PARTNER-ATLAS

AFGHANISTAN

as a partner for regulating global migration flows

01 — The key questions for the Partner-Atlas

RELEVANCE: What relevance does Afghanistan have for Germany with regards to "regulating global migration flows"?

For decades, Afghanistan was the country with the largest diaspora in the world. In 2015, this position was taken by Syria. Afghanistan looks back on 40 years of fleeing refugees, emigration and expulsion due to civil war, violence and destroyed livelihoods. Since 2001, the country has been one of Germany’s most important security partners in the Middle East. Afghanistan is also a reliable partner in migration policy and has never used migration flows as political leverage.

After Syrians, Afghans are the second largest group of refugees worldwide. The majority of the Afghan diaspora (91 percent) is located in Iran and Pakistan. Destination countries for Afghans are Iran (63 percent), Pakistan (22 percent), Turkey and Europe (12 percent). Afghanistan also has more than 2 million internally displaced persons. In the past six years, around a third of the Afghan population has been internationally or internally displaced or has emigrated.

During the major refugee flows in 2015, around 154,000 Afghans came to Germany; by 2016 the number had fallen to 50,000. The number of asylum applications by Afghans in Germany dropped to less than 10,000 as of 2018. Since 2016, more than two million Afghans have returned from Iran and Pakistan. The reason is a stricter approach by the Iranian and Pakistani authorities as well as the deteriorating economic situation in neighbouring countries.

The main causes of fleeing refugees and migration from Afghanistan are poverty and lack of economic prospects, ongoing fighting and violence, recurring droughts and floods. 54.8 percent of people live below the poverty line. According to the Global Peace Index, Afghanistan is the least peaceful country in the world. Fighting and attacks have led to the deaths of 45,000 people in the past five years. Despite the Doha Agreement concluded between the USA and the Taliban in February and the start of intra-Afghan peace negotiations in September 2020 in Doha, neither an end to the violence nor an economic upturn appear likely in the near term.

The coronavirus pandemic has intensified the situation from the beginning of the year, which could make Afghanistan a country with one of the highest infection rates worldwide due to poor hygiene conditions and low state capacity for treatment or testing of COVID-19 or for health education. The coronavirus crisis will have a delayed and indirect effect on migration flows. Afghanistan’s rentier state economy is still poorly integrated globally or regionally and is instead existentially dependent on international aid funds. A reduction in international funds– as a result of the impending withdrawal of NATO or a possible global economic crisis – would hit the country hardest economically and lead to emigration.

Afghanistan will remain a country of origin for refugees and migrants for the foreseeable future. Decades of experience with fleeing refugees, emigration and the loss of skilled workers, but also with the return of emigrants and knowledge transfer to Afghanistan, make the country a test case for how migration flows can have a long-term impact and how they can be regulated and utilised.

WILLINGNESS: To what extent is Afghanistan willing to work with Germany in realising this interest?

The Afghan government has always supported German efforts to regulate migration. Germany’s deportation of Afghan citizens was the litmus test for Afghan-German cooperation.

Germany began carrying out deportations to Afghanistan for the first time in 2016. Particularly in the first few years, the repatriations received considerable critical attention from the Afghan and international media and put the Afghan government under public pressure.

Deportations from Germany had been unthinkable for the Afghan government until 2016; they had always relied on receiving special treatment due to historically close Afghan-German relations. Nevertheless, Afghanistan supports the German policy.

German and Afghan authorities, such as the German embassy in Kabul and the Afghan Ministry of Refugees and Repatriation, cooperate closely on each repatriation. The International Organisation for Migration (IOM) provides initial support and helps with finding employment for the returnees.

STATUS QUO: How close is Germany and Afghanistan's current cooperation in this area?

Germany is the second largest NATO supplier of troops and second largest donor country in development cooperation. In 2019, Germany provided around 400 million euros in development funding for Afghanistan. German institutions, such as the German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ), are involved in the areas of water supply, energy, education, health, economy and employment, in order to create prospects that will cause the young Afghan population to remain.

The Centre for International Migration and Development (CIM), a joint operation of GIZ and the German Federal Employment Agency (BA), arranges the return of skilled workers and professionals. Thirteen Afghan-Germans are currently working as CIM specialists in key positions within ministries, state institutions and associations.

POTENTIAL: What is the potential for strengthening the partnership between Germany and Afghanistan in this area?

Despite the deportation policy that started in 2016, Germany continues to enjoy a high level of trust and goodwill with the Afghan government and population – and this pledge of confidence is Germany’s greatest asset.

Still untapped potential exists in the case of dual nationals educated in Germany. Even back in the 1960s, Afghans were coming to Germany to study at universities. They serve today as pioneers for investments and private-sector initiatives in Afghanistan.

After a twenty-year NATO mission, the Afghanistan of 2020 is at a turning point. The Doha Agreement between the USA and the Taliban regulates the gradual withdrawal of foreign troops. Afghanistan will be seeking new allies after NATO’s withdrawal. Neighbouring countries such as Pakistan, Iran, China, India or Russia have a vital interest in shaping the regional order. Germany has a special role due to its hundred years of special relations with Afghanistan; it is valued as an ally and as an economic and development partner by both pro-Western and critical opposition camps. The peace process offers Germany and Afghanistan an opportunity to rethink their bilateral relations and to strengthen them via open and honest dialogue.

POLICY RECOMMENDATION: What in German foreign policy has to change in order to fully exploit this potential?

If migration is to be better managed in future, in addition to long-term investment in people’s basic needs and employment conditions, there is also a need to broadly raise awareness regarding the risks and prospects for people looking to migrate, to promote voluntary returns and private investments in a targeted way, and to facilitate the exchange of specialist knowledge.

The local authorities, the media and various associations – particularly in Afghanistan – must bring an extensive awareness-raising campaign to the local debate. The young population needs a realistic picture of the risks to health and of the financial and social dangers associated with being a refugee and with migration, and to know what the honest alternatives are.

International aid could probably be reduced with the withdrawal of NATO, and so private sector initiatives and investments should be encouraged at an early stage. Many well-trained Afghans at home or in exile want to invest in their country but need incentives and reliable local networks.

Emigration of skilled workers to Germany should be supplemented with flexible exchange programmes. Well-educated Afghans are often only seeking to further their professional training and career or to live abroad in the short term. These people would benefit from fellowship programmes, specialist exchanges (for example for journalists, researchers, parliamentarians or artists) as well as from faster and less bureaucratic visa procedures for business, research or short-term stays.

Ellinor Zeino heads the KAS office in Afghanistan.

AFGHANISTAN

  • Population: 38,928,346
  • Capital: Kabul
  • Interest: Regulating Global Migration Flows
  • Region: Asia and the Pacific
  • Potential partner countries: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan

04 — The region

Asia and the Pacific

logo

JAPAN

For Germany, Japan is one of the most important economic and value partners in Asia. In addition to the wish for jointly maintaining and further developing the multilateral order, there is also the desire for closer cooperation in future technologies. Japan and Germany face similar challenges, particularly in regard to the future of industrial production and the demographic development of their societies.

  • Population: 126,476,461
  • Capital: Tokyo
LEARN MORE
logo

INDIA

Germany has a vital interest in maintaining and consolidating a world order based on the values of liberal democracy and on the centrality of the United Nations (UN). Given the USA’s global withdrawal, which the coronavirus pandemic has made even more evident, Germany needs to pursue this goal together with other international partners. With the Indo-Pacific Guidelines that were released in September 2020, the Federal Government expressly commits itself to this task in the region that is taking centre stage in the 21st century. India’s importance can hardly be overestimated in this respect: India is already the largest democracy in the world, and within the next decade it will replace China as the most populous country. Like Germany, the subcontinent at the Indo-Pacific interface is dependent on a solid security structure, an open trading system, and free navigation in international waters. India is severely affected by the consequences of global warming due to its vulnerable ecosystems and is reliant on multilateral approaches to solve this global problem.

  • Population: 1,380,004,385
  • Capital: New Delhi
LEARN MORE
logo

AFGHANISTAN

For decades, Afghanistan was the country with the largest diaspora in the world. In 2015, this position was taken by Syria. Afghanistan looks back on 40 years of fleeing refugees, emigration and expulsion due to civil war, violence and destroyed livelihoods. Since 2001, the country has been one of Germany’s most important security partners in the Middle East. Afghanistan is also a reliable partner in migration policy and has never used migration flows as political leverage.

  • Population: 38,928,346
  • Capital: Kabul
LEARN MORE
logo

KAZAKHSTAN

The Expo 2017 world exhibition, a non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council (2018), the peace talks on Syria: no country in Central Asia is as oriented towards Europe and Germany as Kazakhstan. Nevertheless, much of what has happened recently in Kazakhstan and Central Asia has remained below Germany’s threshold of perception.

  • Population: 18,776,707
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
LEARN MORE
logo

VIETNAM

Vietnam is one of the few communist countries. A “socialist-oriented market economy” determines the country’s economic status, the communist party vigorously enforces its claim to total power, and the country is subject to fierce criticism in reports on human rights. At the same time, more than three decades of economic growth and political stability have led to Vietnam establishing itself as an influential player in Southeast Asia. An early and vigorous response to the coronavirus crisis has so far managed to limit the dangers to health and the economy.

  • Population: 95,529,003
  • Capital: Hanoi
LEARN MORE

PARTNER-ATLAS

AFGHANISTAN

Als Partner für die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme

01 — Die Leitfragen zum Partner-Atlas

RELEVANZ: Welche Relevanz hat Afghanistan für Deutschland, wenn es darum geht, das Interesse "Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströme" zu verwirklichen?

Afghanistan war jahrzehntelang das Land mit der größten Diaspora weltweit. 2015 wurde es von Syrien abgelöst. Afghanistan blickt auf 40 Jahre Flucht, Auswanderung und Vertreibung aufgrund von Bürgerkrieg, Gewalt und zerstörten Lebensgrundlagen zurück. Seit 2001 ist das Land einer der wichtigsten sicherheitspolitischen Partner Deutschlands im Mittleren Osten. Auch in der Migrationspolitik ist Afghanistan ein verlässlicher Partner und hat Migrationsströme nie als politisches Druckmittel eingesetzt.

Afghanen stellen nach Syrern weltweit die zweitgrößte Flüchtlingsgruppe. Die Mehrheit der afghanischen Diaspora (91 Prozent) befindet sich in Iran und Pakistan. Zielländer für Afghanen sind Iran (63 Prozent), Pakistan (22 Prozent) sowie Türkei und Europa (12 Prozent). Afghanistan hat zudem mehr als 2 Millionen Binnenvertriebene. In den letzten sechs Jahren galt rund ein Drittel der afghanischen Bevölkerung als geflüchtet, binnenvertrieben oder emigriert.

Während der großen Fluchtbewegungen 2015 kamen knapp 154.000 Afghanen nach Deutschland; 2016 waren es nur noch 50.000. Die Anzahl der Asylanträge von Afghanen in Deutschland ist ab 2018 auf weniger als 10.000 gesunken. Seit 2016 sind mehr als 2 Millionen Afghanen aus Iran und Pakistan zurückgekehrt. Grund ist ein verschärftes Vorgehen der iranischen und pakistanischen Behörden wie auch die verschlechterte Wirtschaftslage in den Nachbarländern.

Die Hauptursachen von Flucht und Migration aus Afghanistan sind Armut und wirtschaftliche Perspektivlosigkeit, anhaltende Kämpfe und Gewalt, wiederkehrende Dürren und Überschwemmungen. 54,8 Prozent der Menschen leben unterhalb der Armutsgrenze. Laut dem Global Peace Index ist Afghanistan das Land mit der höchsten Gewaltrate. In Kämpfen und Anschlägen kamen in den letzten fünf Jahren 45.000 Menschen ums Leben. Trotz des Ende Februar 2020 geschlossenen Abkommens zwischen USA und Taliban und Beginn der Friedensverhandlungen im September in Doha sind ein Ende der Gewalt und ein wirtschaftlicher Aufschwung nicht in Sicht. Verstärkend kommt ab Anfang des Jahres die COVID-19-Pandemie hinzu, die Afghanistan aufgrund mangelnder Hygienemöglichkeiten und schwacher staatlicher Kapazitäten zur Behandlung, Eindämmung oder Gesundheitsaufklärung zu einem Land mit den weltweit höchsten Infektionsraten machen könnte. Auf Migrationsbewegungen wird die Corona-Krise zeitlich versetzt und mittelbar wirken. Afghanistans Rentenwirtschaft ist bis heute nur wenig global oder regional integriert und stattdessen existentiell von internationalen Hilfsgeldern abhängig. Eine Reduzierung internationaler Gelder und Renten – als Folge des anstehenden NATO-Abzugs oder einer möglichen globalen Wirtschaftskrise – würden das Land ökonomisch am stärksten treffen und zu Auswanderungsbewegungen führen.

Afghanistan bleibt auf absehbare Zeit ein Herkunftsland von Flucht und Migration. Die jahrzehntelange Erfahrung mit Flucht, Auswanderung und Fachkräfteverlust, aber auch mit Rückkehr und Wissenstransfer nach Afghanistan machen das Land zu einem Testfall, wie sich Migrationsbewegungen langfristig auswirken sowie regulieren und nutzen lassen.

BEREITSCHAFT: Wie groß ist die Bereitschaft Aghanistans, mit Deutschland zur Verwirklichung dieses Interesses zusammenzuarbeiten?

Die afghanische Regierung hat die deutschen Bemühungen zur Migrationsregulierung stets unterstützt. Die Abschiebung afghanischer Staatsbürger war der Lackmustest für die deutsch-afghanische Zusammenarbeit.

Ab 2016 führte Deutschland erstmals Abschiebungen nach Afghanistan durch. Die Rückführungen erhielten insbesondere in den ersten Jahren eine hohe und kritische Aufmerksamkeit der afghanischen und internationalen Medien und setzten die afghanische Regierung unter öffentlichen Druck.

Für die afghanische Regierung waren Abschiebungen aus Deutschland bis 2016 undenkbar gewesen; man hatte stets auf eine Sonderbehandlung aufgrund der engen und historisch gewachsenen deutsch-afghanischen Beziehungen vertraut. Nichtsdestotrotz unterstützt Afghanistan die deutsche Strategie.

Deutsche und afghanische Behörden – wie die deutsche Botschaft in Kabul und das afghanische Ministerium für Flüchtlinge und Repatriierung – stimmen jede Rückführung eng ab. Die International Organisation for Migration (IOM) unterstützt durch Erstbetreuung und begleitet die berufliche Eingliederung der Rückkehrer.

STATUS QUO: Wie eng ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Afghanistan aktuell in diesem Bereich?

Deutschland ist zweitgrößter NATO-Truppensteller und zweitgrößter Geber in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. 2019 lagen die deutschen Entwicklungsgelder für Afghanistan bei rund 400 Millionen Euro. Deutsche Institutionen wie die Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) engagieren sich in den Bereichen Wasserversorgung, Energie, Bildung, Gesundheit, Wirtschaft und Beschäftigung, um Bleibeperspektiven für die junge afghanische Bevölkerung zu schaffen.

Das Centrum für internationale Migration und Entwicklung (CIM), eine Arbeitsgemeinschaft der GIZ und der Bundesagentur für Arbeit, vermittelt die Rückkehr von Fach- und Führungskräften. Aktuell arbeiten 13 Deutsch-Afghanen als CIM-Fachkräfte in Schlüsselpositionen von Ministerien, staatlichen Institutionen und Verbänden.

POTENZIAL: Wie groß ist das Potenzial, die Partnerschaft zwischen Deutschland und Afghanistan in diesem Bereich zu intensivieren?

Trotz der Rückführungspolitik ab 2016 genießt Deutschland weiterhin ein hohes Vertrauen und Ansehen in der afghanischen Regierung und Bevölkerung. Dieser Vertrauensvorschuss ist Deutschlands größte Stärke.

Ein noch nicht ausgeschöpftes Potenzial sind die in Deutschland ausgebildeten Doppelstaatsbürger. Bereits in den 1960er Jahren kamen Afghanen zum Studium nach Deutschland. Sie können als Vorreiter für Investitionen und privatwirtschaftliche Initiativen in Afghanistan dienen.

Nach zwanzigjähriger NATO-Mission befindet sich Afghanistan 2020 an einem Wendepunkt. Das Doha-Abkommen zwischen USA und Taliban regelt den sukzessiven Abzug der ausländischen Truppen. Afghanistan wird nach dem NATO-Rückzug neue Bündnispartner suchen. Nachbarländer wie Pakistan, Iran, China, Indien oder Russland haben ein vitales Interesse, die regionale Ordnung zu gestalten. Deutschland hat eine Sonderrolle aufgrund seiner hundertjährigen, besonderen Beziehungen zu Afghanistan; es wird sowohl von pro-westlichen wie westlich-kritischen Lagern als Bündnis-, Wirtschafts- und Entwicklungspartner geschätzt. Der Friedensprozess bietet Deutschland und Afghanistan Gelegenheit, ihre bilateralen Beziehungen neu zu denken und durch einen offenen und ehrlichen Dialog zu stärken.

POLITIKEMPFEHLUNG: Was muss sich in der deutschen Außenpolitik ändern, damit dieses Potenzial vollumfänglich ausgeschöpft werden kann?

Um Migration in Zukunft besser zu steuern, braucht es neben langfristigen Investitionen in Lebens- und Beschäftigungsgrundlagen auch eine breite Aufklärung über Risiken und Perspektiven für Migrationswillige, eine gezielte Förderung freiwilliger Rückkehrer und privater Investoren sowie Erleichterungen für Fachaustausch.

Eine breite Aufklärungskampagne muss insbesondere von afghanischer Seite wie Behörden, Medien und Verbänden in den lokalen Diskurs eingebracht werden. Die junge Bevölkerung braucht ein realistisches Bild von den gesundheitlichen, finanziellen und sozialen Risiken der Flucht und Migration sowie ehrliche Alternativangebote.

Mit dem Abzug der NATO werden womöglich auch internationale Hilfsgelder reduziert. Daher sollten frühzeitig privatwirtschaftliche Initiativen und Investitionen gefördert werden. Viele gut ausgebildete Afghanen im Inland oder Exil wollen in ihr Land investieren, brauchen aber Anreize und verlässliche Netzwerke.

Eine Fachkräfteeinwanderung nach Deutschland sollte mit flexiblen Austauschprogrammen ergänzt werden. Gut ausgebildete Afghanen suchen oftmals nur eine berufliche Weiterbildung oder Überbrückung im Ausland. Diesen Menschen würden Fellowship-Programme, Fachaustausch (z.B. für Journalisten, Wissenschaftler, Parlamentarier, Künstler) sowie schnellere und unbürokratische Visa-Verfahren für Geschäfts-, Forschungs- oder Kurzzeitaufenthalte helfen.

Ellinor Zeino leitet das KAS-Auslandsbüro Afghanistan.

AFGHANISTAN

  • Population: 38.928.346
  • Capital: Kabul
  • Interesse: Die Regulierung globaler Migrationsströmme
  • Region: Asien und Pazifik
  • Potenzielle Partnerländer: Afghanistan, Australien, Pakistan, Bangladesch

04 — Die Region

Asien und Pazifik

logo

JAPAN

In Japan sind die Folgen des Klimawandels deutlich zu spüren und die Klimaschutzziele sind ohne einem Politikwechsel nicht zu erreichen. Im Energieplan der japanischen Regierung ist ebenso festgeschrieben, dass effizientere und vernetzte Energiesysteme entwickelt werden müssen. Gemessen an der verfügbaren Technik sind die Herausforderungen und Kosten diesbezüglich noch hoch. Hier liegt enormes Kooperationspotenzial: gemeinsame Lösungen, die innovativ und flexibel die Integration verschiedener Energiequellen bieten.

  • Population: 126.476.461
  • Capital: Tokio
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

INDIEN

Deutschland hat ein vitales Interesse daran, eine Weltordnung, die auf den Werten der liberalen Demokratie und der Zentralität der Vereinten Nationen (VN) beruht, zu bewahren und zu festigen. Indiens Bedeutung ist dabei kaum zu überschätzen: Bereits jetzt ist Indien die größte Demokratie der Welt – und inner­halb des neuen Jahrzehnts wird es China als bevölkerungsreichstes Land ablösen.

  • Population: 1.380.004.385
  • Capital: Neu-Delhi
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

AFGHANISTAN

Afghanistan war jahrzehntelang das Land mit der größten Diaspora weltweit. 2015 wurde es von Syrien abgelöst. Afghanistan blickt auf 40 Jahre Flucht, Auswanderung und Vertreibung aufgrund von Bürgerkrieg, Gewalt und zerstörten Lebensgrundlagen zurück. Seit 2001 ist das Land einer der wichtigsten sicherheitspolitischen Partner Deutschlands im Mittleren Osten. Auch in der Migrationspolitik ist Afghanistan ein verlässlicher Partner und hat Migrationsströme nie als politisches Druckmittel eingesetzt.

  • Population: 38.928.346
  • Capital: Kabul
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

KASACHSTAN

Die Weltausstellung Expo 2017, ein nichtständiger Sitz im Sicherheitsrat der Vereinten Nationen (2018), die Friedensgespräche zu Syrien: Kein Land in Zentralasien orientiert sich so in Richtung Europa und Deutschland wie Kasachstan. Trotzdem blieb vieles, was in Kasachstan und Zentralasien auch in jüngster Zeit geschehen ist, in Deutschland unterhalb der Wahrnehmungsschwelle. Dabei ist besonders Kasachstan in vielen strategischen Fragen von zunehmender Bedeutung.

  • Population: 18.776.707
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
MEHR ERFAHREN
logo

VIETNAM

Vietnam ist eines von wenigen kommunistischen Ländern. Eine „sozialistisch orientierte Markt­wirtschaft“ bestimmt die Ökonomie des Landes, die kommunistische Partei setzt ihren Allmacht­sanspruch rigoros durch – und in Berichten zu Menschenrechten wird heftige Kritik an dem Land geübt. Gleichzeitig führten das mehr als drei Jahrzehnte andauernde Wirtschaftswachs­tum und politische Stabilität dazu, dass sich Viet­nam als einflussreicher Akteur in Südostasien etabliert hat.

  • Population: 95.529.003
  • Capital: Hanoi
MEHR ERFAHREN