert werden, dass Korruption auf allen Ebenen des Staates weiterhin der zentrale Bremser für Innovation und Investitionen ist. Hier muss die deutsche Außen- und Entwicklungspolitik mit einem langfristigen Ansatz konsequent gegensteuern.

Ergänzend sollten Strukturen für den Wissensaustausch zwischen Deutschland und Kenia geschaffen werden wie die in Gründung befindliche deutsch-kenianische Fachhochschule. Von diesem Austausch mit der jungen Bevölkerung Kenias würde auch die Innovationsfähigkeit Deutschlands enorm profitieren.

Jan Cernicky leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Kenia.
Gunter Rieck Moncayo ist Referent „Wirtschaft Subsahara-Afrika“ in der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit.

KENIA

  • Population: 53.771.296
  • Capital: Nairobi
  • Interesse: Die Wahrung unseres Wohlstands durch freien Handel und Innovation
  • Region: Afrika südlich der Sahara
  • Potenzielle Pratnerländer: Äthiopien, Botswana, Ghana, Kenia, Mosambik, Ruanda, Südafrika

04 — Die Region

Afrika südlich der Sahara

logo

SÜDAFRIKA

Laut Bundesminister Müller soll Afrika zum „grünen Kontinent der erneuerbaren Energien“ werden. Südafrika, die entwickelteste Volkswirtschaft des Kontinents, verfolgt in diesem Bereich ehrgeizige Ziele, welche in Deutschland ähnlich debattiert werden, so zum Beispiel die drastische Minderung des CO2-Ausstoßes, die Verringerung der massiven Abhängigkeit von Kohle und die Einführung einer Karbonsteuer.

  • Population: 59.308.690
  • Capital: Bloemfontain, Kapstadt, Pretoria
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KENIA

Kenia ist der stabilste Staat Ostafrikas und eine nach Westen ausgerichtete Marktwirtschaft. Mit einem konstant starken Wirtschaftswachstum in den zwölf Jahren vor der Corona-Krise und einem BIP in Höhe von knapp 88 Milliarden US-Dollar (2018) ist Kenia die größte Volkswirtschaft in Ostafrika und ein Wachstumsmotor für die gesamte Region. Auch dank des Hafens Mombasa und des Flughafens in Nairobi ist das Land ein wichtiger Hub im Handel und im Finanzwesen. Viele internationale Unternehmen haben Kenia als Sitz ihrer (Ost)Afrika-Niederlassungen gewählt.

  • Population: 53.771.296
  • Capital: Nairobi
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

GHANA

Nicht nur die Bereitschaft Ghanas, sich auf Reformen im wirtschafts- und finanzpolitischen Sektor einzulassen, auch die vor allem im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Subsahara-Afrika-Ländern relativ stabilen Rahmenbedingungen ließen aus Sicht der G20 und speziell Deutschlands (bei der Reformpartnerschaft) Ghana zu einem interessanten Partner werden.

  • Population: 31.072.940
  • Capital: Accra
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

NIGERIA

Mit etwa 200 Millionen Einwohnern ist Nigeria nicht nur das größte Land Afrikas, sondern auch seit einigen Jahren die größte Volkswirtschaft des Kontinents. Das Land ist reich an Öl- und Gasvorkommen und zählt zu den größten Erdölexporteuren der Welt. Dennoch steht Nigeria vor immensen Sicherheits- und Wirtschaftsproblemen, die infolge der Corona-Pandemie größer werden und mittel- bis langfristig die gesamte Region weiter destabilisieren und Europa vor große Herausforderungen stellen könnten. Das betrifft sowohl das europäische Interesse, die Staaten des Sahel bei ihrem Kampf gegen den Terrorismus zu unterstützen, als auch die irreguläre Migration aus Afrika zu reduzieren.

  • Population: 206.139.589
  • Capital: Abuja
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

NIGER

Niger ist ein wichtiges Transitland für Migranten aus Afrika in Richtung der Mittelmeerküste. Die sogenannte zentrale Mittelmeeroute in Richtung der algerischen und libyschen Grenze und weiter an die Küste des Mittelmeers. Darüber hinaus ist Niger auch Durchgangsland für Rückkehrer aus Libyen oder für aus Algerien ausgewiesene afrikanische Migranten. Deutschland wie die EU insgesamt haben ein erhebliches Interesse, Niger als eine der Drehscheiben der afrikanischen Migration bei der Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen zu unterstützen sowie illegale Migrationsströme möglichst nahe ihres Ursprungs zu unterbinden.

  • Population: 24.206.644
  • Capital: Niamey
MEHR ERFAHREN