PARTNER-ATLAS

INDIA

as a partner for strengthening a values and rules-based world order

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does India have for Germany with regards to "strengthening a values and rules-based world order"?

Germany has a vital interest in maintaining and consolidating a world order based on the values of liberal democracy and on the centrality of the United Nations (UN). Given the USA’s global withdrawal, which the coronavirus pandemic has made even more evident, Germany needs to pursue this goal together with other international partners. With the Indo-Pacific Guidelines that were released in September 2020, the Federal Government expressly commits itself to this task in the region that is taking centre stage in the 21st century. India’s importance can hardly be overestimated in this respect: India is already the largest democracy in the world, and within the next decade it will replace China as the most populous country. Like Germany, the subcontinent at the Indo-Pacific interface is dependent on a solid security structure, an open trading system, and free navigation in international waters. India is severely affected by the consequences of global warming due to its vulnerable ecosystems and is reliant on multilateral approaches to solve this global problem.

As much as it makes sense to intensify German-Indian cooperation to strengthen the world order, the German federal government must also take India’s domestic political development into account. Under Prime Minister Modi’s government, the potential for value-based cooperation is being challenged by strong Hindu nationalism and discriminatory legislation. Even when, at the beginning of the pandemic, Muslims were attacked on social media for allegedly spreading Covid infections, the government turned a blind eye for too long. All the more reason for Germany and the international community to do their utmost to support the secular system of diversity and tolerance that has given India its great strength. The potential for jointly strengthening the values and rules-based world order crucially depends on whether India continues to protect, within its own borders, the liberal values on whose foundation it has become the world’s largest democracy.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is India willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

In its dynamism and ambitions, Indian foreign policy under Modi and his Foreign Minister Jaishankar differs considerably from the restraint that had largely characterised India since its independence. New Delhi is working towards a multipolar world order, in which it seeks closer strategic cooperation with international partners, pragmatically and with an openly acknowledged willingness to take risks.

In India’s vicinity, China is taking an increasingly aggressive stance and is also forging strategic coalitions. As part of its Belt and Road Initiative, Beijing is not only building railways, pipelines and ports around India, but is also gradually making the governments of participating countries politically dependent on Beijing.

India is absolutely determined to prevent being left behind in global politics. It is therefore clearly prepared to cooperate with Germany on strengthening the world order. At a ministerial meeting of the Alliance for Multilateralism in New York in September 2019, the Indian foreign minister stated that his country was “delighted” to join this alliance, because multilateralism was of paramount importance and was coming under pressure worldwide from nationalism and mercantilism.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and India's current cooperation in this area?

In October 2019, Chancellor Merkel and Prime Minister Modi emphasised that the Indo-German strategic partnership was based on jointly strengthening the rules-based international order. They also expressed their support for the international trading system in accordance with the rules of the World Trade Organisation. In addition, both countries have been working for a long time to reform the UN Security Council and have assured each other of their mutual support for a permanent seat in this body, which is crucial to the world order.

Apart from these fundamental, shared ambitions, Germany and India have been increasingly testing the waters in recent multilateral initiatives. In addition to the Franco-German alliance for multilateralism, this also applies to specifically themed formats that India has initiated. Germany has recently joined the India-led Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI) which is designed to contain damage caused by natural disasters worldwide. The federal government also announced its intention to join the International Solar Alliance (ISA) to promote environmentally friendly and sustainable energy production together with India.

During Merkel’s last visit to India, however, differences of opinion became apparent that need to be discussed in the context of a value-based cooperation. While the differences related to the tough stance taken by the Indian government in Kashmir province, discussions at the working level will undoubtedly continue on controversial issues of citizenship and ethnic discrimination.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and India in this area?

In view of the growing global influence of authoritarian states and the politicisation of the Covid crisis, there is enormous potential for a stronger German-Indian partnership for maintaining the rules-based world order. Cooperation in the above-mentioned multilateral formats has only just begun and is underpinned by countless facets of the existing strategic partnership. The potential for joint Indo-German political projects is growing, based on mutual trust that builds up during constructive cooperation in each of these initiatives. The objective must be to develop a leverage effect through the cooperation of these two countries, both of which are influential foreign-policy players, and to acquire further partners for multilateral alliances.

Moreover, the pandemic cannot be contained without getting India’s infection rate under control. While infections have gone down after the disastrous outbreaks in April and May 2021, only a small part of the Indian population has been vaccinated so far. Germany must try to ensure, to the best of its ability, that the availability of vaccines in India increases, especially via the vaccine platform COVAX, and that India is firmly embedded in the global strategy against the spread of the Covid virus.

Last but not least, there is considerable potential in the area of security policy. The German federal government admitted to its Indian partners that “hard security”, i.e. military capacity, was also necessary for a balance of power. More confidence-building through military cooperation would be urgently needed in order to use the German-Indian cooperation potential for the joint establishment and maintenance a security structure.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

In order to strengthen the rules-based world order together with India, German foreign policy must become more purposeful and courageous, but also more flexible. In the past, India demonstrated on many occasions that it was not an easy partner; the country did not even commit to the alliance for multilateralism when it first had the chance. Now that this step has been taken, it is time for the partners to breathe life into their multilateral cooperation. It is in Germany’s interest to confidently and consistently pursue specific projects. In order to achieve a form of cooperation that is based on shared values, Germany, together with the EU, should appeal to India to draw its strength precisely from the plurality for which it is recognised worldwide.

At the same time, Germany should commit itself, with conviction and the necessary flexibility, to the multilateral initiatives that India has launched. In the fight against the Covid pandemic, both countries should be firm advocates for long-term global solutions, in medical care, and in building resilience. Smaller formats for cooperation should gradually be strengthened in the area of security policy, in order to create the basis for in-depth cooperation. Both sides must demonstrate to each other that they can compromise for the benefit of closer cooperation.

The most important change, however, would be to fundamentally rethink the political approach. The federal government will have to deliver on its Indo-Pacific Guidelines. Germany rightly dedicates enormous resources to crisis management and urgent strategic challenges. At the same time, however, it is the duty of foreign policy and diplomatic decision-makers to start taking a closer look at a country that offers the biggest potential for strengthening the values and rules-based international order in the Indo-Pacific region, a world region that is pointing the way into the future. That country is India.

Lewe Paul is Desk Officer for South Asia in the European and International Cooperation Department.

Last update: July 23rd, 2021

INDIA

  • Population: 1,380,004,385
  • Capital: New Delhi

02 — Foreign Office

Contact:

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.
Foundation Office India
B-4, Ground Floor I West End I Rao Tula Ram Marg
110 021 New Delhi
India

04 — The region

Asia and the Pacific

logo

JAPAN

For Germany, Japan is one of the most important economic and value partners in Asia. In addition to the wish for jointly maintaining and further developing the multilateral order, there is also the desire for closer cooperation in future technologies. Japan and Germany face similar challenges, particularly in regard to the future of industrial production and the demographic development of their societies.

  • Population: 126,476,461
  • Capital: Tokyo
LEARN MORE
logo

INDIA

Germany has a vital interest in maintaining and consolidating a world order based on the values of liberal democracy and on the centrality of the United Nations (UN). Given the USA’s global withdrawal, which the coronavirus pandemic has made even more evident, Germany needs to pursue this goal together with other international partners. With the Indo-Pacific Guidelines that were released in September 2020, the Federal Government expressly commits itself to this task in the region that is taking centre stage in the 21st century. India’s importance can hardly be overestimated in this respect: India is already the largest democracy in the world, and within the next decade it will replace China as the most populous country. Like Germany, the subcontinent at the Indo-Pacific interface is dependent on a solid security structure, an open trading system, and free navigation in international waters. India is severely affected by the consequences of global warming due to its vulnerable ecosystems and is reliant on multilateral approaches to solve this global problem.

  • Population: 1,380,004,385
  • Capital: New Delhi
LEARN MORE
logo

AFGHANISTAN

For decades, Afghanistan was the country with the largest diaspora in the world. In 2015, this position was taken by Syria. Afghanistan looks back on 40 years of fleeing refugees, emigration and expulsion due to civil war, violence and destroyed livelihoods. Since 2001, the country has been one of Germany’s most important security partners in the Middle East. Afghanistan is also a reliable partner in migration policy and has never used migration flows as political leverage.

  • Population: 38,928,346
  • Capital: Kabul
LEARN MORE
logo

KAZAKHSTAN

The Expo 2017 world exhibition, a non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council (2018), the peace talks on Syria: no country in Central Asia is as oriented towards Europe and Germany as Kazakhstan. Nevertheless, much of what has happened recently in Kazakhstan and Central Asia has remained below Germany’s threshold of perception.

  • Population: appr. 19 million
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
LEARN MORE
logo

VIETNAM

Vietnam is one of the few communist countries. A “socialist-oriented market economy” determines the country’s economic status, the communist party vigorously enforces its claim to total power, and the country is subject to fierce criticism in reports on human rights. At the same time, more than three decades of economic growth and political stability have led to Vietnam establishing itself as an influential player in Southeast Asia. An early and vigorous response to the coronavirus crisis has so far managed to limit the dangers to health and the economy.

  • Population: 95,529,003
  • Capital: Hanoi
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

INDIEN

Als Partner für die Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Indien für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung" zu verwirklichen?

Deutschland hat ein vitales Interesse daran, eine Weltordnung, die auf den Werten der liberalen Demokratie und der Zentralität der Vereinten Nationen (VN) beruht, zu bewahren und zu festigen. Nach dem globalen Rückzug der USA, den die Corona-Pandemie noch spürbarer macht, muss Deutschland gemeinsam mit anderen internationalen Partnern dieses Ziel verfolgen. Mit den im September 2020 veröffentlichten Leitlinien zum Indo-Pazifik widmet sich die Bundesregierung ebendieser Aufgabe in der Region, die im 21. Jahrhundert in den Mittelpunkt der globalen Dynamik rückt. Indiens Bedeutung ist dabei kaum zu überschätzen: Bereits jetzt ist Indien die größte Demokratie der Welt – und innerhalb des neuen Jahrzehnts wird es China als bevölkerungsreichstes Land ablösen. Der Subkontinent an der Schnittstelle des Indo-Pazifiks ist wie Deutschland auf eine solide Sicherheitsarchitektur, ein offenes Handelssystem sowie freie Schifffahrt in internationalen Gewässern angewiesen. Von den Folgen der Erderwärmung ist Indien durch sein komplexes Klima stark betroffen und setzt auf multilaterale Ansätze zur Lösung dieses globalen Problems.

So sinnvoll eine vertiefte deutsch-indische Kooperation zur Stärkung der Weltordnung ist, muss die Bundesregierung dabei auch Indiens innenpolitischer Entwicklung Rechnung tragen. Das Potenzial für eine wertebasierte Zusammenarbeit wird unter der Regierung von Premierminister Modi durch einen ausgeprägten Hindu-Nationalismus und diskriminierende Gesetzgebung infrage gestellt. Selbst kurz nach dem Ausbruch der Pandemie schaute die Regierung zu lange weg, als in den sozialen Medien Stimmen gegen Muslime als vermeintliche Verbreiter des neuen Coronavirus laut wurden. Umso mehr gilt es für Deutschland und die internationale Gemeinschaft, das säkulare System der Vielfalt und Toleranz, aus dem Indien seine große Stärke gezogen hat, nach Kräften zu unterstützen. Das Potenzial für eine gemeinsame Stärkung der werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung hängt in entscheidender Weise davon ab, ob Indien im eigenen Land weiterhin die liberalen Werte behütet, auf deren Grundlage es zur größten Demokratie geworden ist.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft von Indien, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Die indische Außenpolitik unter Modi und seinem Außenminister Jaishankar unterscheidet sich in ihrer Dynamik und in ihren Ambitionen erheblich von der Zurückhaltung, die Indien seit seiner Unabhängigkeit in weiten Teilen prägte. Neu-Delhi arbeitet auf eine multipolare Weltordnung hin, in der es pragmatisch und mit erklärter Risikobereitschaft die strategische Annäherung mit internationalen Partnern sucht.

In Indiens Nachbarschaft tritt China zunehmend offensiv auf und schmiedet dabei auch strategische Koalitionen. Mit seiner Belt and Road Initiative errichtet Beijing nicht nur Schienen, Pipelines und Häfen rings um Indien herum, sondern zieht die Regierungen der Abnehmerländer in eine politische Abhängigkeit.

Indien will unbedingt verhindern, bei der globalen Gestaltung abgehängt zu werden. Es zeigt daher eine dezidierte Bereitschaft, mit Deutschland zur Stärkung der Weltordnung zu kooperieren. Bei einem Ministertreffen der Allianz für den Multilateralismus im September 2019 in New York erklärte der indische Außenminister, dass sein Land „mit Freude“ dieser Allianz beitrete, da Multilateralismus von größter Bedeutung sei und weltweit durch Nationalismus und Merkantilismus unter Druck gerate.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Indien aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Bundeskanzlerin Merkel und Premierminister Modi betonten im Oktober 2019, dass die Deutsch-Indische Strategische Partnerschaft auf der gemeinsamen Stärkung der regelbasierten internationalen Ordnung fußt. Weiterhin sprachen sie ihre Unterstützung für das internationale Handelssystem nach den Regeln der Welthandelsorganisation aus. Darüber hinaus arbeiten beide Länder seit langem auf eine Reform des VN-Sicherheitsrats hin und haben sich ihre gegenseitige Unterstützung für einen ständigen Sitz in diesem für die Weltordnung zentralen Gremium zugesichert.

Über diese grundlegenden, geteilten Ambitionen hinaus tasten sich Deutschland und Indien zunehmend in jüngeren multilateralen Initiativen vor. Neben der deutsch-französischen Allianz für den Multilateralismus gilt dies auch für themenspezifische Formate, die von Indien ins Leben gerufen wurden. Deutschland hat angekündigt, der International Solar Alliance (ISA) beizutreten, um gemeinsam mit Indien umweltfreundliche und nachhaltige Energiegewinnung zu fördern. Ebenso sagte die Bundesregierung ihre Mitarbeit in der von Indien geführten Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI) zu, die weltweit den Schaden durch Naturkatastrophen begrenzen will.

Bei Merkels letztem Besuch in Indien wurden allerdings auch Meinungsverschiedenheiten deutlich, die im Rahmen einer wertebasierten Zusammenarbeit diskutiert werden müssen. Während sich die Differenzen auf die harten Maßnahmen der indischen Regierung in der Provinz Kaschmir bezogen, wird die Diskussion auf Arbeitsebene zweifellos auch zu kontroversen Fragen der Staatsbürgerschaft und ethnischer Diskriminierung fortgesetzt.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Indien in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Angesichts des wachsenden globalen Einflusses autoritärer Staaten und der Politisierung der Corona-Krise ist das Potenzial für eine stärkere deutsch-indische Partnerschaft zum Erhalt der regelbasierten Weltordnung enorm. Die Kooperation in den bereits genannten multilateralen Formaten hat gerade erst begonnen und wird von den unzähligen Facetten der bestehenden Strategischen Partnerschaft untermauert. Durch die Vertrauensbildung, die mit einer konstruktiven Zusammenarbeit in jeder dieser Initiativen einhergeht, wächst das Potenzial für deutsch-indische Gestaltungspolitik. Dabei muss das Ziel sein, durch die Zusammenarbeit dieser zwei außenpolitisch einflussreichen Staaten eine Hebelwirkung zu entfalten und weitere Partner für multilaterale Allianzen zu gewinnen.

Erhebliches Potenzial besteht nicht zuletzt im Bereich der Sicherheitspolitik. Beim Raisina-Dialog 2020 gestand die Bundesregierung gegenüber ihren indischen Partnern ein, dass für eine Machtbalance auch „hard security“ nötig sei, also militärische Kapazitäten. Um das deutsch-indische Kooperationspotenzial auch für den gemeinsamen Bau und Erhalt einer Sicherheitsarchitektur zu nutzen, wäre eine größere Vertrauensbildung im Bereich der militärischen Kooperation dringend nötig.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Um mit Indien die regelbasierte Weltordnung zu stärken, muss die deutsche Außenpolitik zielstrebiger und mutiger, aber auch flexibler werden. In der Vergangenheit wurde bereits an vielen Stellen klar, dass Indien kein einfacher Partner ist; auch Indiens Bekenntnis zu der Allianz für den Multilateralismus erfolgte nicht im ersten Anlauf. Da dieser Schritt inzwischen getan ist, müssen die Partner ihre multilaterale Kooperation jetzt mit Leben füllen. Es wird sich für Deutschland auszahlen, konkrete Vorhaben selbstbewusst und konsequent zu verfolgen. Im Sinne einer Zusammenarbeit basierend auf gemeinsamen Werten sollte Deutschland – auch zusammen mit der EU – an Indien appellieren, seine Stärke gerade aus der Pluralität zu schöpfen, für die es weltweit Anerkennung genießt.

Gleichzeitig sollte sich Deutschland mit Überzeugung und der nötigen Flexibilität in den von Indien angestoßenen multilateralen Initiativen engagieren. Im Nachgang der Corona-Pandemie sollten die beiden Staaten entschlossen für ausgewogene globale Lösungen in der Bekämpfung der Krankheit, bei der Medizinischen Versorgung sowie in der Bildung von Resilienz eintreten. Graduell sollten im Feld der Sicherheitspolitik kleinere Kooperationsformate gestärkt werden, um die Grundlage für vertiefte Zusammenarbeit zu schaffen. Beide Seiten müssen einander beweisen, dass sie für stärkere Kooperation Kompromisse eingehen können.

Die wohl wichtigste Änderung wäre jedoch ein grundlegendes Umdenken. Die Bundesregierung muss auf ihre Leitlinien auch Handlungen im Indo-Pazifik folgen lassen. Zu Recht bringt Deutschland enorme Ressourcen für die Bewältigung von Krisen und akuten strategischen Herausforderungen auf. Doch gleichzeitig stehen die Entscheidungsträger in der Außenpolitik und Diplomatie in der Pflicht, langfristig ihren Blick auf jenes Land zu schärfen, das im Indo-Pazifik, der zukunftsweisenden Weltregion, über das größte Potenzial für die Stärkung der werte- und regelbasierten internationalen Ordnung verfügt: Indien.

Lewe Paul ist Referent „Südasien“ in der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit.

INDIEN

  • Population: 1.380.004.385
  • Capital: Neu-Delhi
  • Interesse: Die Stärkung einer werte- und regelbasierten Weltordnung
  • Region: Asien und Pazifik
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Australien, Indien, Japan, Mongolei, Neuseeland, Südkorea, Taiwan

04 — Die Region

Asien und Pazifik

logo

JAPAN

In Japan sind die Folgen des Klimawandels deutlich zu spüren und die Klimaschutzziele sind ohne einem Politikwechsel nicht zu erreichen. Im Energieplan der japanischen Regierung ist ebenso festgeschrieben, dass effizientere und vernetzte Energiesysteme entwickelt werden müssen. Gemessen an der verfügbaren Technik sind die Herausforderungen und Kosten diesbezüglich noch hoch. Hier liegt enormes Kooperationspotenzial: gemeinsame Lösungen, die innovativ und flexibel die Integration verschiedener Energiequellen bieten.

  • Population: 126.476.461
  • Capital: Tokio
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

INDIEN

Deutschland hat ein vitales Interesse daran, eine Weltordnung, die auf den Werten der liberalen Demokratie und der Zentralität der Vereinten Nationen (VN) beruht, zu bewahren und zu festigen. Indiens Bedeutung ist dabei kaum zu überschätzen: Bereits jetzt ist Indien die größte Demokratie der Welt – und inner­halb des neuen Jahrzehnts wird es China als bevölkerungsreichstes Land ablösen.

  • Population: 1.380.004.385
  • Capital: Neu-Delhi
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

AFGHANISTAN

Afghanistan war jahrzehntelang das Land mit der größten Diaspora weltweit. 2015 wurde es von Syrien abgelöst. Afghanistan blickt auf 40 Jahre Flucht, Auswanderung und Vertreibung aufgrund von Bürgerkrieg, Gewalt und zerstörten Lebensgrundlagen zurück. Seit 2001 ist das Land einer der wichtigsten sicherheitspolitischen Partner Deutschlands im Mittleren Osten. Auch in der Migrationspolitik ist Afghanistan ein verlässlicher Partner und hat Migrationsströme nie als politisches Druckmittel eingesetzt.

  • Population: 38.928.346
  • Capital: Kabul
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KASACHSTAN

Die Weltausstellung Expo 2017, ein nichtständiger Sitz im Sicherheitsrat der Vereinten Nationen (2018), die Friedensgespräche zu Syrien: Kein Land in Zentralasien orientiert sich so in Richtung Europa und Deutschland wie Kasachstan. Trotzdem blieb vieles, was in Kasachstan und Zentralasien auch in jüngster Zeit geschehen ist, in Deutschland unterhalb der Wahrnehmungsschwelle. Dabei ist besonders Kasachstan in vielen strategischen Fragen von zunehmender Bedeutung.

  • Population: 18.776.707
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

VIETNAM

Vietnam ist eines von wenigen kommunistischen Ländern. Eine „sozialistisch orientierte Markt­wirtschaft“ bestimmt die Ökonomie des Landes, die kommunistische Partei setzt ihren Allmacht­sanspruch rigoros durch – und in Berichten zu Menschenrechten wird heftige Kritik an dem Land geübt. Gleichzeitig führten das mehr als drei Jahrzehnte andauernde Wirtschaftswachs­tum und politische Stabilität dazu, dass sich Viet­nam als einflussreicher Akteur in Südostasien etabliert hat.

  • Population: 95.529.003
  • Capital: Hanoi
MEHR ERFAHREN