PARTNER-ATLAS

BELARUS

as a partner for the security and stability of Europe, its neighbourhood, and other regions of the world

Disclaimer: This chapter was written in May 2020. It has not been updated since and therefore does not consider the crisis following the 2020 presidential elections in Belarus. Please visit the website of the country office of the Adenauer Foundation in Belarus to get the latest information and analysis with regards to the situation.

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Belarus have for Germany with regards to "the Security and stability of Europe, its neighbourhood, and other regions of the world"?

Belarus is often perceived negatively in the West due to its deficits in terms of democracy and civil liberties. This fails to take into account that the country can be seen as an anchor of stability in terms of security policy, with its position in the centre of Central Eastern Europe, and that it has been committed to international conflict resolution for some time. Important (energy) transit and migration routes run through Belarus, which borders on three EU countries, and which, with its strong state institutions, does not have any ethnic, religious or separatist conflicts.

In NATO, some see Belarus as a threat because of its location vis-à-vis the Russian exclave of Kaliningrad on the “Suwałki Corridor”. However, in terms of regional security, Minsk is neither Moscow’s spineless henchman nor a passive buffer state. Although the military and economic alliances with Russia and post-Soviet countries are formally a priority for the former Soviet Republic, the conflict in Ukraine, the new East-West confrontation, and the termination of disarmament treaties have led to a reexamination.

The country is surrounded in three directions by states that are or want to become NATO members, and thus it has been striving to act as a mediator and platform for dialogue since 2014. It sees itself as a “source of regional stability”, for example via the Minsk talks, and exercises “situational neutrality”, for example by not recognising the annexation of Crimea. Its multi-vector foreign policy strives for good relations on all sides, while refusing to choose a camp.

The country remains an active member of the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe and is refraining from the regional trend toward rearmament. Its military expenditure of around one percent of GDP is the lowest in the post-Soviet region and is, per capita, one fifth of that of neighbouring countries (with the exception of Ukraine). The Belarusian armed forces are mainly stationed within the country and are defence-oriented.

The relationship with its close partner, Russia, has noticeably cooled. When Minsk refused to allow the building of a Russian air force base on its territory, Moscow set up new divisions on the eastern border of Belarus, in response to which Belarus stepped up its military service. In addition, the Kremlin is exerting pressure by pursuing greater integration of the two countries, which is giving rise to fear of annexation in Belarus. An open confrontation between Minsk and Moscow is not in Germany’s interests; it is more in its interests for Belarus to maintain its independence and continue along the path of de-escalation and mediation. This requires attention and support.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Belarus willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

Belarus’ interest in improving relations with the West with respect to pragmatic questions of security, foreign, and economic policy is considerable and genuine. The country has often been a major victim of European wars, and thus the promise of security and stability is an important source of legitimacy for the government. The positioning of Minsk as an “honest broker” serves not only to reduce tension in the region but also to strengthen its own sovereignty and independence. Admittedly, the leadership equates the latter with maintaining the state’s “power verticals”.

The will for internal liberalisation is thus not very great. In terms of security policy, however, President Lukashenko wants to make his country into a European success story, and the Belarus Foreign Minister, Makei, would like to see Belarus as the Switzerland of Eastern Europe. This willingness for greater cooperation applies to the EU and NATO, as well as to bilateral partners such as the USA and Germany. Minsk has increased its involvement in the Eastern Partnership and is pressing ahead for transparency and confidence-building vis-à-vis NATO. It receives NATO’s high-ranking delegations and – as in the case of Zapad 2017 – invites them to observe manoeuvres, much to Moscow’s displeasure. In addition, the Foreign Ministry is campaigning to relaunch the Helsinki Process and is expressing great interest in developing capacities for international conflict mediation.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Belarus' current cooperation in this area?

In recent years, the visit of the Federal President (2018) and reciprocal trips by the Foreign Ministers (2017/2019) and parliamentary groups (2018/2020) have intensified the dialogue, both officially and amongst experts. Minsk’s position in the new geopolitical situation became the starting point for a broader relaxation of tensions with the West. To strengthen German-Belarusian relations, a strategic advisory group was set up in 2020 to develop specific project ideas.

 

Since April 2018, Germany has once again been dispatching a military attaché to Minsk after a long period without. In the defence sector, a collaboration has developed which, among other things, offers members of the Belarusian armed forces the opportunity to take part in German courses, ranging from language training and medicine to straightforward military training. Germany has described Belarus as a reliable partner in the area of arms control.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Belarus in this area?

Despite recent movements in the Ukraine conflict, the security situation in Eastern Europe remains tense and the trust between East and West has been shattered. To have Belarus, a country familiar with both sides, acting as mediator would therefore offer a high degree of added value. However, in a year with the critically important presidential election (9 August 2020), the coronavirus crisis is exacerbating not only existing tensions (for example due to disinformation campaigns from the Kremlin), but also the Belarusian economic crisis. This poses considerable risks to the internal stability of the country and to the security of the region.

In the German or European-Belarusian relationship, there is still a lot of room for building trust and for substantive cooperation. Over and above the military dimension, expanding economic relations, human and institutional contacts, and the exchange of views among experts and decision-makers would make a significant contribution to security and stability. However, formal rapprochement with the EU in the form of signing partnership priorities is blocked due to the controversial construction of the Astravets nuclear power plant on the Lithuanian border.

To strengthen its role as a security partner in the long term, Belarus must develop its civil society, strengthen the resilience of society as a whole, and avoid backsliding in terms of democracy and human rights. Germany is able to provide considerably more support with all of this. In view of the political and economic pressure (not only) from Russia, Belarus might be prepared to make major compromises.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

German policymakers should continue to expand their commitment and constructively critical interest in a stable, independent and prospectively democratic Belarus and, in view of the economic crisis that has been significantly exacerbated by the coronavirus pandemic, support it in reducing its one-sided dependence on Russia (including in energy and economic matters), but should not attempt to “win it over to its own side”. Relationships would need to be further developed in various areas and at different levels via the most substantive projects possible.

In addition to the already established bilateral advisory group, the expert dialogue on security policy should be intensified and the Belarusian idea for a renewed Helsinki process should be discussed in its specifics. Berlin could also help Minsk develop capacities for conflict mediation. Germany could offer itself as a mediator in the nuclear power plant dispute with Lithuania in order to bring about the necessary improvement in EU relations, or else reexamine the remaining arms sanctions. Issues of democracy, human rights and civil society must remain on the agenda, and their relevance for resilience in society as a whole need to be emphasised.

Jakob Wöllenstein heads the KAS Belarus office.

 

BELARUS

  • Population: 9.449.254
  • Capital: Minsk
  • Interest: The Security and Stability of Europe, its Neighbourhood and other Regions of the World
  • Region: Europe and North America
  • Potential partner countries: Belarus, Serbia

04 — The region

Europe and North America

logo

SWITZERLAND

In many ways, Switzerland is a central partner for Germany in terms of values and interests, particularly in the area of trade and innovation. The economies of both countries are closely intertwined: Germany has been Switzerland’s most important trading partner with more than 22 percent of foreign trade. Conversely, Switzerland is also a key economic partner for Germany: in 2018, it was number 9 among Germany’s foreign trade partners (and thus the fourth largest non-EU country after the USA, China, and the United Kingdom).

  • Population: 8,654,622
  • Capital: Bern
LEARN MORE
logo

SERBIA

Serbia is of central importance for Germany in terms of regulating global migration flows. Since the beginning of the refugee crisis in 2014, a large proportion of refugees from the Middle East, Central and South Asia have been traversing the “Balkan route”. Its main route leads from Turkey and Greece via Bulgaria, North Macedonia and Serbia to Hungary and Croatia which form the border of the EU. Continuing on from there is difficult because the Hungarian government in particular undertakes very rigid border controls to prevent entry without valid travel documents.

  • Population: 8,737,371
  • Capital: Belgrade
LEARN MORE
logo

UKRAINE

Since the beginning of the conflict in Eastern Ukraine and the unlawful annexation of Crimea, parts of the country have not been under the control of Kyiv. It is in Ukraine that it will be decided what significance internationally recognised borders will have in 21st century Europe, whether territories can be unilaterally altered, and whether the right of the (militarily) stronger will again take precedence over the sovereignty, self-determination, territorial integrity and inviolability of borders.

 

  • Population: 43,733,762
  • Capital: Kyiv
LEARN MORE
logo

BELARUS

Belarus is often perceived negatively in the West due to its deficits in terms of democracy and civil liberties. This fails to take into account that the country can be seen as an anchor of stability in terms of security policy, with its position in the centre of Central Eastern Europe, and that it has been committed to international conflict resolution for some time.

  • Population: 9.449.254
  • Capital: Minsk
LEARN MORE
logo

RUSSIA

Economic growth and employment in Germany largely depend on key, energy-intensive industries, such as chemical or metal production. Despite the increasing importance of renewable energies, petroleum and natural gas – the first and second most important energy sources in Germany – play an important role for these industries.

  • Population: 145,934,462
  • Capital: Moscow
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

BELARUS

Als Partner für die Sicherheit und Stabilität Europas, seiner Nachbarschaft und anderer Weltregionen

Disclaimer: Dieser Beitrag wurde im Mai 2020 verfasst. Er wurde seitdem nicht aktualisiert und berücksichtigt daher die Krise nach den Präsidentschaftswahlen 2020 in Belarus nicht. Bitte besuchen Sie die Webseite des Länderbüros der Adenauer Stiftung in Belarus, um die aktuellsten Informationen und Analysen zur Situation zu erhalten.

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Belarus für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Sicherheit und Stabilität Europas, seiner Nachbarschaft und anderer Weltregionen" zu verwirklichen?

Belarus wird im Westen aufgrund von Defiziten bei Demokratie und Freiheitsrechten oft einseitig negativ wahrgenommen. Dies verkennt, dass das Land im Zentrum Ostmitteleuropas sicherheitspolitisch als ein Stabilitätsanker gesehen werden kann und sich seit einiger Zeit international für Konfliktlösung engagiert. Das Land, durch das wichtige (Energie-)Transit- und Migrationsrouten verlaufen, grenzt an drei EU-Staaten und hat keine ethnischen, religiösen oder separatistischen Konflikte, dafür jedoch vergleichsweise starke staatliche Institutionen.

In der NATO sehen manche Belarus aufgrund seiner geografischen Lage vis-à-vis der russischen Exklave Kaliningrad am sogenannten Suwalki-Korridor als Bedrohung. Doch in Fragen regionaler Sicherheit ist Minsk weder Moskaus willenloser Handlanger noch ein passiver Pufferstaat. Zwar besitzen für die ehemalige Sowjetrepublik formell die Militär- und Wirtschaftsbündnisse mit Russland und Ländern des postsowjetischen Raums Priorität, doch haben der Ukraine-Konflikt, die neue Ost-West-Konfrontation und die Aufkündigung von Abrüstungsverträgen ein Umdenken in Gang gesetzt.

Das Land ist in drei Himmelsrichtungen von Staaten umgeben, die NATO-Mitglieder sind oder werden wollen und bemüht sich deshalb seit 2014, als Schlichter und Dialogplattform aufzutreten. Es sieht sich als „Spender regionaler Stabilität“ etwa durch die Minsker Gespräche und übt „situative Neutralität“ aus, zum Beispiel durch die Nichtanerkennung der Krim-Annexion. Seine multivektorale Außenpolitik strebt gute Beziehungen zu allen Seiten an, aber lehnt eine Lagerwahl ab.

Das Land bleibt aktives Mitglied im Vertrag über konventionelle Streitkräfte in Europa und verzichtet gegen den regionalen Trend auf neue Aufrüstung. Seine Militärausgaben von etwa einem Prozent des BIP sind die niedrigsten im postsowjetischen Raum und liegen pro Kopf bei einem Fünftel der Ausgaben der Nachbarstaaten (Ausnahme Ukraine). Die belarussischen Streitkräfte sind vor allem im Landesinneren stationiert und defensiv aufgestellt.

Das Verhältnis zum engen Partner Russland hat sich merklich abgekühlt. Als Minsk den Bau einer russischen Luftwaffenbasis auf seinem Territorium verweigerte, stellte Moskau an dessen Ostgrenze neue Divisionen auf, woraufhin Belarus die Wehrpflicht verschärfte. Zusätzlich übt der Kreml Druck aus, indem er eine vertiefte Integration beider Staaten verfolgt, was in Belarus Annexionsängste weckt. Eine offene Konfrontation zwischen Minsk und Moskau ist nicht in Deutschlands Interesse, sondern dass Belarus seine Unabhängigkeit wahrt und den eingeschlagenen Kurs der Deeskalation und Vermittlung fortsetzt. Dafür benötigt es kritisch-konstruktive Aufmerksamkeit und Unterstützung.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Belarus', mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Das Interesse von Belarus an einer Verbesserung des Verhältnisses mit dem Westen in pragmatischen Fragen von Sicherheits-, Außen- und Wirtschaftspolitik ist groß und genuin. In Europas Kriegen war das Land oft ein Hauptleidtragender – und so ist das Versprechen nach Sicherheit und Stabilität eine wichtige Legitimationsquelle der Regierung. Minsks Positionierung als „ehrlicher Makler“ dient neben dem Abbau von Spannungen in der Region auch der Stärkung seiner eigenen Souveränität und Unabhängigkeit. Letztes setzt die Führung freilich mit dem Erhalt der staatlichen Machtvertikalen gleich.

Die Bereitschaft zur inneren Liberalisierung ist daher eher gering. In der Sicherheitspolitik jedoch will Präsident Lukaschenka sein Land zu einer „europäischen Erfolgsgeschichte” machen und Außenminister Makei sähe Belarus gern als „osteuropäische Schweiz“. Die Bereitschaft zu einer stärkeren Zusammenarbeit gilt sowohl EU und NATO als auch bilateralen Partnern wie den USA oder Deutschland. Minsk hat sein Engagement in der Östlichen Partnerschaft erhöht und macht sich stark für Transparenz und Vertrauensbildung gegenüber der NATO. Es empfängt deren hochrangige Delegationen und lädt – wie bei Sapad 2017 – zum Missfallen Moskaus zu Manöverbeobachtung ein. Zudem macht sich das Außenministerium stark für eine Neuauflage des Helsinki-Prozesses und bekundet großes Interesse, Kapazitäten zur internationalen Konfliktmediation aufzubauen.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Belarus aktuell in diesem Bereich?

In den vergangenen Jahren kam es mit dem Besuch des Bundespräsidenten (2018) sowie gegenseitigen Reisen der Außenminister (2017/2019) und Parlamentariergruppen (2018/2020) zu einer Intensivierung des Dialogs sowohl auf offizieller Seite als auch im Expertenbereich. Minsks Positionierung in der neuen geopolitischen Lage wurde zum Ausgangspunkt einer breiteren Entspannung mit dem Westen. Zur Stärkung der deutsch-belarussischen Beziehungen wurde für das Jahr 2020 eine strategische Beratergruppe eingesetzt, die konkrete Projektideen erarbeitet.

Seit April 2018 entsendet Deutschland nach langer Vakanz wieder einen Militärattaché nach Minsk. Im Verteidigungsbereich hat sich eine Kooperation entwickelt, die unter anderem Angehörigen der belarussischen Streitkräfte die Möglichkeit bietet, an deutschen Lehrgängen teilzunehmen, die von Sprachausbildung über Medizin bis zum rein Militärischen reichen. Im Bereich Rüstungskontrolle lobt die deutsche Seite Belarus als verlässlichen Partner.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Belarus in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Trotz jüngster Bewegungen im Ukraine-Konflikt bleibt die sicherheitspolitische Lage in Osteuropa angespannt und das Vertrauen zwischen Ost und West zerrüttet. Ein Belarus, das als Kenner beider Seiten vermittelt, böte daher hohen Mehrwert. Jedoch verschärft die Corona-Krise nicht nur bestehende Spannungen (etwa durch Desinformationskampagnen aus Kreml-Kreisen), sondern auch die belarussische Wirtschaftskrise im kritischen Jahr der Präsidentschaftswahlen (9. August 2020). Dies birgt für die innere Stabilität des Landes und die Sicherheit der Region nicht unerhebliche Risiken.

Im deutsch- beziehungsweise europäisch-belarussischen Verhältnis besteht noch viel Luft für Vertrauensbildung und konkrete Zusammenarbeit. Jenseits der militärischen Dimension würde ein Ausbau der Wirtschaftsbeziehungen, menschlicher und institutioneller Kontakte sowie des Austauschs von Experten und Entscheidungsträgern deutlich zu Sicherheit und Stabilität beitragen. Die formelle Annäherung mit der EU in Form der Unterzeichnung von Partnerschaftsprioritäten ist jedoch blockiert wegen des umstrittenen Baus des Atomkraftwerks Astravets an der litauischen Grenze.

Um seine Rolle als Sicherheitspartner langfristig zu stärken, muss Belarus seine Zivilgesellschaft entwickeln, gesamtgesellschaftliche Resilienz stärken und Rückfälle bei Demokratie und Menschenrechten vermeiden. Deutschland kann dabei noch deutlich stärker unterstützen. Angesichts des politischen und ökonomischen Drucks (nicht nur) aus Russland könnte Belarus hier zu größeren Kompromissen bereit sein.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Die deutsche Politik sollte ihr Engagement und kritisch-konstruktives Interesse an einem stabilen, eigenständigen und perspektivisch demokratischen Belarus weiter ausbauen und es angesichts der durch die Corona-Pandemie deutlich verschärften Wirtschaftskrise dabei unterstützen, seine einseitige Abhängigkeit von Russland (auch in Energie- und Wirtschaftsfragen) zu reduzieren, jedoch nicht versuchen, es „ins eigene Lager“ zu holen. Die Beziehungen müssten sowohl in verschiedenen Sachbereichen als auch auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen durch möglichst konkrete Projekte weiterentwickelt werden.

Neben der etablierten bilateralen Beratergruppe sollte der sicherheitspolitische Expertendialog intensiviert und die belarussische Idee zur Neuauflage des Helsinki-Prozesses konkret besprochen werden. Auch könnte Berlin Minsk dabei unterstützen, Kapazitäten der Konfliktmediation aufzubauen. Zur nötigen Verbesserung der EU-Beziehungen könnte sich Deutschland als Vermittler im AKW-Streit mit Litauen anbieten oder auch die verbliebenen Rüstungssanktionen neu erörtern. Fragen von Demokratie, Menschenrechten und Zivilgesellschaft müssen auf der Tagesordnung bleiben und deren Relevanz für eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Resilienz betont werden.

Jakob Wöllenstein leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Belarus.

BELARUS

  • Population: 9.449.254
  • Capital: Minsk
  • Interesse: Die Sicherheit und Stabilität Europas, seiner Nachbarschaft und anderer Weltregionen
  • Region: Europa und Nordamerika
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Belarus, Serbien

04 — Die Region

Europa und Nordamerika

logo

SCHWEIZ

Die Schweiz ist in vielerlei Hinsicht ein zentraler Werte- und Interessenspartner Deutschlands, dies gilt besonders für den Bereich Handel und Innovation. Die Wirtschaften beider Länder sind eng miteinander verquickt: Für die Schweiz war Deutschland mit mehr als 22 Prozent des Außenhandels der wichtigste Handelspartner. Doch auch umgekehrt ist die Schweiz ein zentraler Wirtschaftspartner für Deutschland.

  • Population: 8.654.622
  • Capital: Bern
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

SERBIEN

In Bezug auf die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme hat Serbien für Deutschland eine zentrale Bedeutung. Seit dem Beginn der Flüchtlingskrise von 2014 bewegt sich ein großer Teil der Flüchtlinge aus Nahost, Zentral- und Südasien über die sogenannte Balkanroute. Deren Hauptstrang führt von der Türkei und Griechenland aus über Bulgarien, Nordmazedonien und Serbien an die EU-Außengrenze mit Ungarn und Kroatien.

  • Population: 6.982.000
  • Capital: Belgrad
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

UKRAINE

Seit Beginn des Ostukraine-Konflikts und der völkerrechtswidrigen Annexion der Krim stehen Teile des Landes nicht unter der Kontrolle Kiews. In der Ukraine entscheidet sich, welchen Stellenwert international anerkannte Grenzen im Europa des 21. Jahrhunderts haben, ob Territorien einseitig verändert werden können und das Recht des (militärisch) Stärkeren wieder Vorrang vor Souveränität, Selbstbestimmung, territorialer Integrität und Unverletzlichkeit der Grenzen haben.

  • Population: 43.733.762
  • Capital: Kiew
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

BELARUS

Belarus wird im Westen aufgrund von Defiziten bei Demokratie und Freiheitsrechten oft einseitig negativ wahrgenommen. Dies verkennt, dass das Land im Zentrum Ostmitteleuropas sicherheitspolitisch als ein Stabilitätsanker gesehen werden kann und sich seit einiger Zeit international für Konfliktlösung engagiert.

  • Population: 9.449.254
  • Capital: Minsk
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

RUSSLAND

Wirtschaftswachstum und Beschäftigung in Deutschland hängen maßgeblich von energie­intensiven Schlüsselindustrien wie der Chemie oder Metallerzeugung ab. Trotz der steigenden Bedeutung erneuerbarer Energien spielen für diese Industrien Mineralöl und Erdgas, welche wichtigster und zweitwichtigster Energieträger in Deutschland sind, eine bedeutende Rolle. Mangels eigener Ressourcen wird sowohl Mineralöl als auch Erdgas beinahe vollständig nach Deutschland importiert. Dabei machen russische Gaslieferungen etwa 50 Prozent der deutschen Gasimporte aus, ein Drittel der deut­schen Mineralölimporte stammen ebenfalls aus der Russischen Föderation. Das Land ist damit zum Hauptlieferanten von Erdgas und Rohöl für Deutschland avanciert.

 

  • Population: 145.934.462
  • Capital: Moskau
MEHR ERFAHREN