PARTNER-ATLAS

KAZAKHSTAN

as a partner for the security and stability of Europe, its neighbourhood, and other regions of the world

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Kazakhstan have for Germany with regards to “the security and stability of Europe, its neighbourhood, and other regions of the world?"

Pursuing a multi-vector policy, the country’s leadership has built close economic and political ties to its big neighbours Russia and China, but also to the US and the European Union as well as to the Arab world, Turkey, South Corea, Iran and others. By now, Kazakhstan has also established diplomatic relations to many countries in Africa and South America. For Kazakhstan, there is no alternative to its multi-vector policy. The country needs to come up with a response to China’s Belt and Road Initiative. Germany and the European Union need to offer a clear strategy of cooperation to those countries that are wooed by China or that are already part of the initiative, in order to curb the growing Chinese geopolitical influence. Other important geopolitical issues are the competition for power between China, Russia and the US, with particular emphasis on the Russian influence on the region, as well as islamism and terrorism.

Kazakhstan has signed an Enhanced Partnership and Cooperation Agreement with the European Union, which took effect on 1 March, 2020. The new agreement does not only deal with economic questions, but also extends to cooperation in international security aspects. For Germany and the European Union, therefore, Kazakhstan remains the anchor of stability in security policy matters in Central Asia.

Kazakhstan’s engagement in foreign and security policy is reflected in its numerous memberships in international organisations. The country is a member of the United Nations (UN, elected member of the Security Council in 2017/18), the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE, which it chaired in 2010), the World Trade Organisation (WTO, since 2015), the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), the Organisation for Economic Cooperation (ECO), the Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation Programme (CAREC), the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO), the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC, chair in 2011) and the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO).

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Kazakhstan willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

Even today, Kazakhstan sees Russia as its primary strategic partner in matters of security policy. However, there is a clear willingness to cooperate with the European Union and Germany, in keeping with the concept of the multi-vector policy. Kazakhstan was the only Central Asian country to have been significantly involved in both the development and implementation of the first EU Central Asia strategy (2007). Kazakhstan also played a leading role in developing the new EU Central Asia strategy, which was adopted by the Council of the European Union on 17 June 2019.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Kazakhstan's current cooperation in this area?

On the one hand, Kazakhstan cooperates with Germany through their joint membership in multilateral organizations, such as the UN and OSCE. For decades, however, there has also been bilateral cooperation, based on issues of mutual concern, such as preventing arms proliferation as well as putting an end to the trafficking of people, arms and drugs. In these efforts, Kazakhstan cooperates with German authorities, especially with the Federal Criminal Police Office and the German Foreign Intelligence Service.

As early as in April 1995, Germany and Kazakhstan signed an agreement, in Almaty, on the fight against organised crime. The resolution sets out the terms of cooperation across the entire range of security policy, from the fight against terrorism and organised crime to cyber defense and counterfeiting. It also provides for the exchange of experts and the sharing of personal data.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Kazakhstan in this area?

Germany recognised Kazakhstan’s independence on 31 December 1991. There have been diplomatic relations between the two countries since 11 February 1992. Since then, cooperation has been continuously intensified, including in security matters. Especially at the bilateral level, progress can be achieved in the fight against terrorism and other types of crime. There is an active debate between the Kazakh foreign ministry and the German ministry of the interior on the issue of ethnic Germans living in Kazakhstan. The decades of cooperation based on mutual trust provide the potential for expanding the discussion of security policy issues both in thematic and organisational terms.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

There is still room for improvement as far as cooperation between Germany and Kazakhstan on economic and political issues is concerned. There has to be a much clearer recognition of Kazakhstan’s role as a strategic partner. The partnership on raw materials and technology that was concluded in 2012, for example, has basically existed only on paper so far. The political dialogue with Germany and the European Union needs to be strengthened, especially between the parliaments – which is one of the major goals the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation pursues in its work in the country.

Johannes D. Rey heads the KAS office in Kazakhstan.

Last update: September 14th, 2021

KAZAKHSTAN

  • Population: appr. 19 million
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
  • Interest: The Security and Stability of Europe, its Neighbourhood, and other Regions of the World
  • Region: Asia and the Pacific
  • Potential partner countries: Australia, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Singapore, South Korea, Philippines, Japan, Uzbekistan

04 — The region

Asia and the Pacific

logo

JAPAN

For Germany, Japan is one of the most important economic and value partners in Asia. In addition to the wish for jointly maintaining and further developing the multilateral order, there is also the desire for closer cooperation in future technologies. Japan and Germany face similar challenges, particularly in regard to the future of industrial production and the demographic development of their societies.

  • Population: 126,476,461
  • Capital: Tokyo
LEARN MORE
logo

INDIA

Germany has a vital interest in maintaining and consolidating a world order based on the values of liberal democracy and on the centrality of the United Nations (UN). Given the USA’s global withdrawal, which the coronavirus pandemic has made even more evident, Germany needs to pursue this goal together with other international partners. With the Indo-Pacific Guidelines that were released in September 2020, the Federal Government expressly commits itself to this task in the region that is taking centre stage in the 21st century. India’s importance can hardly be overestimated in this respect: India is already the largest democracy in the world, and within the next decade it will replace China as the most populous country. Like Germany, the subcontinent at the Indo-Pacific interface is dependent on a solid security structure, an open trading system, and free navigation in international waters. India is severely affected by the consequences of global warming due to its vulnerable ecosystems and is reliant on multilateral approaches to solve this global problem.

  • Population: 1,380,004,385
  • Capital: New Delhi
LEARN MORE
logo

AFGHANISTAN

For decades, Afghanistan was the country with the largest diaspora in the world. In 2015, this position was taken by Syria. Afghanistan looks back on 40 years of fleeing refugees, emigration and expulsion due to civil war, violence and destroyed livelihoods. Since 2001, the country has been one of Germany’s most important security partners in the Middle East. Afghanistan is also a reliable partner in migration policy and has never used migration flows as political leverage.

  • Population: 38,928,346
  • Capital: Kabul
LEARN MORE
logo

KAZAKHSTAN

The Expo 2017 world exhibition, a non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council (2018), the peace talks on Syria: no country in Central Asia is as oriented towards Europe and Germany as Kazakhstan. Nevertheless, much of what has happened recently in Kazakhstan and Central Asia has remained below Germany’s threshold of perception.

  • Population: appr. 19 million
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
LEARN MORE
logo

VIETNAM

Vietnam is one of the few communist countries. A “socialist-oriented market economy” determines the country’s economic status, the communist party vigorously enforces its claim to total power, and the country is subject to fierce criticism in reports on human rights. At the same time, more than three decades of economic growth and political stability have led to Vietnam establishing itself as an influential player in Southeast Asia. An early and vigorous response to the coronavirus crisis has so far managed to limit the dangers to health and the economy.

  • Population: 95,529,003
  • Capital: Hanoi
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

KASACHSTAN

Als Partner für die Sicherheit und Stabilität Europas, seiner Nachbarschaft und anderer Weltregionen

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Kasachstan für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Sicherheit und Stabilität Europas, seiner Nachbarschaft und anderer Weltregionen" zu verwirklichen?

Mit der Multi-Vektoren-Politik hat die Führung des Landes enge wirtschaftliche und politische Kontakte zu seinen großen Nachbarn Russland und China, aber auch zu den USA und der Europäischen Union sowie in die arabische Welt, die Türkei, Südkorea, Iran u.a. auf- und ausgebaut. Inzwischen hat Kasachstan auch diplomatische Beziehungen zu vielen Staaten in Afrika und Südamerika aufgenommen. Die Multi-Vektoren-Politik ist für Kasachstan alternativlos. Es gilt Antworten auf die Neue Seidenstraße-Initiative der chinesischen Regierung zu finden. Deutschland und die Europäische Union müssen hier den umworbenen bzw. beteiligten Ländern eine klare Strategie der Zusammenarbeit anbieten, um den wachsenden geopolitischen Einfluss Chinas einzugrenzen. Weitere wichtige geopolitische Themen sind u.a. die Machtkonkurrenz zwischen China, Russland und USA unter besonderer Berücksichtigung des Einflusses Russlands auf die Region sowie Islamismus und Terrorismus.

Mit der Europäischen Union hat Kasachstan ein erweitertes Partnerschafts- und Kooperationsabkommen abgeschlossen, welches am 01. März 2020 in Kraft trat. In dem neuen Abkommen geht es nicht nur um Wirtschaftsfragen, sondern auch um die Kooperation bei internationalen Sicherheitsaspekten. Für Deutschland und die Europäischen Union bleibt Kasachstan damit der sicherheitspolitische Stabilitätsanker in Zentralasien.

Kasachstans außen- und sicherheitspolitisches Engagement spiegelt sich durch zahlreiche Mitgliedschaften in internationalen Organisationen wider. Das Land ist u.a. Mitglied der Vereinten Nationen (UN, gewähltes Mitglied des Sicherheitsrats 2017/18), der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSCE, Vorsitz 2010), der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO, seit 2015), der Eurasischen Wirtschaftsunion (EAWU), der Organisation für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit (ECO), des Programms für Regionale Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit in Zentralasien (CAREC), der Organisation zur Kollektiven Sicherheit (CSTO), der Organisation für Islamische Zusammenarbeit (OIC, Vorsitz 2011) und der Shanghaier Organisation für Zusammenarbeit (SCO).

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Kasachstans, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Auch heute noch sieht Kasachstan Russland als seinen ersten strategischen Partner in Fragen der Sicherheitspolitik an. Dennoch ist die Bereitschaft groß im Sinne der Multi-Vektoren-Politik mit der Europäischen Union und Deutschland zusammenzuarbeiten. Sowohl bei der Entwicklung als auch bei der Implementierung der ersten EU-Zentralasienstrategie (2007) war Kasachstan das einzige zentralasiatische Land, welches signifikant an einer Realisierung mitgearbeitet hat. Führend war Kasachstan auch an der Ausarbeitung der neuen EU-Zentralasienstrategie beteiligt, die am 17. Juni 2019 vom Rat der Europäischen Union angenommen wurde.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Kasachstan aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Eine Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschland erfolgt von kasachischer Seite zum einen über die gemeinsame Mitgliedschaft in multilateralen Organisationen wie UN und OSZE. Sie erfolgt aber seit Jahrzehnten auch bilateral entlang gemeinsamer Themen, zum Beispiel bei der Verhinderung von Proliferation sowie die Unterbindung von Menschen-, Waffen- und Drogenhandel. Dabei wird mit deutschen Behörden zusammengearbeitet, insbesondere auch mit dem Bundeskriminalamt und dem Bundesnachrichtendienst.

Bereits am 10. April 1995 haben Deutschland und Kasachstan ein Abkommen zur Bekämpfung Organisierter Kriminalität in Almaty unterzeichnet. Der Beschluss unterhält eine Zusammenarbeit über die gesamte Breite der Sicherheitspolitik, von der Bekämpfung von Terrorismus und Organisierter Kriminalität bis hin zur Cyberabwehr und Fälschungsdelikten. Dabei ist der Austausch von Fachleuten und personenbezogenen Daten vorgesehen.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Kasachstan diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Die Unabhängigkeit Kasachstans wurde von Deutschland am 31. Dezember 1991 anerkannt. Seit dem 11. Februar 1992 gibt es diplomatische Beziehungen zwischen beiden Ländern. Seitdem ist die Kooperation, auch im Sicherheitsbereich, stetig vertieft worden. Gerade im bilateralen Verhältnis lassen sich bei der Terrorbekämpfung und anderen Bereichen der Kriminalitätsbekämpfung Fortschritte erzielen. Zwischen dem kasachischen Außenministerium und dem deutschen Innenministerium gibt es einen regen Austausch hinsichtlich der ethnischen Deutschen in Kasachstan. Die jahrzehntelange vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit birgt das Potenzial für eine thematische und organisatorische Ausweitung sicherheitspolitischer Themen.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Kasachstan ist in Wirtschaft und Politik ausbaufähig. Wichtig ist, Kasachstan noch stärker als strategischen Partner wahrzunehmen. So gibt es z.B. seit 2012 eine Rohstoff- und Technologiepartnerschaft, die nicht wirklich mit Leben gefüllt wird. Es gilt den politischen Dialog mit Deutschland und der Europäischen Union zu stärken, insbesondere zwischen den Parlamenten – eine der Hauptaufgaben der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung vor Ort.

Johannes D. Rey leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Kasachstan.

Aktualisiert am: 23.08.2021

KASACHSTAN

  • Population: knapp 19 Mio
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan

POTENZIELLER WERBEPARTNER FÜR:

  • Interesse: Die Sicherheit und Stabilität Europas, seiner Nachbarschaft und anderer Weltregionen
  • Region: Asien und Pazifik
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Australien, Indien, Indonesien, Kasachstan, Singapur, Südkorea, Philippinen, Japan, Usbekistan

02 — Auslandsbüro

Kontakt:

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung
Länderbüro Kasachstan
Kabanbai Batyr Str. 6/3 - 82
010001 Astana

04 — Die Region

Asien und Pazifik

logo

JAPAN

In Japan sind die Folgen des Klimawandels deutlich zu spüren und die Klimaschutzziele sind ohne einem Politikwechsel nicht zu erreichen. Im Energieplan der japanischen Regierung ist ebenso festgeschrieben, dass effizientere und vernetzte Energiesysteme entwickelt werden müssen. Gemessen an der verfügbaren Technik sind die Herausforderungen und Kosten diesbezüglich noch hoch. Hier liegt enormes Kooperationspotenzial: gemeinsame Lösungen, die innovativ und flexibel die Integration verschiedener Energiequellen bieten.

  • Population: 126.476.461
  • Capital: Tokio
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

INDIEN

Deutschland hat ein vitales Interesse daran, eine Weltordnung, die auf den Werten der liberalen Demokratie und der Zentralität der Vereinten Nationen (VN) beruht, zu bewahren und zu festigen. Indiens Bedeutung ist dabei kaum zu überschätzen: Bereits jetzt ist Indien die größte Demokratie der Welt – und inner­halb des neuen Jahrzehnts wird es China als bevölkerungsreichstes Land ablösen.

  • Population: 1.380.004.385
  • Capital: Neu-Delhi
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

AFGHANISTAN

Afghanistan war jahrzehntelang das Land mit der größten Diaspora weltweit. 2015 wurde es von Syrien abgelöst. Afghanistan blickt auf 40 Jahre Flucht, Auswanderung und Vertreibung aufgrund von Bürgerkrieg, Gewalt und zerstörten Lebensgrundlagen zurück. Seit 2001 ist das Land einer der wichtigsten sicherheitspolitischen Partner Deutschlands im Mittleren Osten. Auch in der Migrationspolitik ist Afghanistan ein verlässlicher Partner und hat Migrationsströme nie als politisches Druckmittel eingesetzt.

  • Population: 38.928.346
  • Capital: Kabul
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KASACHSTAN

Die Weltausstellung Expo 2017, ein nichtständiger Sitz im Sicherheitsrat der Vereinten Nationen (2018), die Friedensgespräche zu Syrien: Kein Land in Zentralasien orientiert sich so in Richtung Europa und Deutschland wie Kasachstan. Trotzdem blieb vieles, was in Kasachstan und Zentralasien auch in jüngster Zeit geschehen ist, in Deutschland unterhalb der Wahrnehmungsschwelle. Dabei ist besonders Kasachstan in vielen strategischen Fragen von zunehmender Bedeutung.

  • Population: knapp 19 Mio
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

VIETNAM

Vietnam ist eines von wenigen kommunistischen Ländern. Eine „sozialistisch orientierte Markt­wirtschaft“ bestimmt die Ökonomie des Landes, die kommunistische Partei setzt ihren Allmacht­sanspruch rigoros durch – und in Berichten zu Menschenrechten wird heftige Kritik an dem Land geübt. Gleichzeitig führten das mehr als drei Jahrzehnte andauernde Wirtschaftswachs­tum und politische Stabilität dazu, dass sich Viet­nam als einflussreicher Akteur in Südostasien etabliert hat.

  • Population: 95.529.003
  • Capital: Hanoi
MEHR ERFAHREN