PARTNER-ATLAS

IRAQ

as a partner for securing essential natural resources and protecting the climate

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Iraq have for Germany with regards to "securing essential resources and protecting the climate"?

Iraq has the world’s fifth largest oil and twelfth largest natural gas reserves. The country is a founding member of the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and, in recent years, has become its second largest producer. The Iraqi government considers to further expand the oil and gas sector in the coming years, thereby increasing production capacities even more, although experts as well as members of the government call for diversifying the Iraqi economic and energy sector

Iraq plays an important role in the stability of global energy markets, which is also of great importance for Germany as a successful technology and export nation.

Iraq is also a country that is significantly affected by climate change and the related consequences, for example regarding water supply. In addition to rising temperatures, these include prolonged periods of drought, widespread desertification and the salinisation and decrease in the flow rate of rivers. Both the Tigris and Euphrates originate in eastern Turkey, whose dam projects are causing further conflicts over water in the region. Similarly, Iranian dams have reduced the flow of water in two major rivers running through the northeast of Iraq and joining the Tigris. In addition, pollution and the absence of a wastewater infrastructure make it difficult to supply the population with drinking water. Last but not least, the oil industry is contributing to water scarcity due to the high water consumption needed for oil production.

Moreover, Iraq has so far been meeting more than 90 percent of its growing domestic energy needs with fossil fuels. There is also a significant need for modernisation in the areas of energy efficiency and pipeline stability. Iraq is therefore also relevant for Germany when it comes to implementing a comprehensive climate protection policy, where countries are supported in reducing their CO2 emissions and in dealing with the consequences of climate change.

Germany also has an interest in Iraq becoming firmly established as a long-term anchor of stability in the Middle East. The chances of success of such an undertaking depend not only on domestic and security policy challenges and the immediate fight against the consequences of the coronavirus pandemic, but also on whether the country succeeds in modernising its energy sector, thereby generating socioeconomic prospects, ensuring security of supply, and dealing with ecological challenges, particularly as far as water is concerned.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Iraq willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

Germany and Iraq have close and friendly relations, especially in the economic sector. Germany is highly regarded for its expertise in industry and technology, especially in the energy sector. In addition to being recognised for its economic cooperation, Germany also enjoys a high reputation in Iraq for its support in the fight against the so-called Islamic State (IS).

In general, the Iraqi government is prepared to fully support foreign investors. The electricity and water sectors are given priority. The need for action is considerable here and this is also partly reflected in corresponding national strategies. In 2014, the Iraqi Ministry of Water Resources developed a strategy for water and land resources in Iraq (SWLRI), which includes measures for water, food and energy security, along with environmental protection, for the period 2015 to 2035. The government’s projects would require 4 billion US dollars per year. Iraq also plans to source 10 percent of its electricity from renewable energies by 2028. The investment required for this is estimated at 50 billion US dollars. In the long term, the share of renewable energies is to be increased to up to 40 percent.

The possibility of successfully implementing these strategies depends not only on issues of political stability but also on the availability of expertise and capacities. There is scope here for sustainable and long-term partner projects within the framework of German-Iraqi cooperation.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Iraq 's current cooperation in this area?

The current focus of German engagement in Iraq is primarily on humanitarian issues and security policy. Since 2014, at the peak of the IS reign of terror, the German Federal Government had provided more than 1.7 billion euros for humanitarian aid, stabilisation measures, and long-term development cooperation. This makes Germany the second largest donor after the USA. However, only about 4 percent of the BMZ’s total budget for Iraq has so far been allocated to local and selective infrastructure projects in the areas of water and wastewater.

Energy policy cooperation with Iraq is currently focusing on modernising the power grid and developing power plant capacity, but also with the aim of reducing CO2 emissions and thus contributing to climate protection. The private sector is also playing a central role in this. An example of this is the German technology group, Siemens, receiving an initial order worth 700 million euros for the construction of a gas-fired power plant near Baghdad, as part of the Iraqi road map for reconstructing the power grid. The country plans to invest a total of 12 billion euros in its power grid.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Iraq in this area?

Basically, there is an urgent need for investment in almost all public sectors in Iraq, including electricity and water supply, which is still suffering from the destruction of decades of war and conflict.

The reconstruction and strengthening of these infrastructures create opportunities for German-Iraqi cooperation projects: both in public development cooperation with respect to reconstruction aid or in improving the water supply for the Iraqi population, and in the private sector, as is evident from Siemens’ commitment to the Iraqi energy sector. Projects that have already begun – such as those aimed at stabilising the drinking water and sanitation supply for refugee camps and surrounding host communities in the Autonomous Region of Kurdistan (ARK) – provide a model for larger-scale infrastructure projects for the whole of Iraq.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

Iraq faces significant challenges that the country is not able to meet on its own and that are not limited to water scarcity, the consequences of climate change and a deficient energy infrastructure.

Nevertheless, Germany should continue to expand its engagement in these sectors with specific projects. This should also include intensive support for Iraq in building up capacity for monitoring the implementation of national strategies in these sectors, on the basis of which problems can be identified and followed up on during operational implementation.

The protests in Iraq that have been ongoing since October 2019 are also driven by the population’s dissatisfaction with a poor water and electricity supply. Improvements in these areas are a prerequisite for diversifying the Iraqi economy, reducing its dependence on oil (and not just when oil prices are on the decline) and creating much-needed jobs. Political reforms and anti-corruption measures also need to be implemented in Iraq in order to stabilise the country – in addition to strengthening the ailing healthcare sector in the wake of the fight against the coronavirus pandemic. Germany should thus actively call for Iraq to address these issues, while pointing out that, otherwise, the engagement of the German private sector and the implementation of development policy projects will be made considerably more difficult.

Only if progress is made in alleviating the country’s key socioeconomic and environmental problems and in creating a new basis of political legitimacy, can Iraq become an anchor of stability in the Middle East and a partner for dealing with global resources and climate issues.

Gregor Jaecke heads the KAS Syria / Iraq office; Judith Butzer was a research assistant at the KAS Syria / Iraq office.

IRAQ

  • Population: 40,263,275
  • Capital: Bagdad
  • Interest: Securing Essential Natural Resources and Protecting the Climate
  • Region: The Middle East and North Africa
  • Potential partner countries: Algeria, Iraq, Morocco, Qatar, Saudi Arabia

04 — The region

The Middle East and North Africa

logo

SAUDI ARABIA

The relevance of Saudi Arabia for Germany’s economic interests results from the country’s fundamental importance for stability and development in the Near and Middle East, the efforts to modernise its economy, and its oil wealth.

  • Population: 34,813,871
  • Capital: Riyadh
LEARN MORE
logo

IRAQ

Iraq has the world’s fifth largest oil and twelfth largest natural gas reserves. The country is a founding member of the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and, in recent years, has become its second largest producer. The Iraqi government considers to further expand the oil and gas sector in the coming years, thereby increasing production capacities even more, although experts as well as members of the government call for diversifying the Iraqi economic and energy sector.

  • Population: 40,263,275
  • Capital: Bagdad
LEARN MORE
logo

ALGERIA

In terms of area, Algeria is the largest country in Africa and a key security player in the Sahel. Algeria works intensively with the countries of the region on security issues. This is undertaken within the framework of the respective bilateral relations as well as via regional mechanisms, such as the Nouakchott Process of the African Union (AU), which supports the security policy cooperation of eleven states in West Africa, the Maghreb, and the Sahel.

  • Population: 43,886,707
  • Capital: Alger
LEARN MORE
logo

TUNISIA

Secularisation and modernisation have shaped Tunisia’s policies since independence in 1956, especially under the leadership of then President Habib Bourguiba, and continue to have an impact today. Recent representative surveys show that Tunisians feel that they belong first and foremost to their country, then to Islam, and only to a much lesser extent to the Arab world. A clear majority, especially in comparison to the neighbouring countries of Libya, Morocco, and Algeria, favour the separation of state and religion.

  • Population: 11,824128
  • Capital: Tunis
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

IRAK

Als Partner für die Sicherung wichtiger Ressourcen und der Schutz des Klimas

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Irak für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Sicherung wichtiger Ressourcen und der Schutz des Klimas" zu verwirklichen?

Der Irak besitzt weltweit die fünftgrößten Erdöl- und die zwölftgrößten Erdgasreserven. Das Land ist Gründungsmitglied der Organisation erdölexportierender Länder (OPEC) und dort in den letzten Jahren zum zweitgrößten Produzenten aufgestiegen. Für die kommenden Jahre erwägt die irakische Regierung, den Öl- und Gassektor weiter auszubauen und die Förderkapazitäten damit noch stärker zu erhöhen, obwohl Experten sowie Regierungsmitglieder eine Diversifizierung des irakischen Wirtschafts- und Energiesektors fordern. Der Irak spielt eine wichtige Rolle für die Stabilität der globalen Energiemärkte, die auch für Deutschland als erfolgreiche Technologie- und Exportnation von hoher Bedeutung ist.

Zudem ist der Irak ein Land, das in erheblichem Umfang vom Klimawandel und damit zusammenhängenden Folgen etwa im Bereich der Wasserversorgung betroffen ist. Neben steigenden Temperaturen zählen dazu langanhaltende Dürreperioden, weitläufige Wüstenbildung, die Versalzung der Flüsse sowie eine Abnahme ihrer Durchflussmenge. Sowohl Tigris als auch Euphrat entspringen im Osten der Türkei, deren Staudammprojekte für weitere Wasserkonflikte in der Region sorgen. Auch iranische Staudämme verringern die Wassermenge zweier wichtiger Flüsse, die durch den Nordosten des Iraks fließen und schließlich im Tigris münden. Zusätzlich erschweren Verschmutzung und eine fehlende Abwasserinfrastruktur die Versorgung der Bevölkerung mit Trinkwasser. Nicht zuletzt trägt die Ölwirtschaft aufgrund des hohen Wasserverbrauchs der Ölförderung zur Wasserknappheit bei.

Der Irak deckt darüber hinaus seinen steigenden einheimischen Energiebedarf bisher zu mehr als 90 Prozent aus fossilen Energieträgern. Erheblichen Modernisierungsbedarf gibt es zudem in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und Leitungsstabilität. Der Irak ist damit auch relevant für Deutschland, wenn es um die Umsetzung einer ganzheitlichen Klimaschutzpolitik geht, bei der Länder unterstützt werden, ihre CO2-Emissionen zu reduzieren und mit den Folgen des Klimawandels umzugehen.

Deutschland hat zudem auch ein Interesse daran, dass sich der Irak nachhaltig festigt und perspektivisch zu einem Stabilitätsanker in der Nahostregion wird. Die Erfolgsaussichten eines solchen Unterfangens hängen neben innen- und sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen sowie der unmittelbaren Bekämpfung der Folgen der Corona-Pandemie auch davon ab, ob es dem Land gelingt, seinen Energiesektor zu modernisieren und damit sozioökonomische Perspektiven zu schaffen, Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten sowie mit ökologischen Herausforderungen insbesondere auch im Wasserbereich umzugehen.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft des Iraks, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Zwischen Deutschland und dem Irak bestehen enge und freundschaftliche Beziehungen, vor allem auch im Wirtschaftsbereich. Dabei wird die deutsche Expertise in Industrie und Technologie, besonders im Energiesektor, hoch angesehen. Neben der Anerkennung für die gute wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit genießt Deutschland auch durch seine Unterstützung im Kampf gegen den sogenannten Islamischen Staat (IS) ein hohes Ansehen im Irak.

Generell ist die irakische Regierung bereit, ausländische Investoren uneingeschränkt zu unterstützen. Priorität haben dabei in erster Linie der Strom- und Wassersektor. Der Handlungsbedarf ist hier erheblich, dies spiegelt sich zum Teil auch in entsprechenden nationalen Strategien wider. Das irakische Ministerium für Wasserressourcen entwickelte 2014 eine Strategie für Wasser- und Landressourcen im Irak (SWLRI), die Maßnahmen für den Zeitraum 2015 bis 2035 zu Wasser-, Nahrungs- und Energiesicherheit sowie Umweltschutz enthält. Pro Jahr wären für die Vorhaben der Regierung 4 Milliarden US-Dollar erforderlich. Darüber hinaus will der Irak bis 2028 10 Prozent seines Strombedarfs aus erneuerbaren Energien beziehen. Der hierfür nötige Investitionsbedarf wird auf 50 Milliarden US-Dollar geschätzt. Langfristig soll der Anteil erneuerbarer Energien auf bis zu 40 Prozent gesteigert werden.

Die Möglichkeit einer erfolgreichen Umsetzung dieser Strategien ist neben Fragen der politischen Stabilität auch von der Verfügbarkeit von Expertise und Kapazitäten abhängig. Hier bieten sich Spielräume für nachhaltige und langfristige Partnerprojekte der deutsch-irakischen Zusammenarbeit.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und dem Irak aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Der momentane Schwerpunkt des deutschen Engagements im Irak findet sich vor allem im humanitären und sicherheitspolitischen Bereich. Seit 2014, der Hochphase der IS-Schreckensherrschaft, stellte die Bundesregierung mehr als 1,7 Milliarden Euro für humanitäre Hilfe, Stabilisierungsmaßnahmen und langfristige Entwicklungszusammenarbeit bereit. Damit ist Deutschland nach den USA der zweitgrößte Geldgeber. Allerdings entfallen bisher nur etwa 4 Prozent des Gesamtbudgets des BMZ für den Irak auf lokale und punktuelle Infrastrukturprojekte in den Bereichen Wasser und Abwasser.

Die energiepolitische Zusammenarbeit mit dem Irak konzentriert sich aktuell auf die Modernisierung des Stromnetzes und den Aufbau von Kraftwerkskapazität – auch mit dem Ziel, CO2-Emissionen zu verringern und damit zum Klimaschutz beizutragen. Eine zentrale Rolle hierbei spielt auch der Privatsektor. Der deutsche Technologiekonzern Siemens etwa erhielt im Rahmen der irakischen Roadmap zum Wiederaufbau des Stromnetzes einen ersten Auftrag in Höhe von 700 Millionen Euro für den Bau eines Gaskraftwerks in der Nähe von Bagdad. Insgesamt will das Land 12 Milliarden Euro in sein Stromnetz investieren.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und dem Irak in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Grundsätzlich besteht im Irak dringender Investitionsbedarf in beinahe allen öffentlichen Bereichen, auch in der Elektrizitäts- und Wasserversorgung, die noch immer unter der Zerstörung durch jahrzehntelange Kriege und Konflikte leidet.

Der Wiederaufbau und die Stärkung dieser Infrastrukturen schaffen Möglichkeiten für Projekte der deutsch-irakischen Kooperation: sowohl in der öffentlichen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, wenn es um Wiederaufbauhilfen oder die Verbesserung der Wasserversorgung der irakischen Bevölkerung geht, als auch im privatwirtschaftlichen Bereich, wie das Engagement von Siemens im irakischen Energiesektor zeigt. Bereits begonnene Projekte – beispielsweise zur Stabilisierung der Trinkwasser- und Sanitärversorgung für Flüchtlingslager und umliegende Aufnahmegemeinden in der Autonomen Region Kurdistan (ARK) – bieten sich dabei als Vorbild für größer angelegte Infrastrukturvorhaben für den gesamten Irak an.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Der Irak steht vor erheblichen Herausforderungen, die das Land nicht alleine bewältigen kann und die sich nicht in Wasserknappheit, den Folgen des Klimawandels und einer defizitären Energieinfrastruktur erschöpfen. Dennoch sollte Deutschland sein Engagement in diesen Sektoren weiter über konkrete Projekte ausbauen. Dazu sollte auch eine intensive Unterstützung der irakischen Seite beim Aufbau von Kapazitäten zum Monitoring der Durchführung nationaler Strategien in diesen Bereichen gehören, auf deren Basis Probleme identifiziert und Nachsteuerung in der operativen Umsetzung vorgenommen werden können.

Die seit Oktober 2019 anhaltenden Proteste im Irak sind auch durch die Unzufriedenheit der Bevölkerung aufgrund der mangelhaften Versorgungslage mit Wasser und Strom getrieben. Verbesserungen in diesen Bereichen sind eine Voraussetzung für die Diversifizierung der irakischen Wirtschaft, die Reduzierung der Abhängigkeit vom Öl (und zwar nicht nur in Zeiten, in denen sich der Ölpreis auf Talfahrt befindet) sowie die Schaffung von dringend benötigten Arbeitsplätzen. Um eine Stabilisierung des Landes zu erreichen, müssen im Irak – neben der Stärkung des maroden Gesundheitssektors im Zuge der Bekämpfung der Corona-Pandemie – zudem politische Reformen und Maßnahmen zur Korruptionsbekämpfung durchgeführt werden. Diese Themen sollten daher von Deutschland aktiv von irakischer Seite eingefordert werden, auch mit dem Hinweis, dass andernfalls das Engagement des deutschen Privatsektors und die Durchführung entwicklungspolitischer Vorhaben erheblich erschwert werden.

Nur wenn es gelingt, Fortschritte in der Linderung der zentralen sozioökonomischen und ökologischen Probleme des Landes zu erreichen sowie eine neue politische Legitimationsbasis zu schaffen, kann der Irak ein Stabilitätsanker in der Nahostregion und ein Partner für die Bewältigung globaler Ressourcen und Klimafragen werden.

Gregor Jaecke leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien / Irak;
Judith Butzer war wissenschaftliche Assistentin im KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien / Irak.

IRAK

  • Population: 40.263.275
  • Capital: Bagdad
  • Interesse: Die Sicherung wichtiger Ressourcen und der Schutz des Klimas
  • Region: Naher Osten und Nordafrika
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Algerien, Irak, Katar, Marokko, Saudi-Arabien

04 — Die Region

Naher Osten und Nordafrika

logo

SAUDI-ARABIEN

Die Relevanz Saudi-Arabiens für Deutschlands Wirtschaftsinteressen ergibt sich aus der grundsätzlichen Bedeutung des Landes für Stabilität und Entwicklung im Nahen und Mittleren Osten, den Bestrebungen zur Modernisierung seiner Wirtschaft und seinem Ölreichtum.

  • Population: 34.813.871
  • Capital: Riyad
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

IRAK

Der Irak besitzt weltweit die fünftgrößten Erdöl-und die zwölftgrößten Erdgasreserven. Das Land ist Gründungsmitglied der Organisation erdölexportierender Länder (OPEC) und dort in den letzten Jahren zum zweitgrößten Produzenten aufgestiegen. Für die kommenden Jahre plant die irakische Regierung, den Öl- und Gassektor weiter auszubauen und die Förderkapazitäten damit noch stärker zu erhöhen. Damit spielt der Irak eine wichtige Rolle für die Stabilität der globalen Energiemärkte, die auch für Deutschland als erfolgreiche Technologie- und Exportnation von hoher Bedeutung ist.

  • Population: 40.263.275
  • Capital: Bagdad
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

ALGERIEN

Algerien ist flächenmäßig das größte Land Afrikas und ein sicherheitspolitischer Schlüsselakteur in der Sahelzone. Mit den Staaten der Region arbeitet Algerien in Sicherheitsfragen intensiv zusammen. Dies erfolgt im Rahmen der jeweils bilateralen Beziehungen sowie über regionale Mechanismen wie den Nouakchott- Prozess der Afrikanischen Union (AU), der die sicherheitspolitische Kooperation von elf Staaten in Westafrika, dem Maghreb und der Sahelzone unterstützt.

  • Population: 43.886.707
  • Capital: Alger
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

TUNESIEN

Säkularisierung und Modernisierung haben Tunesiens Politik nach der Unabhängigkeit im Jahr 1956 geprägt und entfalten ihre Wirkung bis heute. Repräsentative Umfragen zeigen, dass Tunesier sich in erster Linie ihrem Land, dann dem Islam und nur mit deutlich geringerer Zustimmung der arabischen Welt zugehörig fühlen. Eine deutliche Mehrheit – gerade auch im Vergleich zu den Nachbarländern Libyen, Marokko und Algerien – befürwortet eine Trennung von Staat und Religion.

  • Population: 11.824.128
  • Capital: Tunis
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

MAROKKO

Marokko hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einem wichtigen Partner Deutschlands in Migrationsfragen entwickelt. Das Königreich hat zum einen eine besondere Rolle innerhalb der Afrikanischen Union (AU) und der internationalen Gemeinschaft übernommen, zum anderen ist es selbst eines der Länder, in der Migration in unterschiedlicher Art und Weise stattfindet.

  • Population: 36.930.188
  • Capital: Rabat
MEHR ERFAHREN